Studying Physiotherapy in Australia

cherrychapstick1997

Hello! I'm considering studying Physiotherapy at Queensland University/ Curtin University/ University of South Australia/ University of Sydney. I'm still in a dilemma as to which uni to choose... Any seniors there who are willing to share about their experiences there? Would really appreciate it!

To be more specific, these are the areas I would like to know more about:

Accommodation
1. What are the pros and cons of staying on-campus? Is it much cheaper to live off-campus, when rent, utility bills, etc are taken into consideration too?
2. For those staying off-campus, which areas do you recommend? If possible, I would like to stay in a quiet, safe neighbourhood which is close to uni and has access to transport/malls/other facilities.

Studies
3. How would you describe the environment in uni? Are your professors engaging and approachable and do you receive a lot of support from your professors/classmates?
4. How big is the size of your lecture/practical/tutorial group?
5. Can you tell me more about the mode of assessment there (ie written exams/assignments/group work etc)?
6. How difficult would you rate the Physiotherapy course there on a scale of 1 to 10?
7. Any study tips?

Student Life
8. How many Singaporeans are studying Physio at your uni?
9. What's the best eatery/mall/leisure place there?

P.S. Is anyone else also interested in studying Physio in Australia and have gotten their offers?

Hello! I'm considering studying Physiotherapy at Queensland University/ Curtin University/ University of South Australia/ University of Sydney. I'm still in a dilemma as to which uni to choose... Any seniors there who are willing to share about their experiences there? Would really appreciate it!

To be more specific, these are the areas I would like to know more about:

Accommodation
1. What are the pros and cons of staying on-campus? Is it much cheaper to live off-campus, when rent, utility bills, etc are taken into consideration too?
2. For those staying off-campus, which areas do you recommend? If possible, I would like to stay in a quiet, safe neighbourhood which is close to uni and has access to transport/malls/other facilities.

Studies
3. How would you describe the environment in uni? Are your professors engaging and approachable and do you receive a lot of support from your professors/classmates?
4. How big is the size of your lecture/practical/tutorial group?
5. Can you tell me more about the mode of assessment there (ie written exams/assignments/group work etc)?
6. How difficult would you rate the Physiotherapy course there on a scale of 1 to 10?
7. Any study tips?

Student Life
8. How many Singaporeans are studying Physio at your uni?
9. What's the best eatery/mall/leisure place there?

P.S. Is anyone else also interested in studying Physio in Australia and have gotten their offers?

Part 1 depends on how much $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ your parents have :D
I'm more concerned about if and when you intend to practice here, is your piece of paper recognised? You must already know you are entering a profession where things are somewhat regulated. If I were you, I would clear that up first before deciding how swanky my accommodations will be and how much fun I can choose to have while there.

Random question, why not the physio diploma from either nanyang/ngee ann (can't remember which). They only offer it in DAE and not everybody can stand that sort of work albiet the low entry requirements and labour crunch

seianko

accomodation wise, and life aspects i suggest u post this question at this link:

more singaporeans in oz over there maybe able to assist you.
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...overseas-singaporeans-lip-lai-5165638-20.html

http://www.kayaloti.com/forum/main-forum/20374-official-overseas-singaporeans-lip-lai

TBH i am not sure which link the majority oz ppl are except that they are mostly in my wechat group :s13:

r u aware that u may hv to drive to rural complete ur local attachment? or OJT?
courses in uni SA is relatively easier to score as compare to UQ i supposed. if driving is an issue, u better off choose Adelaide as roads there is alot easier to drive as compare to other states. note that it is also a v boring place if u were to compare it w sg.

I dun save subscription for this sub forum, any other questions u can post on the given links.

A piece of advice to u: The WORSE qn to ask is "how many singaporeans in the course" "where can i find accomodation that have more sinkies"

always remember, chances of sinkie (students mostly) pwn sinkie is very high; becos we are very kiasu when comes to who score better. That being said, my FYP is w fellow ah beng sinkie and i am ah lian so we dun pwn each other :crazy: everywhere in oz, ur classmates are either ah-neh or tiongs.

yes it is very comforty to know ur own out there but, since u r out there, pls mingle around n expand ur horizons

if money is a concen, i wun choose UoS. the RoI is terrible

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.