Storing videos using HDD with RAID 0 - Need help

Apparatus

Hi

I need some advise on storing my leisure videos on hdd. Videos are non-critical data.

If one video file is say 500GB (8K@60fps for 30 min recording) then I'll need 20TB to store 40 video files

So I intend to get 2x20TB external HDDs for storage. The total number of videos that can be stored is 80 only

I'm not going into NAS but just using external HDDs attached to my PC.

I noticed that some HDDs come with RAID specified whilst others are not. The former is more expensive than the latter.

Questions

1) Can I set up RAID 0 myself with non-RAID HDDs or I need those RAID-specified HDDs to do the set up for RAID?

2) Is HDDs with TB3 the way to go?

3) How to set up RAID 0? Through daisychaining the 2x HDDs?

4) Looking at Seagate, WD and Toshiba brands. Which gives best reliability? Any 20TB HDDs to recommend? Is the External SanDisk Professional 20TB G-Drive Pro 7200rpm 2xTB3 HDD good? Is it SMR or PMR(aka CMR)?

Any idea of the WD's 20TB HDDs with OptiNAND (Ultrastar DC HC560 and WD Gold 20TB 3.5-inch hard drives) which are ePMR(aka CMR) drives

https://www.tomshardware.com/news/western-digital-20tb-hdds-now-availablehttps://arstechnica.com/gadgets/202...uces-new-non-smr-20tb-hdds-with-onboard-nand/
My hardware gear is

1) 8K@60fps Samsung TV
2) High-end PC for running 8K@60fps games and videos - upcoming
3) Camera for shooting 8K@60fps videos like the CANON R5 C - upcoming

Thanks

uncle_josh

Hi

I need some advise on backing up my leisure videos on hdd. Videos are non-critical data.

If one video file is say 500GB (8K@60fps for 30 min recording) then I'll need 20TB to store 40 video files

So I intend to get 2x20TB external HDDs for storage. The total number of videos that can be stored is 80 only

I noticed that some HDDs come with RAID specified whilst others are not. The former is more expensive than the latter.

Questions

1) Can I set up RAID 0 myself with non-RAID HDDs or I need those RAID-specified HDDs to do the set up for RAID?

4) Looking at Seagte, WD and Toshiba brands. Which gives best reliability? Any 20TB HDDs to recommend? Is the
External SanDisk Professional 20TB G-Drive Pro 7200rpm 2xTB3 HDD good?

My hardware gear is

1) 8K@60fps Samsung TV

Thanks
this is call kamikaze.
nobody backup with raid 0

Apparatus

this is call kamikaze.
nobody backup with raid 0
Ok I should use the word store instead of backup. Corrected the title. Thanks for that

Like I said, the leisure videos are non-critical. Just want to store the videos and play them on my TV.

I want to ensure RAID 0 transfers the videos at a faster rate without causing the 8K display to stutter. The SanDisk Professional 20TB G-Drive Pro 7200rpm 2xTB3 HDD's R/W speed is 250MB/s. Is it fast enough for 8K display? Or should I set up in RAID 0 and have about twice the R/W speed?

Thanks

Apparatus

Your hard disk transfer rate is more than enough to deliver 8k video let alone Raid 0 .
Thanks

In that case, connecting the HDDs in daisy-chain manner will suffice WITHOUT RAID 0, right? Like that if one HDD fail then the videos on the other HDD will not be affected unlike that of HDDs in RAID 0 where the same video is split and deliver to both drives for faster speed. If one HDD fails, then the same video on both drives are affected.

Am I right?

Hi

I need some advise on storing my leisure videos on hdd. Videos are non-critical data.

Questions

4) Looking at Seagte, WD and Toshiba brands. Which gives best reliability? Any 20TB HDDs to recommend? Is the External SanDisk Professional 20TB G-Drive Pro 7200rpm 2xTB3 HDD good? Is it SMR or PMR(aka CMR)?

Any idea of the WD's 20TB HDDs with OptiNAND (Ultrastar DC HC560 and WD Gold 20TB 3.5-inch hard drives) which are ePMR(aka CMR) drives

https://www.tomshardware.com/news/western-digital-20tb-hdds-now-availablehttps://arstechnica.com/gadgets/202...uces-new-non-smr-20tb-hdds-with-onboard-nand/
My hardware gear is

1) 8K@60fps Samsung TV

Thanks

Video Editing use
3x HDD in RAID0
Sata max speed 600MB/s
USB3 max speed 500MB/s

Single HDD read/write speed
150 - 200MB/s

xonix

Thanks

In that case, connecting the HDDs in daisy-chain manner will suffice WITHOUT RAID 0, right? Like that if one HDD fail then the videos on the other HDD will not be affected unlike that of HDDs in RAID 0 where the same video is split and deliver to both drives for faster speed. If one HDD fails, then the same video on both drives are affected.

Am I right?
Get a NAS, setup up RAID 5 or 6
Problem solved

https://www.asustor.com/online/College_topic?topic=251#raid12https://www.asustor.com/service/RAID_calculator

wwenze

Your camera Cinema RAW format 8k60p bitrate is around 2000Mbps or 250MB/s

You tell me whether 1 HDD enough. Heck, will 2 HDD enough.

People go so hardcore for leisure video one meh. Unless you stick your head next to the TV, 4k with a sensible viewing angle is already beyond retina resolution. Then add AVC compression and don't capture all I-frames and you can compress to below 500Mbps or 250Mbps...

YouTube 4k is less than 70Mbps btw, so 4 times the bitrate should retain pretty good quality.

Apparatus

Video Editing use
3x HDD in RAID0
Sata max speed 600MB/s
USB3 max speed 500MB/s

Single HDD read/write speed
150 - 200MB/s
I won't be doing editing. Only record in 8K@60fps using CANON RAW LITE CRM format.

Then convert into TV-playble MP4 format and store them on external HDD. And play from there with high-end PC connected via HDMI 2.1 to my 8K TV for viewing.

I'm not sure what is the 8K@60fps file size is after the conversion to MP4. I'll need to check with CANON on this because this determines my storage space need

Apparatus

Your camera Cinema RAW format 8k60p bitrate is around 2000Mbps or 250MB/s

You tell me whether 1 HDD enough. Heck, will 2 HDD enough.

People go so hardcore for leisure video one meh. Unless you stick your head next to the TV, 4k with a sensible viewing angle is already beyond retina resolution. Then add AVC compression and don't capture all I-frames and you can compress to below 500Mbps or 250Mbps...

YouTube 4k is less than 70Mbps btw, so 4 times the bitrate should retain pretty good quality.
Based on calculation. Shooting 8K@60fps for 30 min takes about slightly more than 512GB of storage. That is one 512GB CFexpress card Type B lor.

After the CRM Raw file is converted to TV-playable MP4 format the file size I'm not sure.

Check my calculation in post #10 below

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/8k-cameras.6552823/
Write speed to HDD a bit slow no issue but the read speed is. Like I mentioned how much read speed from the HDD is needed to avoid 8K stuttering when playing video? Is the HDD's 250MBps enough or should I RAID the 2 HDDs?

I'm prepraing for 2x 40TB ext HDDs

My 8K gear has been specified

1) 8K@60fps Samsung TV - have one now

wwenze

Go for internal HDD if possible. USB does not support DMA, and is usually riskier to turn on more aggressive buffering. Shuck the drive if you need to.

And at these bitrates, RAID is highly recommended. Because a single HDD will not give more than 300MB/s, and that's with a defragged drive.

https://www.kitguru.net/components/hard-drives/simon-crisp/wd-ultrastar-dc-hc560-20tb-hdd-review/4/
If your idea is to reencode your 8k60 RAW to 8k60 MP4 (I'm using this term liberally) and you don't mind waiting 2 hours to transcode 30 minutes of footage then anything goes I guess. Personally I will rather record directly into the shareable format if I am not doing any further editing or archiving.

I'm not sure what is the 8K@60fps initial file size is after the conversion to MP4.

Well if this is your first time encountering the concept of encoding and bitrates, the guides will usually explain how to know the final file size. Or how to set the final file size in the case of 2-pass encoding.

Apparatus

Go for internal HDD if possible. USB does not support DMA, and is usually riskier to turn on more aggressive buffering. Shuck the drive if you need to.

And at these bitrates, RAID is highly recommended. Because a single HDD will not give more than 300MB/s, and that's with a defragged drive.

https://www.kitguru.net/components/hard-drives/simon-crisp/wd-ultrastar-dc-hc560-20tb-hdd-review/4/
If your idea is to reencode your 8k60 RAW to 8k60 MP4 (I'm using this term liberally) and you don't mind waiting 2 hours to transcode 30 minutes of footage then anything goes I guess. Personally I will rather record directly into the shareable format if I am not doing any further editing or archiving.

Well if this is your first time encountering the concept of encoding and bitrates, the guides will usually explain how to know the final file size. Or how to set the final file size in the case of 2-pass encoding.
The SANDISK HDD I quoted uses TB3 and the HDD speed is limited to RW of 250MB/s

TB3 transfer rate is 40Gb/s(5GB/s)

HDMI 2.1 cable can take up to 48Gb/s(6GB/s)

So, the limitation is the HDD RW speed. Of course, setting up RAID 0 would increase the RW HDD speed to double i.e. 500MB/s

The CRM RAW format from the CANON 8K camera needs to be re-encoded to TV-playable MP4 format to play on the 8K TV as informed by CANON. Well, if it needs 2 to 3hrs for re-encoding then my high-end PC will have to do the job

CANON has a free software for the file conversion. NIKON don't have a free software at the moment, so you'll need to get those expensive 3rd-party software like DaVinci Resolve to do the job.

One way I can test the smoothness of the 8K video playback on the TV is to test out using one HDD first. If playback is smooth then no need to set up RAID 0 otherwise I'll configure both HDDs as RAID 0

For internal 20TB HDDs I have shortlisted the below enterprise drives

1) WD Gold Enterprise SATA 7200rpm HDD (ePMR or CMR)
2) WD Ultrastar DC HC560 (ePMR or CMR)
3) Seagate IronWolf Pro (CMR)
4) Seagte Exos x20 (CMR)

As of now I think I'll stick with external HDDs as they can be cooled by my room aircon. The high-end PC is already hot internally, and adding some more HDDs will just increase its temperature.

TanKianW

Hi

Questions

4) Looking at Seagte, WD and Toshiba brands. Which gives best reliability? Any 20TB HDDs to recommend? Is the External SanDisk Professional 20TB G-Drive Pro 7200rpm 2xTB3 HDD good? Is it SMR or PMR(aka CMR)?

My hardware gear is

1) 8K@60fps Samsung TV

Thanks

Since you can spend so much on 8k leisure. And even got "upcoming" high-end PC.

Why stick to magnetic drives?? I recommend you to take a look at enterprise PCIe 4.0 NVME (U.3) SSD from Kioxia. Their CM6 series even comes with 30TB version. Not even a problem to transfer multiple 8k RAW footage off a RED cinematic camera.

If you want storage server running on enterprise SSDs, I can even recommend you the 2U EPYC motherboard to get.​

Apparatus

Since you can spend so much on 8k leisure. And even got "upcoming" high-end PC.

Why stick to magnetic drives?? I recommend you to take a look at enterprise PCIe 4.0 NVME (U.3) SSD from Kioxia. Their CM6 series even comes with 30TB version. Not even a problem to transfer multiple 8k RAW footage off a RED cinematic camera.

If you want storage server running on enterprise SSDs, I can even recommend you the 2U EPYC motherboard to get.​

Too expensive for SSDs lah and I'm not storing mission-critical data

:D

tsteo77

For general landscape, urban photography, travel photography etc
No hard feeling..why not try backpack travel for purpose of general landscape, urban photography, travel photography.
It will be more fruitful than watching videos and pictures. Natural color is best for your health.

Apparatus

No hard feeling..why not try backpack travel for purpose of general landscape, urban photography, travel photography.
It will be more fruitful than watching videos and pictures. Natural color is best for your health.
Singapore can overseas cannot.

Not interested travelling overseas

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.