[ST] How WP won over Sengkang

yummy1972

I don't think jamus effect is that strong, though contributory.

Young couples in SK are just not happy with PAP anymore, so with or without Jamus, SK will still fall

It it’s other opposition party, it would not lose. WP has a brand now

Clad in white, Mr Ng Chee Meng and Mr Amrin Amin went around Sengkang Central, waving and introducing themselves. Usually, residents obliged with a smile or a nod, even if hesitantly.

But there were some who gave the two People's Action Party (PAP) candidates the cold shoulder, to the point of being outright unfriendly.

I_am_unbelievable

It is an upset precisely because it is a newly created GRC.

You all don't know how grc are created meh? It is always in favour of the men in white. They canvas swee swee already and have info before hand.

Last time ah gong use newly created grc to split up oppositions.

q(Oo.oO)p

"A PAP insider said: "It was a problem with strategy. Ng Chee Meng and Amrin entered late in the game - but the calculation was that they are office-holders and there wouldn't be a problem. Also, the vote share previously was quite high so they thought it was safe."

Even the PM-in-waiting only garnered 53% and West Coast almost lost 2 Ministers, still don't wake up …...

Ironside

The political observer's view is very different from Gillian Koh's view which predicted clean sweep? Total wipe out?

I_am_unbelievable

Moi think factors below.

1) jamus lim effect
2) lam pa min banning pmd effect
3) new gen wants their opinion heard. Pofma is too draconian in this social media age.
4) raeshah backfired
5) the stupid long queue in sengkang probably turn some dulan voters away

KnyghtRyder

How is the result an upset when it's a new GRC & technically no incumbents ?

If you read the article it explains clearly why.. in past elections those areas voted strongly for the PAP.. only punggol east was a former opposition held ward, but even that was also taken back by Charles Chong.. so by all estimates, sengkang should have been a safe win for the incumbent.

Ironside

I hope there will be no more dirty politics from now on. Sengkang residents have made their choice and got the representatives they deserved.

rachdanon

I am quite sure some in the PAP camp are still dazed and not woken up to the realities around us. Still in their 2000s high pedestal dream lands. The ground is hurting.

SecretAgent

Those grab food panda pmd riders swear by their blood and escooters they gonna vote Ah Lam out.. sengkang of all place somemore.. birds don't lay eggs places where all residents call deliveries

addict951

I don't think jamus effect is that strong, though contributory.

Young couples in SK are just not happy with PAP anymore, so with or without Jamus, SK will still fall
I agree with you on this
The huge influx of foreigners taking on PMET jods problem is a HUGE issue then MIW would care to admit.
This is a critical issue that resonates with the young sinkies at SK.
I’ve personally experienced it myself.

TrueBeliever_jh

half ass approach of placing anchor ministers and parachuting unknowns in no longer work that easily given SK GRC's younger resident.

tenor.gif

Kiwi8

From the ST article:

In the end, Sengkang Central and Punggol East did not do well at the ballot box, with Sengkang West faring slightly better, party insiders said

https://www.tnp.sg/news/singapore/workers-party-takes-sengkang-grc-biggest-upset-ge2020

PAP insiders told The Straits Times that the party did better among older residents, especially in the former Punggol East SMC, which is the older part of Sengkang.

Were they talking to the same PAP insider? How come flip flop one? :s22:

tankgunner

Mentor
they think too highly of Ng CM to lead this new GRC.
should have put Teo CH instead.

addict951

Then y’all noticed thru out the campaign and the tv rallies, MIW practically all talking about infrastructure improvements, what initiatives for the old ppl lah, etc. I dun remember hearing anything about policies.

****i, covered walkways and new this new that. All these I can do without lah. Can your covered walkways sustain my daily expenses and give me QUALITY jod opportunities anot?

Got to kick them at where it hurts the most

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.