Surge Protector

gallagher

i bought APC surge arrest

but when someone switch off their fan or wadever lights in their room of living room

while playing dota2, the whole system will halt for 1-2 sec then resume back...zzz why ar?

anyone also same?

limster

i bought APC surge arrest

but when someone switch off their fan or wadever lights in their room of living room

while playing dota2, the whole system will halt for 1-2 sec then resume back...zzz why ar?

anyone also same?

Does your modem/router also freeze/reset? modem router is more sensitive than PC PSU.

If your modem/router is ok but your PC is the one freezing, then maybe your PC PSU something wrong.

Surge arresters only protects against "high voltage", like 400v. If your household power reaches 300v, it is not considered a 'surge' even though it can cause temporary problems to your PC ..... see: http://www.extremetech.com/computing/50086-surge-suppressors-anatomy-lesson

gallagher

Does your modem/router also freeze/reset? modem router is more sensitive than PC PSU.

If your modem/router is ok but your PC is the one freezing, then maybe your PC PSU something wrong.

pc freeze, 1-2 sec........u know la, pc freeze, modem also cannot detect liao, everything will recover back 1-2 later

the whole dota 2 like hang 1-2 sec recover back those kind

sian really is PSU problem?

gallagher

i bought my APC Surge Arrest top floor at Funan Challenger 39.90 (non member fee)

starlust

i saw the belkin model with 7 sockets in one of the sls stores on 4th flr i think

~100+ iirc...stunned for a moment..

noted on laser. thanks.

soupyeyes

It's called a 'whole house' protector. Dumb simple and trivial science. Go to any electrical supply house. Ask for their 'whole house' protector. Then read what only matters. 1) It has a dedicated wire for the always required short connection to single point earth ground. 2) Is rated at least 50,000 amps so that 20,000 amp lightning strikes do not even harm the protector. 3) It mechanically fits.

I will never understand why that protector is so difficult when it is not that important. Requires so much discussion due to myths promoted by scam plug-in protectors. Unfotunately so many myths and outright lies were posted. Takes almost forever to unlearn them.

Your questions should have been endless about the important stuff. The *art*. Why ask about a simple dumb box that is less relevant? Posted again is a fact you are not grasping. If you think earthing is simple, then you did not yet read what was posted. If like me, you will not see anything thhis 'so' new until everything is read at least three times. Earthing is where the magic resided. Earthing - not a protector - is the confusing part.

Obviously you have a great deal of knowledge on this but your post is too cheem for someone who urgently requires a remedy. The first time my i7 series motherboard and cable modem were fried was right after a thunderstorm which tripped my circuit breaker. I had little idea then that a power surge was the cause as my computer's power point was turned off at the time. The second time it happened again I quickly caught on that the culprit was the lightning strike. (And they say light never strikes the same place twice.) After spending around $900 replacing the damaged components twice, I'm desperate to find a real solution. :(:(
I was thinking of getting a Belkin surge protector (Courts doesn't carry this pdt. any recommended retailer?) and was reassured by the Belkin technical support team that it could withstand lightning surges, but now after reading your post, I'm quite confused. :s22: :s22:
Can you be more specific or at least recommend a brand? Tia

westom

Can you be more specific or at least recommend a brand?
View spec numbers. Ask for a 'whole house' protector. Ignore brand names. Repeating again only what is relevant: 1) it must have a dedicated wire to make that all so important 'less than 3 meter' connection to earth. And 2) it must be rated at least 50,000 amps. Did the Belkin sales rep provide any numbers? Or discuss what is critical - earth ground? Of course not. He made subjective sales claims that are best ignored. Because he did not provide numbers.

Apparently you have assumed a protector does protection. No protector does protection. A protector is only a connecting device. Only effective when connected to something completely different - 'protection'.

Over 50% of your questions should be about the other item. Where do hundreds of thousands of joules dissipate? Protectors are simple science. The art is earthing. Only protectors with a short (ie 'less than 3 meter') connection to earth (the protection) will even discuss numbers. Inferior earthing means the world's best protector remains useless. Protection is about spec numbers and earthing. Not about brand names or magic boxes.

A lightning strike far down the street was a direct strike to your every household appliance. Was everything damage? To have damage means both an incoming and outgoing path exist - electricity as taught in primary school science. A best path to earth was incoming on AC mains, through a millimeters gap in the switch, through computer and modem, and then to earth via the coax cable. Cable was not the incoming path. Damage was probably on outgoing paths. A surge, incoming to every appliance, created damage on the outgoing side. Because a surge was all but invited to hunt for earth destructively inside the building. Only some appliances provided that earth connection.

Earth a 'whole house' protector so that lightning is not hunting inside. So that a shortest path to earth remains outside. Nothing (ie Belkin) will stop, block, or absorb a destructive surge. Either a surge is earthed outside. Or earthed destructively inside via appliances.

Facilities that can never have damage always earth a 'whole house' protector. Lightning is typically 20,000 amps. A minimally sufficient 'whole house' protector is 50,000 amps. No brand name defines 50,000 amps, 'less than 3 meters' or earth ground. As repeated often: numbers (not a brand name) are only important.

If you need a name, try Siemens, ABB, Clipsal, Keison, General Electric, Leviton, Eaton, Schneider Electric, Ditek, Novaris, Erico, or Protection Group (Polyphaser). Companies with reputations obviously superior to Belkin.

Protection means every incoming utility wire connects to earth BEFORE entering a building. Best protection means no protector. Best protection is a short wire to earth (ie cable modem, satellite dish). Other utility cables (AC electric, telephone) make a 'so short' connection via a 'whole house' protector. The protector is only doing what a wire would do better. More important, proven solutions connect surges to single point earth ground. Spend most time and labor on what actually defines protection - absorbs energy - earthing. Earth ground also has no brand name. And is also defined by other important numbers.

invisible.hippo

This kind of multiplug
FUL1_F9E600sg.jpg

compared to

DSCN3862.JPG

what will be different be without those on/off socket, can i off those plugless switch?

sghubert

In UK...I bought a very normal 2x 4-way extension power strip for only £8. Here is so expensive...damn should have brought it back...some more its not from a mama shop...its from a shopping mall shop...not sure you guys know clas ohlsen...next round I am there i can bring some back

Sinkukree

No, some days ago i have also bought one APC surge arrest, but fortunately it is working properly.

luongtd1

I just dont know what is wrong with my surge protector. Connect my pc, speaker, lcd to a belkin concealed surge protector. I usually do not turn off the power point from the wall but turn off the surge protector (which connect to the wall) only. Come b from a holiday. Turn on the button on the surge protector. The thing burst immediately :( causing the main fuse of the power line turn off. After turn it back on, luckily nothing is fired. Anyone can give an advice as what happened. Really scared of this situation. May consider buying a UPS for future use.

limster

In UK...I bought a very normal 2x 4-way extension power strip for only £8. Here is so expensive...damn should have brought it back...some more its not from a mama shop...its from a shopping mall shop...not sure you guys know clas ohlsen...next round I am there i can bring some back

IKEA selling 3 way 2m with LED switches for $7.90, I bought a few.

Carrefour I believe currently selling 4 way 3m for $9.90.

For most usage, I think the $7.90 IKEA extension is more than enough (I have had no problems with them). However, there is a difference in build quality compared to expensive extension strips.

I use MK plugs for my home theatre equipment whereas PC I just use stock power cords. Having wired up myself MK plugs and cheap $1 plugs, I can see that the MK plugs have better build quality.
mk_toughplug.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.