(Storage) SSD Discussion Thread

silencer13

Sorry could you confirm if shipping the SSD from HK to Singapore is cheaper? Perhaps you could check? it cost SG$20 for OCZ Vertex (Packaged) from US to Sing excluding US local postage but this is usually free anyway

Shipping is cheaper.
Also, RMA (touch wood) is back to HK, so it's also cheaper.

For a guide:
(assuming the package is around 500g)
Singapore to USA (registered airmail): $20.14 (6-8 days)
Singapore to HK (registered airmail): $14.89 (3-5 days)

It is a 30% difference, but u also need to take into account that Newegg does not deal directly with SG customers, so if exchange, u still need to pay for the shipping back to SG.

But then again, Linke Computer is not as well established as Newegg, so not sure how the customer service is like.

TsQ

I also looking to buy a SSD .. 60-80GB is enough as i dont play games..

anyone can just point me which to get ? budget is +-$300

Intel comes in my list too, so is OCZ vertax2 .. how about kingston/crucial ?? seldom hear these both being mention much..

silencer13

I also looking to buy a SSD .. 60-80GB is enough as i dont play games..

anyone can just point me which to get ? budget is +-$300

Intel comes in my list too, so is OCZ vertax2 .. how about kingston/crucial ?? seldom hear these both being mention much..

Intel X25-M 80Gb - $290.
Fits your requirements perfectly. :)

TsQ

Intel X25-M 80Gb - $290.
Fits your requirements perfectly. :)

yah its either that or the OCZ ... as both i hear good ratings and within a cheaper range..

where to buy 290 ?? i see cheapest 339 only

but which really u guys thing is better as I read the review.. after read like never read :s13:

Intel + reliable, proven, relatively fast
OCZ + faster (but some say not much) but downside is not as proven as Intel SSD

btw.. anywhere in FUNAN sells Intel / OCZ SSD ??

palestofwhite

Just ordered the OCZ Vertex 2 Extended 120GB 2.5IN SATA2 Solid State Disk Flash Drive SSD From the recommended Linke Computer HK online shop. I don't know if it's cheaper than buying from Sim Lim because the prices I last checked were very high for even the 80gb Intel X25M.

Will be using it with my MacBook Pro A1226. Hoping that it's the right choice from all the research I gathered online regarding Mac compatibility...:(

silencer13

Just ordered the OCZ Vertex 2 Extended 120GB 2.5IN SATA2 Solid State Disk Flash Drive SSD From the recommended Linke Computer HK online shop. I don't know if it's cheaper than buying from Sim Lim because the prices I last checked were very high for even the 80gb Intel X25M.

Will be using it with my MacBook Pro A1226. Hoping that it's the right choice from all the research I gathered online regarding Mac compatibility...:(

Congrats and welcome to the club. :)
Yes definitely cheaper. SLS price for this item is still $529, some shops even $549.

For MBP, this is probably the best choice because of good random write speeds on top of the fast read speed. Also it has it's own garbage collection.

silencer13

yah its either that or the OCZ ... as both i hear good ratings and within a cheaper range..

where to buy 290 ?? i see cheapest 339 only

but which really u guys thing is better as I read the review.. after read like never read :s13:

Intel + reliable, proven, relatively fast
OCZ + faster (but some say not much) but downside is not as proven as Intel SSD

btw.. anywhere in FUNAN sells Intel / OCZ SSD ??

PC Themes: $290
Best Buy: $295
Bell: $295

I think both the Intel and OCZ are ok. For me I choose OCZ because it's at a capacity I like, and also because of Sandforce.

Of course, once Onyx 2 comes out and once Intel Gen 3 come out, then it's another different story. And if they ever put Sandforce on SATA 6Gb/s, then you will see a new speed champion.

But for IT, cannot wait lor..... every quarter got changes one.

Skypower

palestofwhite

Yes definitely cheaper. SLS price for this item is still $529, some shops even $549.

For MBP, this is probably the best choice because of good random write speeds on top of the fast read speed. Also it has it's own garbage collection.

Thanks! I'm glad I made a switch from the conventional HDD... I think I'll appreciate not only the faster speed but power saving and lesser heat from a notebook.

I didn't even know this drive is selling at a skyrocket price in SLS... Now to wait for the shipping is a bummer... :(

silencer13

Thanks! I'm glad I made a switch from the conventional HDD... I think I'll appreciate not only the faster speed but power saving and lesser heat from a notebook.

I didn't even know this drive is selling at a skyrocket price in SLS... Now to wait for the shipping is a bummer... :(

Yah, I was reading the Linke Computer forums, some people had to wait 1 week before their order was even processed. Hopefully we don't have to wait so long. :s22:

That's 1 thing Asian online stores still lose to the US ones. Most of the big US stores can ship your order within 1-2 days. Asian stores, even big ones like YesAsia take quite a lot longer to process and ship.

Yah, I think the SSD will be perfect for notebook use. Lighter, less power consumption, quieter.

weap0nx

Actually the power consumption part is debate-able so don't expect much improvement in all kinds of usage. Maybe web surfing is good, but heavy file transfers/benchmarking has shown that SSDs use more power and drain battery faster.

Do give us your short term and long term impressions once you receive the drive k?

Most of us using it on desktops

suchaloser

Vertex 2 Extended is the best choice for MBP ? Vertex 2 Extended is a Sandforce or what's the difference between Vertex 2 Extended and Vertex 2 Extended Sandforce (http://linkecomputer.com/products/1010213/OCZSSD2-2VTXE60G/OCZ Technology/)? What about OCZ Mercury Extreme or G.Skill Phoenix Pro ? Thanks!! Cos I'm looking for something for my MBP =D Wonder which is the best SSD ?

silencer13

Vertex 2 Extended is the best choice for MBP ? Vertex 2 Extended is a Sandforce or what's the difference between Vertex 2 Extended and Vertex 2 Extended Sandforce (http://linkecomputer.com/products/1010213/OCZSSD2-2VTXE60G/OCZ Technology/)? What about OCZ Mercury Extreme or G.Skill Phoenix Pro ? Thanks!! Cos I'm looking for something for my MBP =D Wonder which is the best SSD ?

From what I understand (might be wrong):

All Vertex 2 are Sandforce, so there's no difference in Vertex 2 Extended and Vertex 2 Extended Sandforce - both should refer to the same thing.

The difference is whether got the word Extended or not.
Originally, no "Extended" = 50Gb, 100Gb, 200Gb
With "Extended" = 60Gb, 120Gb, 240Gb

What the "Extended" does is that they tweak the firmware to need less space for wear levelling, so that there's more available space storage.

What we end up with is a drive that has 20% more storage space, but supposedly it is slightly slower and will wear out slightly faster. (you will probably change the drive long before it wears out)

Actually hor, I suspect a lot of the SSD drives out there are virtually the same, probably OEM from 1 to 2 sources. They just slap on their own case and their own firmware. (my guess only)

Compare the popular Sandforce drives in the market like G.Skill Phoenix Pro, Corsair Force, OCZ Vertex 2 - they virtually have the same specs and capabilities.

So for me I'll just choose the most popular one with best value. That way, if anything goes wrong, you have a very large pool of current users to support. Also, best value so that when newer, faster and cheaper SSDs come in the market you will be less heartpain.

palestofwhite

Vertex 2 Extended is the best choice for MBP ? Vertex 2 Extended is a Sandforce or what's the difference between Vertex 2 Extended and Vertex 2 Extended Sandforce (http://linkecomputer.com/products/1010213/OCZSSD2-2VTXE60G/OCZ%20Technology/)? What about OCZ Mercury Extreme or G.Skill Phoenix Pro ? Thanks!! Cos I'm looking for something for my MBP =D Wonder which is the best SSD ?

After much research and consideration, this seems to be the choice for Mac users. Here are my reasons:

1. Stated on their product page to support Mac OS X

2. iFixit.com sells this SDD for their 120gb category and rates if compatible with all macbooks and macbook pros.

3. Most forum and youtube uploads for Macbook Pro SSD upgrades recommend this drive.

I think Vertex 2 are all using Sandforce. And that's supposed to be good for OSX according to what I gathered online... I think it's safe to get this brand of SDD for your MBP. :o

TsQ

Hi.. hv u got a confirmation email? I try to order and felt something wrong..

1)ask me to pay via paypal before asking for address or email or anything
2)prices of other SSD is not cheap except this one.. which is like super cheap.. wrong posting by the website maybe?

its just too cheap to believe for a 120g OCZ Vertex2 leh

palestofwhite

2)prices of other SSD is not cheap except this one.. which is like super cheap.. wrong posting by the website maybe?

As pertaining your doubts, I'll feel it's relatively safe to buy from them with the following reasons,

1) Paypal has your address and email so they will get them once you make payment. Also to note, your credit card information is safe with Paypal and not the vendor.

2) Paypal has purchase dispute. It is one of the safest online mode of payment where you can get a full refund in case the transaction is a fraud or scam.

3) They are selling really cheap, hence if you notice it's limited to 1pcs per customer only. Sounds very reasonable to me.

Anyway I will know when the item is shipped if it's too good to be true. For now I still feel it's OK to order from them since they have a couple of good reviews on their forums too. Btw my order is still pending as of now but it says to give them 2-3 working days to ship.

silencer13

As pertaining your doubts, I'll feel it's relatively safe to buy from them with the following reasons,

1) Paypal has your address and email so they will get them once you make payment. Also to note, your credit card information is safe with Paypal and not the vendor.

2) Paypal has purchase dispute. It is one of the safest online mode of payment where you can get a full refund in case the transaction is a fraud or scam.

3) They are selling really cheap, hence if you notice it's limited to 1pcs per customer only. Sounds very reasonable to me.

Anyway I will know when the item is shipped if it's too good to be true. For now I still feel it's OK to order from them since they have a couple of good reviews on their forums too. Btw my order is still pending as of now but it says to give them 2-3 working days to ship.

Agreed 100%.
Payment by Paypal, no need to worry. If anything, it's the merchant who will be more worried. Within 60 days if you cancel your payment citing non-delivery, the merchant also lan-lan.

Only Singapore sells the Vertex 2 so expensive. Newegg is also around the same price as Linke - ~$320.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.