Stats time!

Bear943

Mayb the broscience theory of bw setpoints hold some water... Came in 68 with a full stomach goddammit. This after a week of missing one session.

bw setpoints do exist and they work both ways.
While I currently fluctuate between 109 to 110kgs, it took me an inordinate amount of food to break past 105kgs. It just seemed that no matter what I did, the BW did not want to increase and some slight inactivity and lousy diet and it went back to 105kgs. However once I hit that weight and mantained it for a few months, it was much easier for me to get back up to 105kgs. Eg after the end of the fasting month when I weighed in at 98kgs or so. The weight would come right back up and I was leaner. It is like the body accepted that 105kgs to be the norm. Currently the norm is around 108kgs I could eat crappy food and not train as much and get away with it and barring something drastic like full fledge fasting for a month, my bodyweight would not go much below 108kgs. However to get to 108kgs the first time round and hold that weight required much more food than now when I am trying to maintain 110kgs.

cowed77

Ah... Thx man. Looks like u and run had the same exp.

Gonna really hv to put my mind to eating up and more regularly..
I just wan 75 for now, cmon body!

galapogos

bw setpoints do exist and they work both ways.
While I currently fluctuate between 109 to 110kgs, it took me an inordinate amount of food to break past 105kgs. It just seemed that no matter what I did, the BW did not want to increase and some slight inactivity and lousy diet and it went back to 105kgs. However once I hit that weight and mantained it for a few months, it was much easier for me to get back up to 105kgs. Eg after the end of the fasting month when I weighed in at 98kgs or so. The weight would come right back up and I was leaner. It is like the body accepted that 105kgs to be the norm. Currently the norm is around 108kgs I could eat crappy food and not train as much and get away with it and barring something drastic like full fledge fasting for a month, my bodyweight would not go much below 108kgs. However to get to 108kgs the first time round and hold that weight required much more food than now when I am trying to maintain 110kgs.

That surely cannot be. Are you saying that the Laws of Thermodynamics do not apply to you? Gasp! The horror...

rundymc

Not sure if serious, but anyway:

We all know about homoestasis. The body is a dynamic system afterall, not static. It has feedback from internal and external sources. That it would ramp up your metabolism or alter your hormonal profile to prevent weight/muscle gain isn't out of the question to me.

My last setpoint was around 85kg. I wouldn't have to eat a whole lot, hell I think I maintained weight with 2-2.5 kkcal. At just under 90kg, 3-3.5kkcal has my weight inching up is maintenance.

cowed77

I dunno wat is homoestasis, heck I dun even count my calories.

But fwiw, frm 65 to 68kg, I was puttin in more effort in eating up, and makin a point to down my shakes.
Now, like 2 weeks ago I was 70 on a full stomach, but the number would slide down pretty fast, ie last week, but never below 68...

cowed77

Mayb water weight, mayb I haven't shat, but hahaha, imma try to eat more...

Nom nom nom.

Bear943

That surely cannot be. Are you saying that the Laws of Thermodynamics do not apply to you? Gasp! The horror...

Gala, i don't know if you are being serious but I don't think what I posted goes against the laws of thermodynamics at least what I remember of it back from my triple science days.

In essence it was always harder for me to hit and mantain a particular weight the first time round. After a few months when the body is used to the new weight, that weight became the new set point after some time of holding it and it would be easier to mantain that weight with lesser calories as compared to the calories required to hit that weight the first time.

Denirania

Mind if I join in?

Started gymming about 2 years back, but it's pretty much on and off due to injuries and stuff. The longest stretch I had was about 7 months. Just restarted 3 months back so yeah, here's my current stats.

Bodyweight: 72

Bench 1 rpm: 105kg (42.5 per side)

Squats: 110kg (can't squat much due to bad knees)

Deadlifts: don't deadlift much but if I do, it's usually 3 sets of 100 for 5 reps.

cowed77

Sarcasm is lost around here it seems :(

Well it looked like u weren't agreeable with what bear said mah. Couple tt with the fact that u always said cals in vs out, and that thermo law, I'd be inclined to believe u were feeling otherwise.

And due to the amt of clout u hv arnd here, we dun knock on wat u said as easily mah haha!

cowed77

U din say tt?
Hahaha I tot that was one of ur beliefs sia, along with the eating grass fed beef.

Then mayb tts kino or who else hahahaha!

Psps, wrong guy then. Then i can understand/detect tt post of yours liao.
Tell me more abt wat u think abt training!

cowed77

Bw: 68.2kg going in, on a stomach of dbl cheese burger + pre wo drink T.T

Bench: 2 x 105

- shot for 3 reps, failed at last rep. Or rather didnt even try haha.

1.5bw bench, finally.

derrickgyn

1.5bw bench, finally.

wtfffffffffff I've never seen anyone at >70kg put up a 2pps bench before. I think I'd sh*t myself..

Nice numbers, mind me asking you what you did whenever you got stuck at a particular weight?

L2oyd88

1.5bw bench, finally.

Eh your bench why shoot up so fast one!

cowed77

No man, it's been rather slow actually.
Was held back by a iffy left shoulder, but recently it's been good, so made the most of it.

Prehab of armswings, cable rotations before starting help a fair bit.

But the bar doesn't touch my chest la, abt 2-3 inches away.

When I got stuck, at say 80kg, meanin only a rep or 2, instead of the usual 5 reps per set,
I'd drop the weight abit, mayb 75 or 70. Bang out 5 solid reps, focussing on maximal bar speed.
If that was good, then the next session I'd try again.

But u shud go back a few pages, this dude, I think armwrestler or sth similar. Now that's a benching monster. He weighed like 65, and benched 130 or 140. 2bw bench. Mighty impressive.

cowed77

Lloyd I was repping 90-95 a few weeks ago alr, so a double or triple is conceivable la. But I think for now, the max I can do is likely only 110 tops, on a fuking awesome day, with stim and full focus la.

Alr close to max for now alr. And still nowhere near u lah, sets of 4 at 250lbs. That's like 115kg or so right. Plus u do reps tt count, I do mine till a few inches away.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.