(Storage) SSD Discussion Thread

kotori

my cricial shipment just arrived today via comgateway~ overall experience is quite okay.. CGW takes quite a bit of time to register new package arrivals but payment for shipment and shipping itself is quite a smooth process..

besides, DBS has a 10% first ship promo and a free upgrade to express shipping

quekky

i should had choose cgw. package reached vpost on sat but now then they process, somemore "System does not allow you to perform self matching from 9.30pm to 11.30pm and 3.00am to 7.00am"....

zapp!

Got the crucial M225 128GB from FedEx yest, put it to my laptop and installed Win 7. Benchmark from the Win 7 indexing tool rated it at 7.3 - surprisingly higher than the Intel G2 80GB in my desktop which is rated at 6.8.

Good VFM disk...mine came with 1916 firmware btw.

alamak

Got the crucial M225 128GB from FedEx yest, put it to my laptop and installed Win 7. Benchmark from the Win 7 indexing tool rated it at 7.3 - surprisingly higher than the Intel G2 80GB in my desktop which is rated at 6.8.

Good VFM disk...mine came with 1916 firmware btw.

Your intel g2 benchmarked on day 1 or after using for some while?

zapp!

Your intel g2 benchmarked on day 1 or after using for some while?

Day 1 after i installed Win 7. Strange rite :p I thought G2 was faster...but no matter to me lah. Day to day use still feels zippy and i still love the boot up time over mechanical drives.

Spongy

i should had choose cgw. package reached vpost on sat but now then they process, somemore "System does not allow you to perform self matching from 9.30pm to 11.30pm and 3.00am to 7.00am"....

My experience with CGW is like hell. My package was lost. I contacted their customer service and complained about their express shipping is taking too long and after several conversation, the customer left the chat and then terminated my chat after an hour. This is like &^@^**&#^$. Somemore, there is no phone number to call them. I searched this forum and there are also similiar experience.

Anyway, this is the last time I am going to use them. Vpost is slow but at least you get to call them and talk to them. For those who wants to talk to them, you can call 6829 8978 (customer dept) or 6829 8977 (lost & claims dept). I got the numbers from DHL as my package was lost. Just in case someone google for comgatway contact or comgateway phone number, their number can be found here. I can't get any result googling for their number after my bad episode with them.

alamak

Day 1 after i installed Win 7. Strange rite :p I thought G2 was faster...but no matter to me lah. Day to day use still feels zippy and i still love the boot up time over mechanical drives.

ic.. actually dun think we can 'feel' the difference btw the 2 ssd drives under normal usage. :D

yourstruly

My experience with CGW is like hell. My package was lost. I contacted their customer service and complained about their express shipping is taking too long and after several conversation, the customer left the chat and then terminated my chat after an hour. This is like &^@^**&#^$. Somemore, there is no phone number to call them. I searched this forum and there are also similiar experience.

Anyway, this is the last time I am going to use them. Vpost is slow but at least you get to call them and talk to them. For those who wants to talk to them, you can call 6829 8978 (customer dept) or 6829 8977 (lost & claims dept). I got the numbers from DHL as my package was lost. Just in case someone google for comgatway contact or comgateway phone number, their number can be found here. I can't get any result googling for their number after my bad episode with them.

Sorry to hear of your bad experience. When did this happen? Was this your order from Crucial?

zapp!

Thanks to a bro who posted that we could use FedEx from Crucial direct, mine was relatively hassle free. Only thing is that i had to order twice as the first time, they had trouble verifying my billing address for my cc. 2nd time i put in the order i choose Paypal instead. Went through immediately.

Made a mistake to put my home mailing address as FedEx delivered straight to my house at 830am when no one was around. And they will charge extra to change delivery address, neither do they do evening deliveries. So better to put in your office address...

zapp!

ic.. actually dun think we can 'feel' the difference btw the 2 ssd drives under normal usage. :D

agreed lol. I think its becos of the huge speed increase we get transiting from mechanical to solid state...

Hopefully this crucial drive got no issues then for the price is really no horse run.

HardCORE

If you're talking about the Crucial M225s, those are Indilinx drives, which means the Intel G2 will have about 2x the random read/write performance. The Crucial C300 is about 30-40% faster overall (256GB supposedly faster than 128GB).

Seems like the forum is flooded with problems regarding the c300 series as well. Crashing and loosing data, degradation etc. Unfortunately crucial's reputation for Rams doesnt apply to SSDs as well. Gonna be hard for us to RMA if anything goes wrong too.

Anyways I had a second order via paypal when my first one failed. Did u put yr sg address as billing address?

Its not only Crucial. I wouldn't touch any Indilinx drives with a 10-foot pole. My first SSD was an OCZ Vertex 120GB. I would get occasional data corruption and the drive would hang and disappear until a cold reboot. After 2 months the drive just suddenly died, not recognized by BIOS. If you check the OCZ forums, many people report the same problem.

Got a new replacement drive and swapped it for an Intel G2 160GB.

The Intel G2 has been perfect since new, no weird behavior and fast. 6 months on, still no problems and SMART reports the drive lifespan is still 100%. The OCZ Vertex lifespan dropped by 1% every 2 weeks!

Spongy

Sorry to hear of your bad experience. When did this happen? Was this your order from Crucial?

Mine was supposed to be delivered today but the shipment tracking has stopped updating since Thursday. Yes, I have order from Crucial.

quekky

Mine was supposed to be delivered today but the shipment tracking has stopped updating since Thursday. Yes, I have order from Crucial.
seems like the best way is the USD15 DHL.

vpost shipping is $17.50, cgw is so ex, not sure about borderlinx

kotori

my CGW was SGD$11.70, DBS 10% (5% subsequent) + free upgrade to express shipping

CGW is giving problems for some.

vPost is ex and slow?

Borderlinx : i think not many went for this because shipping to Borderlinx will incur US tax shipping from Crucial.

usually, shipping to Ohio (Borderlinx) is tax free, so all my other shipments goes to Borderlinx and my experience with them is the best so far. currently Citi cards giving 30% discount on shipping till end of 2010.

kotori

need an opinion from fellow SSD users, right now I have a M225 128GB and a 640GB WD Black HDD and im intending to get another 640GB black to raid. i've read that having all the programs in one disc and data on another will help speed things up, but with a SSD, im kinda confused, so right now im thinking which of the 3 is the better and more logical setup. please share your opinions :o

A
SSD as boot drive and essential programs.
640GB for other non-essential programs
640GB for data storage

or

B
2 x 640GB in Raid0 - non essential programs and data will be stored together

or

C
2 x 640GB in Raid0
- Parition 1 for non essential programs
- Parition 2 for data

is choice C, to Raid and then partition the drives plain dumb?

zapp!

Use SSD for OS and essential programs and do a RAID 1 for your data drive...got redundacy.

Sp1der

I am more confortable with option A
SSD as boot drive and essential programs
leave both 640GB hdd as non raid for non essential program/data drive

since neither of the 640gb is going to have any essential program why bother to raid it.

Dr_ARCHer

Perhaps you might want to consider using the SSD as the boot drive, one 640GB for non-essential programs and data, and the last 640GB as a backup drive for both your SSD and the first 640GB.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.