Structured cabling in HDB flat

derrickgoh

At 1st, i thought can place the tp in the closet. But since it already in my living room, can replan the connection since theres a wall point is next to my tp.. Heres my plan until im able to break open the utility box..

TP->ONT->ROUTER->WALL POINT IN THE LIVING ROOM -> UTILITY BOX -> Switch -> all the room via utility box.

Now you tubing how to pick a lock....LOL.... If it works, bye bye home plug.....
Utility box so small can fit TP and Router inside meh? And is there even a power socket in the utility box? If not cant put TP and router leh.

kapitansg

I recently went to a friend's flat in Punggol and noticed that there is a panel box near the front door and when you opened it, you will see the terminal points, I think, for cable and fibre-optic point... Now here is the funny thing, he told me the Singtel guy have no idea what the box is for when he came to install the mio tv for my friend. I meant, come on, you will see a LAN point and four cable wires leaving the plate. And sure enough, there are four LAN ports, one in the living room and one each in the three rooms. But I have a question. Yes, there is a power point in there.. but how in the world are you going to put the modem in there... the depth of the panel is not deep and given that modem come in different sizes...it will be a problem. And what about heat dissipation from the modem? The panel cover looks like one of those electricial box.

mbgeow

looks like not many ppl know le structured cabling for new flat how to install the TP..

i call up the m1 CSO they say TP can put inside the box, ONT and router can plug in the network access point via network cable near the living room tv point there.,,

romanohairi

Utility box so small can fit TP and Router inside meh? And is there even a power socket in the utility box? If not cant put TP and router leh.

Yeah, there's 2 power socket in my small closet where the utility box can be found. Finally, I break open it, (youtubing "how to pick a lock" didn't work). Connect the cable from my living room to bedroom. bridge with zykel router, and here wat I get. :s12::s12::s12::s12:
2123017603.png

mrsun18

Yeah, there's 2 power socket in my small closet where the utility box can be found. Finally, I break open it, (youtubing "how to pick a lock" didn't work). Connect the cable from my living room to bedroom. bridge with zykel router, and here wat I get. :s12::s12::s12::s12: ...
Wonderful feeling, isn't it? Just wondering why didn't you have the key in the first place?

romanohairi

Wonderful feeling, isn't it? Just wondering why didn't you have the key in the first place?

Yeah!!! great feeling.... there's a key looks like it's for the utility box, but I tried and can't open. I was thking it's just a singtel telecom box for phones and it didn't came to my mind, it's for this purposes.... Thanks guys for bring it up... I'm loving my house even more... LOL:D:D:D

mrsun18

Yeah!!! great feeling.... there's a key looks like it's for the utility box, but I tried and can't open. I was thking it's just a singtel telecom box for phones and it didn't came to my mind, it's for this purposes.... Thanks guys for bring it up... I'm loving my house even more... LOL:D:D:D
Cheap locks. Had you used WD-40 it would have saved you from the hassle.

romanohairi

Didn't think of it. I don't have one anyway. My wife saw me struggling to open it and ask me why the sudden of interest for the utility box. I said it a treasure box. Hahahhaaa.

derrickgoh

Bah hdb wasnt of much help in this. Lucky my estate agent quite good. She said she'll let me know when we next meet up to exercise the option to purchase. She said tell me i person better cos quite complicated. Good grief i hope the previous owner didnt screw it up too badly. I mean shouldnt b that complicated mah. The points should all terminate at one place. How complicated can it be unless of course the owner act smart & redid things.

justinkwk

Bah hdb wasnt of much help in this. Lucky my estate agent quite good. She said she'll let me know when we next meet up to exercise the option to purchase. She said tell me i person better cos quite complicated. Good grief i hope the previous owner didnt screw it up too badly. I mean shouldnt b that complicated mah. The points should all terminate at one place. How complicated can it be unless of course the owner act smart & redid things.

Maybe it's covered up behind some carpentry work like feature walls etc..

derrickgoh

Is it possibe to be inside the bomb shelter? Or dumb as it may sound, inside some kitchen cabinet? Because he has no false walls or partitions.

romanohairi

Is it possibe to be inside the bomb shelter? Or dumb as it may sound, inside some kitchen cabinet? Because he has no false walls or partitions.

Im staying in fernvale n abt the 6-7 yrs old blk. I just found my utility box at the entrance of my kitchen where u can find the circuit breaks. Shld be the same with urs.

derrickgoh

Im staying in fernvale n abt the 6-7 yrs old blk. I just found my utility box at the entrance of my kitchen where u can find the circuit breaks. Shld be the same with urs.
Thanks. Will go scout it out tomorrow but I seem to recall the circuit breaker was located in the shoe cabinet behind the main door.

mrsun18

Thanks. Will go scout it out tomorrow but I seem to recall the circuit breaker was located in the shoe cabinet behind the main door.
Location may vary because of layout of the block. Some may be near the main door entrance, others may be near/in kitchen. It boils down to the location of the so called "service duct" at the corridor or lift lobby.

derrickgoh

Location may vary because of layout of the block. Some may be near the main door entrance, others may be near/in kitchen. It boils down to the location of the so called "service duct" at the corridor or lift lobby.
Thanks. Will take a good look tomorrow. In the mean time I hope HDB wakes up and replied to my email.

derrickgoh

Ok I went back to the flat which my parents are buying. Behind the main door is a utility cupboard cum shoe cabinet.
i1lbtk.jpg

When I opened up I noticed a grey box near the circuit breaker. There are also 2 power points and 1 port. Unfortunately the pic is not clear & I can't recall if its a telephone or data port. When I opened up the grey box, bingo! Patch panel!
j9ohoy.jpg

Here's a close up of the patch panel.
1zcgx2u.jpg

I noticed the data ports on the patch panel are labelled D1 to D6 so I should find 6 data ports some where in the house labelled D1 to D6. D1 was found in the master bedroom but on a different wall from the SCV point (strange!). D3 was in "my" bedroom next to the SCV point. D4 was in the living room beside next to the SCV point. D5 was in the kitchen.

Never managed to find D2 & D6. There was one bedroom which had this huge cupboard against it. In this bedroom I did not see any SCV point or data point so I can only assume that huge cupboard which I saw was blocking it.

That still leaves one data point missing. Any idea where it could be? Hidden somewhere in master bedroom perhaps? Or could it be the one inside the utility cupboard next to the circuit breaker? The photo I posted above isn't clear and I can't remember what it was labelled as. :s27:

Oh BTW am I right to assume those points labelled with a T e.g. T4, T6, etc are for telephone? Only those with D e.g. D1, D2, etc can plug in the RJ45 cables right?

Good news is I measured the utility cupboard and its quite deep so I should have no issues placing my ViewQwest fibre modem inside. Only thing is, if I want the OpenNet ppl to install the TP inside the utility closet/shoe cabinet, how are they going to do so?

I mean from outside the flat, do they drill a hole through the wall and then the hole goes through the utility closet/shoe cabinet? The wall like damn thick lor, drill can go thru meh? LOL! :s13:

mrsun18

I mean from outside the flat, do they drill a hole through the wall and then the hole goes through the utility closet/shoe cabinet? The wall like damn thick lor, drill can go thru meh? LOL! :s13:
Don't worry lah... HDB engineers must have given a great deal of thought during the planning and design stage. Just imagine the complexity of running all these electrical, scv and structured cables concealed. While fiber cable became public knowledge not too long ago, HDB must have known it long before us. If telephone wire from Singtel can be pulled in concealed into this utility room, the same must apply to fiber cable too.

By the way, did you manage to get the drawings or take a look at them?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.