ST: Stop deluding ourselves about the real harm caused by smoking, and stop tobacco sales for those born from 2010

JohnnySasaki

Ok lor ban cigarettes

then the cigarette tax shortfall he cover?

bloody joker

fascist

The ban will never happen. In this country there are 3 industries that pump our economy: Pharma, Tobacco and alcohol. The tax sales of these 3 industry is why you sinkies living fairly good comfy life in SG. So good that none of you sinkies want to migrate or come back to SG after migrating overseas lol

Oh man this is dumb. Care to share the data on how much tobacco “industry” contribute to local economy?

@DjumbaDjumba - No need la, i help you.

Data from singstat: For 2019, Tobacco taxes were $1.16b. GDP was $480b. That's 0.24% of GDP and assuming for simplicity that all taxes were channelled back into the economy.

Some sinkies really kumgong and maybe smoke too much can't think.

MageRav3

I detest the smell of cigarettes and the littering of cigarettes butts.
I support the ban. Any MP pushing for it gets my vote.

fascist

smokers and tobacco coys contribute to nation building via tax.

It comprise a very small percentage of our tax revenue that SG can do without. Go singstat and see for yourself.

The social ills it cause outweighs the benefits of tax revenues. Cancer and other illnesses, and lost productivity (bs smoke breaks)

chech01

yes some people smoke will make you get cancer

LOL

stop going so close to smokers la

100Yen

I agree. We should start banning cigarette foever for the young. I am a social smoker. It does nothing but caused so many issuses

They can go try e-cigrette

Wiildcard

It comprise a very small percentage of our tax revenue that SG can do without. Go singstat and see for yourself.

The social ills it costs outweighs the benefits of tax revenues. Cancer and other illnesses, and lost productivity (bs smoke breaks)
Yes. Plus birth defects, neighbour conflicts etc 🙁

jeepers

Lame. Author prolly can't deal with the fact that her family's average age of death is younger than most, so just finding fault with others. Government will not ban smoking, in fact, articles like this will prompt the government to increase taxes on tobacco products. My ah gong smoked and drank daily until 90, lived till 92/93.

PC-User

My grandfather also smoker, died 90+ by old age, not due to cancer.

fascist

yes some people smoke will make you get cancer

LOL

stop going so close to smokers la

Lol - you see them smoking on their e-bikes at traffic junctions, underneath void decks and at coffee shops

how about ask smokers to stop smoking at public areas?

HYHY123

The good thing about NZ’s cig plan is it only bans those born after xx year . Current gen of smokers are not affected

I believe nobody, including heavy smokers, will be against this rule just so that their kids or future grandkids can smoke.

fascist

My grandfather also smoker, died 90+ by old age, not due to cancer.

A few ah beng drivers love to race in his sports car at 250km/hr for a decade and have not been killed. Thus accidents from speeding can't possibly occur, and the impact due to high speed crashes can't possibly kill. Sounds legit.

Idiots will always be idiots and don't understand statistics.

HumJiBeng

90% of smokers are inconsiderate low ses ppl. Always litter and smoke in area where they are not supposed to.

Usually u see low ses ppl are smokers

amognoix

We want more freedom but we want government to decide for us can smoke or not.

What about bubble gum? Cannot.

Tobacco? Can, just pay more tax.

What about medical marijuana? Cannot.

I think tobacco is between bubble gum & marijuana?

Ye_Rongtian

Both my ah ma and ah gong were heavy chain smokers. My ah ma passed away in her 60s from brain cancer. My ah gong passed away in his 90s from lung cancer.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.