Structured cabling in HDB flat

mrsun18

So if the sockets are all using 5e, when i plug my mac into the socket, is it ok if i use a cat 6 cable, or must it b cat 5e?
Yes, if the cat 6 cable comes with RJ45 plug. Cat 6 cable is backward compatible with Cat 5e cable.

liangtam

Now that cat5e cable is proven.
The main thing is whether if they fitted a 8P8C keystone jack into the faceplate and patch panel onto outlets labelled T.

Even if they placed in the 'correct' keystone, the wall plate still can be taken out to retrofit 8P8C keystone in to become a D outlet. And hence, any use of 8 wiring cable be it Cat5*, 5e, 6 or 7 can give you 1Gbps rate. 10Gbps eth is not prevalent at the moment, and hence cannot be deduced.

parky123

just connect a patch cord from one port on the patch panel and plug the other end into the switch port. meaning 1 to 1 will do

donald83

I just got my 4ropom BTO flat in Punggol.

The TP is in the utility closet near the mainbdoor, and M1 came to install the ONT and connect to the TP in the utility closet.

So that means my router and my telephone (fixed digital voice) has to be in the closet as well which doesn't make sense.

I saw that there is a LAN point in the living room TV area.

1. Any other way which I can put the wireless router at the living room area? I want my telephone to be there as well.

2. What does the LAN point in the living room area function as? I tried plugging Ethernet cable into it with my laptop but cannot connect to internet.

Sorry for all the stupid questions as I don't have any idea about home networking.

azrin619

Best you attach the pic of the junction box at the ont and if you die die want to move it of from the door.... there are means...

as for digital voice... you can local single loop to your del line socket...but it's all subjective.
If you want.. I can come over and check it out... kopi lui enuff ah...

moron+genius

the lan pt in living room and lan points in other rooms are wired back to the patch panel in the utility closet. if u r renovating I suggest u run fibre cable to living room and put ont and router there, den connect the router output to living rm lan pt, den connect the living rm lan pt in patch panel to a switch and connect the other rooms lan pt to this switch so all rooms haf internet and connected together and also can share resoures. hope this help no need kopi $
I just got my 4ropom BTO flat in Punggol.

The TP is in the utility closet near the mainbdoor, and M1 came to install the ONT and connect to the TP in the utility closet.

So that means my router and my telephone (fixed digital voice) has to be in the closet as well which doesn't make sense.

I saw that there is a LAN point in the living room TV area.

1. Any other way which I can put the wireless router at the living room area? I want my telephone to be there as well.

2. What does the LAN point in the living room area function as? I tried plugging Ethernet cable into it with my laptop but cannot connect to internet.

Sorry for all the stupid questions as I don't have any idea about home networking.

donald83

the lan pt in living room and lan points in other rooms are wired back to the patch panel in the utility closet. if u r renovating I suggest u run fibre cable to living room and put ont and router there, den connect the router output to living rm lan pt, den connect the living rm lan pt in patch panel to a switch and connect the other rooms lan pt to this switch so all rooms haf internet and connected together and also can share resoures. hope this help so need kopi $

There is also a LAN point in ny utility closet. Can I connect ny router to this LAN pt and then all my other LAN points can be used?

moron+genius

where does this lan pt leads to? all lan pts needs to be connected to a router or a switch that is connected to router for it to be able to use. the router or switch is the equipment to provide interconnectivity between all connected lan pts for sharing for resources like internet, printer, nas etc.
There is also a LAN point in ny utility closet. Can I connect ny router to this LAN pt and then all my other LAN points can be used?

donald83

where does this lan pt leads to? all lan pts needs to be connected to a router or a switch that is connected to router for it to be able to use. the router or switch is the equipment to provide interconnectivity between all connected lan pts for sharing for resources like internet, printer, nas etc.

No idea wher this LAN pt leads to. I gues it is interconnected to my other LAN points in the house? If that is the case, i connect the router to this LAN point and other LAN points can be used as well?

sabrinath

Hi

I faced the same issue with donald83 and needed some help from the expertise here.

Prior to the installation of TP for my new enbloc flat, I had informed my contractor that I wanted the cable concealed and installed at the TV console in the living area. However when opennet contractor came ytd, they informed that the TP can only be installed above the utility box if I do not want the trunking to be seen. With that, does it mean I will need to install ont and router near the utility box and nowhere esle? As the area around the utility box is not conceal,hence you can see the TP, utility box and power switch. How should I go about it? And also, opennet contractor mentioned that all rooms can be connected to internet when plug to the port. But the ports in all bedrooms that was installed by hdb indicates 'TEL'. Can LAN cable fit into the telephone port?

I'm sorry if I've confused you with the terms and details but I'm really lost in this and needed much help here..

azrin619

TP must NOT be concealed
If it's TEL (DEL) line...you may be able to convert...without much cost....
Have to do site survey first lah....

sabrinath

TP must NOT be concealed
If it's TEL (DEL) line...you may be able to convert...without much cost....
Have to do site survey first lah....

Thanks Azrin. Do you happen to know how much is it to convert? I've checked and the port in bedrooms are 4 wires, only the ports at utility box and living area has 8 wires, so I reckon the ports in the room will require to be converted if I wan to use them? Lastly, there is no other way for the ont and router to be installed at the living area console other than near the utility box?

azrin619

you best OPEN the inside of the bedroom one.. is the cable CAT5? if so..then the cost *NOT* so expensive as either you change faceplate *(between $30-50) or do direct crimping. And on the other end.. do a box in the riser or directly....

Of course...labour charge got to include lah.

As for your TP point.. I need to talk to you first...to see if you need to pay for TP , be it new or if you need to modify....

abstrax

Ok I went back to the flat which my parents are buying. Behind the main door is a utility cupboard cum shoe cabinet.
i1lbtk.jpg

When I opened up I noticed a grey box near the circuit breaker. There are also 2 power points and 1 port. Unfortunately the pic is not clear & I can't recall if its a telephone or data port. When I opened up the grey box, bingo! Patch panel!
j9ohoy.jpg

Here's a close up of the patch panel.
1zcgx2u.jpg

I noticed the data ports on the patch panel are labelled D1 to D6 so I should find 6 data ports some where in the house labelled D1 to D6. D1 was found in the master bedroom but on a different wall from the SCV point (strange!). D3 was in "my" bedroom next to the SCV point. D4 was in the living room beside next to the SCV point. D5 was in the kitchen.

Never managed to find D2 & D6. There was one bedroom which had this huge cupboard against it. In this bedroom I did not see any SCV point or data point so I can only assume that huge cupboard which I saw was blocking it.

That still leaves one data point missing. Any idea where it could be? Hidden somewhere in master bedroom perhaps? Or could it be the one inside the utility cupboard next to the circuit breaker? The photo I posted above isn't clear and I can't remember what it was labelled as. :s27:

Oh BTW am I right to assume those points labelled with a T e.g. T4, T6, etc are for telephone? Only those with D e.g. D1, D2, etc can plug in the RJ45 cables right?

Good news is I measured the utility cupboard and its quite deep so I should have no issues placing my ViewQwest fibre modem inside. Only thing is, if I want the OpenNet ppl to install the TP inside the utility closet/shoe cabinet, how are they going to do so?

I mean from outside the flat, do they drill a hole through the wall and then the hole goes through the utility closet/shoe cabinet? The wall like damn thick lor, drill can go thru meh? LOL! :s13:

Nice leh...y my bto flat last year dun come with the patch panel? is it due to different batches?

abstrax

Yeah, there's 2 power socket in my small closet where the utility box can be found. Finally, I break open it, (youtubing "how to pick a lock" didn't work). Connect the cable from my living room to bedroom. bridge with zykel router, and here wat I get. :s12::s12::s12::s12:
2123017603.png

Say "bye bye homeplug"....lol...

wired connection is still the best.....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.