<ST Forum>Bus driver continued journey even though air-conditioning was not working

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

charleslee1989

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinio...-even-though-air-conditioning-was-not-working

I had the misfortune of boarding SBS service 121 on April 3 around 7.20pm.

It was only after it had left the bus stop that I realised there was no air-conditioning and no opening for ventilation.

When the bus driver confirmed that the air-conditioning was not working and that the service was continuing, I asked if he could open the doors for ventilation.

He said the doors could be opened only at bus stops.

I decided to endure the ride till it reached my destination at Tiong Bahru MRT station, given the heavy downpour and my lack of familiarity with the bus route in the dark.

With my history of asthma, I did my best and pulled out a fan to circulate the air around me.

But the lack of air circulation got to me and I had to get off at some remote stop.

No satisfactory response came from SBS Transit following my report of the incident.

The bus driver should have stopped as soon as possible and not allowed any boarding once the air-conditioning broke down.

SBS should take steps to prevent something like this from happening again and not just apologise for any distress or inconvenience caused.

Molly Lim

This one must ask LTA and Chee Hong Tat! Now, all the maintenance under LTA liao....

coolmyth

Poh mata say bus boh air-con, bus insai too stuffy, cannot breathe, need help. :LOL:

danang_

If the aircon was already down coming out of interchange, driver is at fault and if I board such a bus at the interchange, I will feel super angry.

It is no joke to sit in an enclosed bus with no aircon, especially for elderly and people with health conditions.

If faulty along the journey, they need to have SOP to maybe inform before boarding or offer complimentary tickets like in case of breakdown.

muji4832

This kinda story usually all the negative events coincidentally will come together one.

Bus no aircon / heavy downpour / lack of familiarity / dark environment / history of asthma / get off at some remote stop.

Really is jin ko lian one ...

I'm surprised she nv mention it happened during the Myanmar Earthquake and she felt dizzy becos of that ...

cute_togepi

Name molly but behave like karen. Not happy alight and wait for the next bus lah. People driving with doors opened then chut tai chi she answer ah
Alighting and waiting for next bus will mean you will incur a new fare. The fare rules is such there is no transfer between same bus route.

muji4832

So you'd rather save that few cents and suffer the whole journey ?

Alighting and waiting for next bus will mean you will incur a new fare. The fare rules is such there is no transfer between same bus route.

mryongtan

Last week i also encountered.
Basket, driver either oblivion to the stuffy heat blowing out from the air vent or he having a fever feeling cold. Best part is halfway route, another off duty bus captain boarded the bus and just kept chatting with driver, also oblivion to the heat

they can open the small driver's window to get ventilation, of course they're oblivious to the heat.

K202020K

Last week i also encountered.
Basket, driver either oblivion to the stuffy heat blowing out from the air vent or he having a fever feeling cold. Best part is halfway route, another off duty bus captain boarded the bus and just kept chatting with driver, also oblivion to the heat
Bro, it's oblivious not oblivion to the heat.

iam7377

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinio...-even-though-air-conditioning-was-not-working

I had the misfortune of boarding SBS service 121 on April 3 around 7.20pm.

It was only after it had left the bus stop that I realised there was no air-conditioning and no opening for ventilation.

When the bus driver confirmed that the air-conditioning was not working and that the service was continuing, I asked if he could open the doors for ventilation.

He said the doors could be opened only at bus stops.

I decided to endure the ride till it reached my destination at Tiong Bahru MRT station, given the heavy downpour and my lack of familiarity with the bus route in the dark.

With my history of asthma, I did my best and pulled out a fan to circulate the air around me.

But the lack of air circulation got to me and I had to get off at some remote stop.

No satisfactory response came from SBS Transit following my report of the incident.

The bus driver should have stopped as soon as possible and not allowed any boarding once the air-conditioning broke down.

SBS should take steps to prevent something like this from happening again and not just apologise for any distress or inconvenience caused.

Molly Lim
So weak and entitled ah?

Not happy, go buy herself a car or take grab la...

kuti-kuti

Bro, it's oblivious not oblivion to the heat.
I still cannot differentiate between these 2 usage. Bus driver just either not aware to the stifling heat or he having a high fever feeling cold

menthol28

last time bus no air con, window cannot even close properly, raining jitao free shower also never see ppl dare complain

:crazy:
Last time some still can smoke in the last row of the seats

cute_togepi

Last time SBS Aircon and Non Aircon bus fare was 10c difference at its minimum.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.