(Storage) SSD Discussion Thread

glassdarkly

You should really try borderlinx then and you will experience a whole new level of online shopping. :p

Isn't borderlinx more expensive, though? The last time I checked their shipping rates were higher. In any case, I tend to consolidate a lot of packages before shipping, so processing time isn't a problem.

Spongy said:
and GST adds up to $43 (with 5% DBS cc discount and free upgrade to express shipping).

IMO ask merchant to don't print invoice to save the planet. Why must pay GST; SSD is gahmen help you order meh :p.

To raid or not to raid?

Don't raid IMO. Too much hassle and you don't really get that much more, all things considered.

weap0nx

Yea had a feeling you might say that.. hmmm.. i'll raid just for the fun of it and then switch back to single ;)

yourstruly

Hey a question for those of you who have used Borderlinx's concierge service before. What exchange rate did they use when charging you? This is what I saw on their website:

What is your US$ > SGD exchange rate?

The exchange rate used is the midpoint between the buying and selling rates Banking currency exchange.

The rate today is US$1=1.51SGD.

This exchange rate will change from time to time according to market conditions. When the exchange rate is changed, it is possible that your shipment charge will differ from your Concierge Order charge if both were submitted on the same day. We charge your credit card for your Concierge Order at the time the merchant accepts the order.

https://www.borderlinx.com/m/pages/citi-sg/faq/sg-rate

1.51 is crazy expensive!! Is this accurate?

SpellSinger

if anyone wants to sell their 128gb m225, pm me :(

cancelled my order with them because they insist on payment by wire transfer...

looking to get a cheap 2nd hand 64gb now, but if anyone wants to sell their 128gb ssd, do PM me!

Milo-Dino

Hey a question for those of you who have used Borderlinx's concierge service before. What exchange rate did they use when charging you? This is what I saw on their website:

I used it last month to buy a watch....
the rate they charged was about 1.4

edit: the 1.51 was just an outdate example.... afterall... that is an FAQ page..

Aegis_2

I just release my shipment for my SSD yesterday from Borderlinx. The exchange rate is 1.368.

adrianlee

Corsair Force F40 Review (40GB)
The Force series SSD line from Corsair represents their fastest and highest performing SSD models, and Force F40 SSD represents one of the capacity extensions (40GB, 80GB and 160GB) announced in July. Equipped with the latest controllers from SandForce, these models are the crème de la crème of the consumer flash storage world. In this mini review we take a look at the 40GB Corsair F40 and see how it performs against competing SSDs.
http://www.storagereview.com/corsair_force_f40_review_40gb

athenaesword

do the intel x25ms now come with trim support activated already? or do i have to mess around with firmware?

EXP0SER

in a dilemma now. i am currently using WD Black 1TB. partition to OS and storage. But I left too much space for OS. So now, I am looking to get another HDD.

Was thinking of getting a SSD, at least 120GB for my OS. And use my existing HDD for storage. Possible? Am I able to clone my C: to the new SSD? Also, am I able to combine the partition together after deleting what is in C:

Please help, noob here.

EXP0SER

in a dilemma now. i am currently using WD Black 1TB. partition to OS and storage. But I left too much space for OS. So now, I am looking to get another HDD.

Was thinking of getting a SSD, at least 120GB for my OS. And use my existing HDD for storage. Possible? Am I able to clone my C: to the new SSD? Also, am I able to combine the partition together after deleting what is in C:

Please help, noob here.

SpellSinger

hey guys need some advice here too...

i just got a 64gb 1.8" sata ssd, how do i install it in say a laptop or my itx case?

do i need to buy a 2.5" adapter at least? or since it's already sata, i should just connect it directly?

weap0nx

hey guys need some advice here too...

i just got a 64gb 1.8" sata ssd, how do i install it in say a laptop or my itx case?

do i need to buy a 2.5" adapter at least? or since it's already sata, i should just connect it directly?

Not exactly sure what you mean but form factor is form factor whilst interface is interface, two different things.

To fit in the 2.5" form factor you will need an adapter. why did you buy 1.8"?

weap0nx

Please help, noob here.

Better not to clone a HDD onto an SSD! Clone similar SSD onto SSD. You'll have to reinstall everything if you intend to optimize your SSD.

weap0nx

HEY Guys i saw a thread earlier on an adapter to fit
2 x 2.5" SSD onto an 3.5" mount. Would like to get one of these to mount more SSDs

Where to get?

weap0nx

y not to clone a HDD onto an SSD?:s11:

Not sure I read somewhere, but i've seen many people do it, just make sure your software ensures the partition is aligned after the cloning too.

My general rule for SSD performance is to start from a fresh disk , fresh install and apply tweaks straight away. then benchmark to see what is the peak performance of your setup. If you reuse anything performance might be affected and you won't know for sure because you never tested it at peak.

Not sure I read somewhere, but i've seen many people do it, just make sure your software ensures the partition is aligned after the cloning too.

My general rule for SSD performance is to start from a fresh disk , fresh install and apply tweaks straight away. then benchmark to see what is the peak performance of your setup. If you reuse anything performance might be affected and you won't know for sure because you never tested it at peak.

hmm the alignment issue is due to partition by win xp, if use acronis would it have the alignment issue as well?

alamak

They say if you clone the whole disk instead of cloning the partition using acronis, the alignment on the source disk will be preserved.

I tried to clone an image to my ssd using acronis but it took too long so I installed from fresh again. Maybe my acronis version too old.

adrianlee

Intel Readies 25 nm NAND-based X25-M and X25-V SSDs for Q4 2010
76a_thm.jpg

Intel is planning a series of four solid state drives (SSDs) in Q4 2010, that makes use of the latest IMFlash Technologies 25 nm NAND flash memory chips, under a possible "G3" (third generation) brand identifier, and sold complete under the Intel X25-M, and X18-M (mainstream) and X25-V (value) brands. The four drives will continue to carry the company internal codename "Postville", and mostly the same exact feature set as the 34 nm Postville SSDs, except for the new 25 nm NAND chips, native data encryption, SMART, and higher performance.

Under the 2.5" form-factor X25-M series, there are 600 GB, 300 GB, and 160 GB models on the roadmap, while an X25-V 2.5" value SSD featuring the 25 nm flash chips includes an 80 GB model in Q4. Later in Q1 2011, Intel will add new enterprise X25-E "Lydonville" models based on the new chips, as well as introduce 25 nm based 300 GB and 160 GB 1.8" mainstream X18-M SSDs, and a 40 GB X25-M model. The introduction of these new SSDs follows the February 2010 announcement of the 25 nm NAND flash memory chips by IMFlash Technologies......
http://www.techpowerup.com/128811/I...D-based_X25-M_and_X25-V_SSDs_for_Q4_2010.html
http://www.computerbase.de/news/hardware/laufwerke/massenspeicher/2010/august/intel_ssd-roadmap/

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.