Starhub defrauding customers

bitterblitz

I would like to share a fraud case of Starhub trying to con customers and alert other consumers on this. Sad to say this after being a loyal Starhub customer for more than a decade.

I signed up with Starhub as a mobile hp customer in February 2021 and ported over my old number to another telco when the contract ended on 22 February 2023.

When I signed up Starhub, Starhub gave me a subsidiary line (Purchase with Purchase as stated in the handphone contract) which would ride on the main number's plan for data and outgoing minutes calculation. As it was a free number, I just put the number aside. I did not use this subsidiary number totally for the 24 months' contract. In fact, I could not recall this number as I was only using my main line and paid for it every month when Starhub bill came.

When I ported over to another telco in February 2023, Starhub did not continue to bill me nor inform me of this subsidiary number which was still existing and that they would continue to bill me. No bill was sent nor payment made for about 1.5 years since then until Starhub suddenly started billing my credit card for recurring payments in April 2024, May 2024 and June 2024. I have informed my bank that these are unauthorised transactions as I was no longer a Starhub customer for about 1.5 years.

I believe that Starhub is trying to find ways to defraud customers for the following reasons:

1. This is a purchase with purchase number and should have been cancelled when the main line was cancelled.
  2. Furthermore, it is expected that similar to credit cards, once the main card is cancelled, any subsidiary card should be subsequently cancelled. Likewise, the Starhub subsidiary number should be cancelled with the main line.
  3. Third, if it were a normal main line, Starhub should have personally informed me that this line will continue to be billed and continued billing me from February 2023, not stop billling for about 1.5 years then suddenly bill me again for a forgotten number.
    It is very suspicious as it feels that Starhub is trawling old customers' records and trying to see if there are any loopholes to defraud customers and earn more money.

I did not agree to the unauthorised transactions as I have cancelled my Starhub service totally since 22 February 2024. I wrote to IMDA for their assistance for Starhub to refund these unauthorised amounts and stop billing me. However, IMDA’s reply was to contact the Singapore Mediation Centre to address this via the ADR channel.

I then posted my case on Starhub’s Facebook page and replied to Starhub with IMDA in copy. Starhub initially did not wish to refund me my credits. Reply from their customer affairs below:

We have provided the answers to your queries as follows:

1) "The mobile plan discount is valid for the duration shown in the service agreement..." tells everyone that the mobile plan PWP subsidiary number was only valid for 24 months with my main line contract expiring in February 2024. <StarHub> The service number xxxxx781 is an independent number with its own service agreement and is not part of a subsidiary plan.

2) "Upon expiry of the validity period, recontract or change of plan, Mobile Plan Discount will be discontinued automatically without further..." tells everyone that the mobile plan PWP subsidiary number should have been discontinued automatically when the main line was cancelled. <StarHub> We reiterate that service number xxxxx781 is not a subsidiary number.

Starhub must refund me all these unathorised transactions from the time I cancelled my main line in February 2023 ie. credit balance of $11.17 + the other 2 unauthorised transactions in April and May 2024 from my credit card. <StarHub> We stand firm and reiterate that the charges are valid. We seek your understanding that we will not be addressing the same issue again.

After haggling with them for a few emails, Starhub suddenly replied to “acknowledge that there were shortcomings in their communication about the billing of the Welcome Plan after the promotion period ended. Specifically, they should have informed me via an email or letter.” This was in July 2024.

In August 2024, Starhub only refunded me partially for $6.43. I had to keep following up them for several more emails before they finally refunded me the balance money in September 2024. The ridiculous thing was during all this time of communication, Starhub still tried to bill me even though I had closed my account.

Just want to share with all to check your monthly credit card bill and balance credits in your Starhub account after you terminate all services. Ensure Starhub refunds you all your credits. Otherwise, they will make an excuse to deduct money from your account and credit card long after you have terminated all your Starhub services. Buyers beware!

stingray1211

ownself forgot then blame others and defame starhub ?

onus is on self to terminate all services. you are assuming that if you cancel one the other is terminated. that is so untrue.

I can buy an item via pwp but only return one item. you are assuming plenty.
what was written in the contract ?
the way you type sounds like discount only was part of it. it is quite independent of the main line.

even my free broadband sim card with 500mb was with some existing plan in the past , it was specifically written as a separate line item on my bill.

if I want to terminate everything, I need to separately terminate that free line as well.

use real name leh ? create new account for this ? got balls to use defraud , then use your real name or share your details here ?

can't wait for starhub to sue the pants out of you. you think starhub is some small fry meh ?

if you so confident then hire lawyer go fight lah .

anyways zaobao or ST , please notice this thread so that starhub can sue this person. report police to trace the account .

Otokiru

wah 1.5years later then bill you... suggest u to tell your bank to change card, so at least they cant continue to charge you in the meantime...

wongminmin

Oct 22, 2024

1. U didn't check bank statement
2. they already refunded u
3. U didn't cancel that service line.
u blame who sia.

if they are real fraudsters.... u won't get ur money back. still open 1 thread jjyy 🤦‍♀️
u got the time open account, no time to check ur monthly bills. 🤦‍♀️

botakchek

I would like to share a fraud case of Starhub trying to con customers and alert other consumers on this. Sad to say this after being a loyal Starhub customer for more than a decade.

I signed up with Starhub as a mobile hp customer in February 2021 and ported over my old number to another telco when the contract ended on 22 February 2023.

When I signed up Starhub, Starhub gave me a subsidiary line (Purchase with Purchase as stated in the handphone contract) which would ride on the main number's plan for data and outgoing minutes calculation. As it was a free number, I just put the number aside. I did not use this subsidiary number totally for the 24 months' contract. In fact, I could not recall this number as I was only using my main line and paid for it every month when Starhub bill came.

When I ported over to another telco in February 2023, Starhub did not continue to bill me nor inform me of this subsidiary number which was still existing and that they would continue to bill me. No bill was sent nor payment made for about 1.5 years since then until Starhub suddenly started billing my credit card for recurring payments in April 2024, May 2024 and June 2024. I have informed my bank that these are unauthorised transactions as I was no longer a Starhub customer for about 1.5 years.

I believe that Starhub is trying to find ways to defraud customers for the following reasons:

1. This is a purchase with purchase number and should have been cancelled when the main line was cancelled.
  2. Furthermore, it is expected that similar to credit cards, once the main card is cancelled, any subsidiary card should be subsequently cancelled. Likewise, the Starhub subsidiary number should be cancelled with the main line.
  3. Third, if it were a normal main line, Starhub should have personally informed me that this line will continue to be billed and continued billing me from February 2023, not stop billling for about 1.5 years then suddenly bill me again for a forgotten number.
    It is very suspicious as it feels that Starhub is trawling old customers' records and trying to see if there are any loopholes to defraud customers and earn more money.

I did not agree to the unauthorised transactions as I have cancelled my Starhub service totally since 22 February 2024. I wrote to IMDA for their assistance for Starhub to refund these unauthorised amounts and stop billing me. However, IMDA’s reply was to contact the Singapore Mediation Centre to address this via the ADR channel.

I then posted my case on Starhub’s Facebook page and replied to Starhub with IMDA in copy. Starhub initially did not wish to refund me my credits. Reply from their customer affairs below:

1) "The mobile plan discount is valid for the duration shown in the service agreement..." tells everyone that the mobile plan PWP subsidiary number was only valid for 24 months with my main line contract expiring in February 2024. <StarHub> The service number xxxxx781 is an independent number with its own service agreement and is not part of a subsidiary plan.

2) "Upon expiry of the validity period, recontract or change of plan, Mobile Plan Discount will be discontinued automatically without further..." tells everyone that the mobile plan PWP subsidiary number should have been discontinued automatically when the main line was cancelled. <StarHub> We reiterate that service number xxxxx781 is not a subsidiary number.

Starhub must refund me all these unathorised transactions from the time I cancelled my main line in February 2023 ie. credit balance of $11.17 + the other 2 unauthorised transactions in April and May 2024 from my credit card. <StarHub> We stand firm and reiterate that the charges are valid. We seek your understanding that we will not be addressing the same issue again.

After haggling with them for a few emails, Starhub suddenly replied to “acknowledge that there were shortcomings in their communication about the billing of the Welcome Plan after the promotion period ended. Specifically, they should have informed me via an email or letter.” This was in July 2024.

In August 2024, Starhub only refunded me partially for $6.43. I had to keep following up them for several more emails before they finally refunded me the balance money in September 2024. The ridiculous thing was during all this time of communication, Starhub still tried to bill me even though I had closed my account.

Just want to share with all to check your monthly credit card bill and balance credits in your Starhub account after you terminate all services. Ensure Starhub refunds you all your credits. Otherwise, they will make an excuse to deduct money from your account and credit card long after you have terminated all your Starhub services. Buyers beware!
Eh can samurai or not? Or throw into CatGPT samurai and paste here?

KNN no time to read your primary sch quality composition

Whimsica

I find them a bit smelly.

Cancelled everything then was told there is a "disconnection" charge. I certainly dun recall there was such a thing when I signed up a package with them > 10 years ago. But nevermind I know they can always add such a thing to the standard t&c and there will always be clauses in the contract to say the standard t&c is subject to change.

Then on billing date they billed me full month even though services ended halfway into the billing cycle. Called in to f them but they said this is their SOP and they will refund me in the next billing cycle. Then I monitored and when I received email alert on the next bill, I found that I could not retrieve the bill from their app cos I am already not a subscriber. That is, they still send me a bill but I am not allowed to see it! So have to call in to ask for PDF bill.

Then I asked about the refund and was told "oh so you would want the balance to be refunded?". I said yes of course I am no longer a subscriber I dun think I will be your customer ever again I can't even retrieve stuffs from the app. Then I was given the option of a credit card refund or Paynow refund and was told it will take another 3 weeks for them to process the refund. I was like wtf but told myself never mind just endure my last bit of dealing with them. I chose Paynow refund then they told me need my Paynow linked to NRIC they cannot refund via Paynow linked to my mobile number even though my mobile number is registered with them and in their record just like my NRIC number!

So lanlan went to register a Paynow with my NRIC and in the end got my refund, with the whole thing dragged for about 2 months from the day I had to disconnect the ONT + tv set-top box and bring them down to their service centre to terminate my subscription.

Along the way also had to call in a few times to get them to follow up with Netlink Trust to release the port.

And they still had the cheek to send me smses to do some survey to understand why I terminated their services.

BradenHeat

ownself forgot then blame others and defame starhub ?

onus is on self to terminate all services. you are assuming that if you cancel one the other is terminated. that is so untrue.

I can buy an item via pwp but only return one item. you are assuming plenty.
what was written in the contract ?
the way you type sounds like discount only was part of it. it is quite independent of the main line.

even my free broadband sim card with 500mb was with some existing plan in the past , it was specifically written as a separate line item on my bill.

if I want to terminate everything, I need to separately terminate that free line as well.

use real name leh ? create new account for this ? got balls to use defraud , then use your real name or share your details here ?

can't wait for starhub to sue the pants out of you. you think starhub is some small fry meh ?

if you so confident then hire lawyer go fight lah .

anyways zaobao or ST , please notice this thread so that starhub can sue this person. report police to trace the account .

you working for starhub ah ?

aarontansp

Use a pager no such issue

bombshell

ltk02.gif

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
tbh me had a disagreement w/ them before, few months ago when me wanted to terminate the subscription

that, btw me did it face to face w/ the CSO
not by starting a thread in here

in anw, it's all settled
& we parted ways amicably

it's all water under the bridge now

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.