[SUMMARY] Gaming Monitor Recommendations

transparos

The dwf model has issues with HDR and brightness and its also lower refresh rate of 10Hz. Upgrading firmware is a meme just like how people say AMD cards age like wine.
i saw the dell website the firmware update will be out by end feb and will solve the HDR issue

Phen8210

Not sure if should wait another year…

currently options are still limited for oled panel monitors.

Just wait lor, most ppl stick with the best IPS monitors like msi mag274qrf-qd/benq ex2510, etc. Honestly, I think these 2 are the best IPS for gaming, the others have too many downsides or are just pure crap.

Those monitors obviously have response time not as fast as OLED and don't have that deep blacks, but also don't have the problem OLED monitors r facing now, so it's not like upgrading it is a full upgrade, more like a side-grade, n it's quite pricey.

Anyway, need to wait for Microsoft to implement the ClearType for the common OLED-style pixel arrangement, if not the font really not that clear.

I game but also need to use it for coding n video/photo editing, and other stuff too, I do a lot of shet o_O.

hyperfuse

i am using the DWF and mostly run in SDR as i use it mainly for work.

i am totally not affected by the text fringing that what other youtubers talk about it. Cant even see it. I have used IPS, TN and VA monitors from 25 inch to ultrawide 34 inch displays. The text to me all look the same.

To me its not a side grade because the colors on the oled with the glossy panel wins all of my VA and IPS panels. I probably will never change back to a IPS panel since i am used to the contrast of the oled monitor. The super fast pixel transition makes me able to see how slow a VA panel pixel transition is.

And yes for DWF, Dell releasing a firmware upgrade soon in this month but it does not affect me as i dont play HDR games. HDR in youtube/netflix currently works fine in HDR 1000 or HDR True black mode. So no issues on HDR for my use case.

royfrosty

Not sure if should wait another year…

currently options are still limited for oled panel monitors.
Buy what you need. Every year new models will be out.

Current trend will be the OLED panels are gonna start replacing all the current high end VA and high end IPS panel.

All the current high end VA and IPS will make way and proceed to the lower end segment. Those HDR10 monitors all going for cheap now.

Those proper mini led HDR monitors are also probably gonna DOA once OLED become readily available.

So to me, buy what you think suites you and your budget.

To me I don't see the needs of an OLED now till it comes down further in price or enters mainstream. Which is likely another year or 2. Once that time has arrive, I will use my G3223Q as a secondary monitor.

sacredrays

mini led monitors still high prices and oled already beating in terms of value liao...

only clear advantage is mini led can go higher peak brightness.

if really want try oled and no need monitor right now, can just wait for more monitors to out first.

GotBetrayed

Not only limited option, but I think they are still in very early stage and yet cost a lot.
Yeah totally agree with you. My 2x 27GL850 is not high end but still is nano ips panel. Now the price of the oled monitors are crazy high no joke lol, and seems like got many issues.

Phen8210

Buy what you need. Every year new models will be out.

Current trend will be the OLED panels are gonna start replacing all the current high end VA and high end IPS panel.

All the current high end VA and IPS will make way and proceed to the lower end segment. Those HDR10 monitors all going for cheap now.

Those proper mini led HDR monitors are also probably gonna DOA once OLED become readily available.

So to me, buy what you think suites you and your budget.

To me I don't see the needs of an OLED now till it comes down further in price or enters mainstream. Which is likely another year or 2. Once that time has arrive, I will use my G3223Q as a secondary monitor.

Yeah.. if u buy OLED now pretty sure a better one will come out soon.. like much better.

For IPS at the stage where not much improvement can be made, they are just pushing the refresh rate to insane levels but that's also not a lacking factor in the first place.

So even if you have smth from 2 years back, there's no stuff in IPS range that is clearly an upgrade.

Phen8210

i am using the DWF and mostly run in SDR as i use it mainly for work.

i am totally not affected by the text fringing that what other youtubers talk about it. Cant even see it. I have used IPS, TN and VA monitors from 25 inch to ultrawide 34 inch displays. The text to me all look the same.

To me its not a side grade because the colors on the oled with the glossy panel wins all of my VA and IPS panels. I probably will never change back to a IPS panel since i am used to the contrast of the oled monitor. The super fast pixel transition makes me able to see how slow a VA panel pixel transition is.

And yes for DWF, Dell releasing a firmware upgrade soon in this month but it does not affect me as i dont play HDR games. HDR in youtube/netflix currently works fine in HDR 1000 or HDR True black mode. So no issues on HDR for my use case.

For me cannot la.. sometimes the IDE for my coding or w/e editing software UI/ word is already so small for an ant to see, the fringing just makes it worse. The backwards type of software, very facepalm one.

But not really the monitor problem, is windows just lazy to implement a cleartype for it.. where mac has implemented it.

Like if you apply clear type properly sure can see the difference, if not you really is cockeye (no offense).

hyperfuse

For me cannot la.. sometimes the IDE for my coding or w/e editing software UI/ word is already so small for an ant to see, the fringing just makes it worse. The backwards type of software, very facepalm one.

But not really the monitor problem, is windows just lazy to implement a cleartype for it.. where mac has implemented it.

Like if you apply clear type properly sure can see the difference, if not you really is cockeye (no offense).

no la not cockeye. i have friends who are using the DW and DWF and also the fringing is not noticeable to them. Depends on how sensitive one eyes is to the fringing.

I am perfect eyesight. Dont even affect me at all. For those who can detect fringing, i feel sorry for them. :)

hyperfuse

I use my new samsung s23 ultra to take a pic of my alienware.

text on a note pad and on hwz.

i know if u use phone camera and take a pic directly on the monitor, will see some reflection or refresh rate difference that will cause some color halo-ing effect but to be honest in real life, i dont see any color fringing at all to be honest.

I mean from the pics here, do u see color fringing? text looks the same as my ips or va panels. i own multiple monitors. i use this alienware monitor for work, type alot of emails documents etc. Never even affect me one bit like how some people claim it does. Maybe those people super sensitive.

*in reality, i see it much clearer than what these pictures depict. Text on my notepad is crisp and clean with no color fringing at the text at all. somemore i put my s23 ultra like 5 to 10 cm away from my monitor and take this pic. even if u can see fringing in this pic, is that a big deal? most wont even bother, probably have to go super near to see the pixels lor.

Point being is this qd oled is my best ever monitor i own. from all my past TN, IPS and VA panels, the colors on this beats all of them. The pixel transition speeds makes it instantaneous with no ghosting effect. brightness level also very good for me. i use mainly in SDR mode most of the times and my brightness not even 100 percent. i think i set to 90 and its bright enough. QD oled > brighter than OLED.

test1.jpg

test2.jpg

Phen8210

Well, for people that use ClearType on their monitors, there's a massive difference when you enable it on a supported panel vs one that doesn't. My guess is most people don't set it.

Even with my potato camera, it's already quite obvious, and more obvious IRL. This is just an illustration.

ClearType On vs ClearType OFF
1676353110509.png

ClearType OFF vs ClearType ON
1676353889731.png

Don't have to pixel peep to tell that it's just much clearer with ClearType.

The default ClearType setting does not suit all pixel arrangements, need to manually set it.

Once you set it anything that is uncalibrated will be very obvious.

got try adjusting cleartype text in windows?
It does not support the OLED pixel arrangement currently.

hyperfuse

test1.jpg

i have use cleartype on my alienware aw3423dwf. this above pic is with cleartype on. its even clearer in reality. So where is the text fringing that people say there is?

I really confuse because from this picture already cant see it, in real life its even clearer than this. So how will this claim of "text fringing in QD oled" gives people bad text ? It looks perfectly fine for me. Looks exactly same as my 1440P IPS or VA panel.

The difference with this monitor and my other ips and VA panel is the glossy panel + infinite contrast. Blacks looks real black. No IPS glow like how even the best IPS monitor has. Put beside an IPS monitor and its so much difference.

sacredrays

Well, for people that use ClearType on their monitors, there's a massive difference when you enable it on a supported panel vs one that doesn't. My guess is most people don't set it.

Even with my potato camera, it's already quite obvious, and more obvious IRL. This is just an illustration.

ClearType On vs ClearType OFF
View attachment 38157

ClearType OFF vs ClearType ON
View attachment 38160

Don't have to pixel peep to tell that it's just much clearer with ClearType.

The default ClearType setting does not suit all pixel arrangements, need to manually set it.

Once you set it anything that is uncalibrated will be very obvious.

It does not support the OLED pixel arrangement currently.
i mean when u enable and follow through the calibration steps.. is it that bad?

GotBetrayed

Wa Samsung g8 oled price can buy 2x Alienware aw3423 dwf. Any experts here to justify the price diff?

royfrosty

Anyone experience dell delivery? Mine says today from 7am to 5pm. But like till now no one leh. Sad

Deceased

Wa Samsung g8 oled price can buy 2x Alienware aw3423 dwf. Any experts here to justify the price diff?
I still prefer g8 due to the following:
- built in PD port (I prefer clean desk so a single cable to charge/display laptop is good although I would like a higher output)
- built in speakers (my desk not so big so I would appreciate not needing to put extra peripherals on the desk)
- external power supply (fanless means no coil whine issues although the power supply is humongous)
- back design (I prefer this design and the rgb circle)

one thing that puts me off is their port selections so I’m not sure if I want to get this or wait for the Philips evnia one.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.