Standard Chartered annual fee story

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

CantStopWhining

Standard chartered has poor service, I spend quite a lot on stanchart each month yet they refuse to waive late fees even though I was just a few days late. Recently Amex (which used to be great) has started doing the same..
Standard Chartered charge late interest for me. But i was pissed since there's no goodwill at all for an old customer, so I tried to work out the interest they calculated. I can't seem to calculate the late interest they charged me and am disputing at the moment. Now I'm wondering if they even had the late interest logic correct in their systems.

Hope I'm the one that's calculating wrongly then.

K202020K

Use the service but don't want pay fee? Hope sc and all banks stop offering annual fee waiver.
Waiver is based on goodwill and banks have been doing it to attract customers but pple take it for granted that call in can waiver
Aiyo ... annual fee is a thing of the past. Nowadays so many options available. Can use PayNow, NETS, cash, debit cards with top up on the go ... endless choices, just need to have money in a bank account.

thenextseeker

scb worst bank ever, u go see the type of ppl they hire u know cmi

shitt y cs n support, now i even want to exit my bank acc with them, just slowly drawing out

Char_Kuey

want earn the annual fee then be like amex like that, annual fee or cancellation of service, straightforward business, don't down there jjww

sparky3

just had a frustrating call with SCB .. same issue, annual fee in this months bill. Requested to waiver off the annual fees and was rejected. Call up and talked to customer service officer also cannot waive. Cannot escalate to higher management. Only option is to terminate the card. And I have been spending on the card, not as if it's unused.I cannot comprehend SCB thinking or whoever came out with the policy..
17 years customer with them, spending on the card. and due to an annual fee waiver.. refused to waiver and asked to terminate the card. And they spend money to acquire new Customers and refuse to retain existing spending customers.
Well good luck to them.

infocus

I also last week cancelled the SC credit card due to cannot waive annual fees. I think there is a new management at the top who gave the directive on this.

zuppeur

@zuppeur

am so glad u started this thread .... now the arrogant SCB CANNOT hold their customers captive ... at least for those who read this forum ..... they NOW know what is the collective strength of SIC .....

now that they kenna a few calls from MAS .... they realised customers know their rights and will not stupidly pay the annual fee ..... customers will not tolerate banks who take them for a ride!!

U dun want the business ... we bring it to the next bank who values their customers!

how you know they kenna call from mas? sc can make someone tulan and lodge police report, that is really a huge achievement.😂😂😂

zuppeur

I also last week cancelled the SC credit card due to cannot waive annual fees. I think there is a new management at the top who gave the directive on this.

last time i check who in charge
the talent is from ntuc point

PeanutButterJellyfish

If want to use credit card but don’t want to pay annual fee, just apply for cards that don’t have annual fee. Save the trouble asking for waiver.

Trust bank under SC and their card no annual fee

chiaki11

While mine is not related to annual fee, I want to feedback on their late and interest charge too

it slipped my mind to pay my credit card on the due date and I got an sms alert 1 week later on it.
Realising my oversight, i immediately paid the amount and requested for the waiver of late charge and interest charge. They agree to waive the late charge but refused to waive on the interest.

I called the CS and explained to them that i have a bank bal with them that it is more than enough to pay my credit card amt and hence it is not a funding issue. It is an oversight on my part and I immediately paid once I realised it upon their alert.

The CS helped to put up a request which is again rejected by their credit dept.

So i decided to pay up all my current spend even though it is not due yet and cancel my card.

BUT, they dont allow me to cancel my card as there is still the outstanding balance from the interest charge!

Really unbelievable and disappointing to be with such a bank for the past 15 years!

And yes, talking to the CS is useless as they are just the lower level staff. Even asking to speak to their mgr to esculate is useless as they told me that they cannot escalate since the decision is final! Really very high handed

kimsix

I also kana no annual fee waiver. going to cancel and not pay anual fee.

Ironside

Normal la. If you do not pay the annual fee. I have experience they will keep adding interest monthly till you scared.

ceestudent

As I mentioned in the previous page, you cannot cancel the card if you still have the balance. The CSO told me that they cannot do cancellation on my behalf (dunno ******** or not). I need to initiate the cancellation through the apps by myself.

So what I did is paid the annual fee, cancel the card, call the customer service to request for refund for the annual fee paid, then they will send cashier order for my refund. Note that the annual fee is for the next following year service.

Hope it helps for whoever kena the same issue. The CSO no use one, just keep saying that I need to pay the annual fee. Especially because I use the card after they charge the annual fee.

Not.banned.yet

Sometimes. I wonder if it’s done on purpose, with the possible reasons of

1) maybe some will blur blur forget. Just need 1% to not report to gain a lot of money

2) this form of maladmin helps to circumvent some guidelines or regulations.

3) they just need to make left pocket go right pocket and vice versa.

berger

As I mentioned in the previous page, you cannot cancel the card if you still have the balance. The CSO told me that they cannot do cancellation on my behalf (dunno ******** or not). I need to initiate the cancellation through the apps by myself.

So what I did is paid the annual fee, cancel the card, call the customer service to request for refund for the annual fee paid, then they will send cashier order for my refund. Note that the annual fee is for the next following year service.
did u get the refund easily? i would not do it this way if i were you. i will contact fidrec to make sure the annual charges are lifted before i cancel.

Elfblade

come across comment in SC facebook. bank can like this one meh, must pay annual fee then cancel .
dont pay annual fee,sc confirm charge interest.
the card i use often going 1 year
better cancel first if not later headache
what happen to SC, full of complaints.

fb comment
Standard Chartered Singapore Updating for everyone to know SC's response thus far: Someone called to repeat the same bs that the bank cannot waive my annual fee, and that if I want to cancel the card, I have to make full payment including annual fee. Only when the balance is zero then I can cancel the card blablabla escalate my case and now I am expecting another follow-up earliest by tomorrow or 3-5 days (by then the annual fee would have been due and if I don't pay, there will be late fees -.- ?!) Still can't believe I'm forced by SC to pay for a service I intend to terminate.. feeling scammed!!! Definitely warning family, friends, colleagues, anyone and everyone of this ordeal. Lets see if this has to get escalated to FIDReC.
Heng moi aldy canceled all my US banks CC like SCB, ShittyBank, etc.

ceestudent

did u get the refund easily? i would not do it this way if i were you. i will contact fidrec to make sure the annual charges are lifted before i cancel.
Yes, the customer service straight away know what to do. I believe many people do the same.
No choice leh. I don't want this thing affect my credit rating. The bank keep dilly dallying for 1 week when I tried to contact the CSO.

I read this issue on reddit before then 1 user share the same way to get the waiver. That's why I try to share the same story here.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.