Tabletop Ice Makers

kevinlimse

Do you have a tabletop ice maker? How is it in terms of durability?

i bought one 'hicon' brand one, but (the compressor) broke down in two weeks. had to go through tonnes of trouble, bot replies and bohchup sellers, talking to shopee etc, just to get it sent back, scared already...
i need ice water daily to beat the heat, so im still looking for a good set for small apartment
so far the only legit looking local warranty one is hydroflux cube, anyone who owns one can advice?

dreadknight

buy more ice trays first? way cheaper.

well, when i'm staying alone in the future, i'll buy a chest freezer to supplement the basic fridge. to store my food and make clear ice cubes using the insulated chest method.
they say clear ice last longer

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
buy more ice trays first? way cheaper.

well, when i'm staying alone in the future, i'll buy a chest freezer to supplement the basic fridge. to store my food and make clear ice cubes using the insulated chest method.
they say clear ice last longer
u not even 35 yo alrd mehh? :o

tomsss

Do you have a tabletop ice maker? How is it in terms of durability?

i bought one 'hicon' brand one, but (the compressor) broke down in two weeks. had to go through tonnes of trouble, bot replies and bohchup sellers, talking to shopee etc, just to get it sent back, scared already...
i need ice water daily to beat the heat, so im still looking for a good set for small apartment
so far the only legit looking local warranty one is hydroflux cube, anyone who owns one can advice?
your apartment no fridge wan har

you stay rental room is it

you Universal Soldier or wat, need ice water to cool down daily
images

dreadknight

u not even 35 yo alrd mehh? :o
i'm just waiting for my 2rm BTO .
choose already, just need to sign lease agreement and wait 3-4 years.
i see the project, i choose already 6th floor.

i know what appliances i want already.
RN my mother dominate 2 regular sized fridge with her hoarding ways. she still has prawn/rojak paste from 5 years ago.
all i have is 1 week worth of food for chai png style of cooking, veggies have to buy every 2 days.

when we had the big fridge plus small fridge, i make chili con carne freeze half in smaller portions, the other half consume in 3 days.
other dish i usually make to freeze is japanese vegetable curry, borscht, indian dhal curry.

kevinlimse

Renting 2rm HDB, so cannot accomodate those big fridge with ice maker
Small fridge so putting a jug inside means less space for other things
Im those type cannot tahan heat, my method is to fill up a vacuum flask with ice, let it slowly melt so whole day got ice cold water
Somemore, I don't WFH or work in aircon office with pantry, ice to me is important.
Ice tray is what im using now, the downside is need to freeze overnight for the ice to fully form, the table top ice maker can produce a good amount within the hour, plus its a daily requirement for me
Same reason for me to buy a washing machine, to help me save time and energy on a daily basis

There is such a product in the market, about the size of a rice cooker, the ice come out same as kopitiam ice, but tiagong easy spoil so dun dare to buy replacement

I sweat buckets, maybe some genetic mutation or smth. srsly not made for tropical weather. I wear tshirt jeans in 10 degree weather comfortably, and I get weird stares by the ang mohs in europe.
rlly envy those ppl can wear thick fleece turtle neck sweater outdoors in SG

dreadknight

Renting 2rm HDB, so cannot accomodate those big fridge with ice maker
Small fridge so putting a jug inside means less space for other things
Im those type cannot tahan heat, my method is to fill up a vacuum flask with ice, let it slowly melt so whole day got ice cold water
Somemore, I don't WFH or work in aircon office with pantry, ice to me is important.
Ice tray is what im using now, the downside is need to freeze overnight for the ice to fully form, the table top ice maker can produce a good amount within the hour, plus its a daily requirement for me
Same reason for me to buy a washing machine, to help me save time and energy on a daily basis

There is such a product in the market, about the size of a rice cooker, the ice come out same as kopitiam ice, but tiagong easy spoil so dun dare to buy replacement

I sweat buckets, maybe some genetic mutation or smth. srsly not made for tropical weather. I wear tshirt jeans in 10 degree weather comfortably, and I get weird stares by the ang mohs in europe.
rlly envy those ppl can wear thick fleece turtle neck sweater outdoors in SG

get the ice machine since you are renting the apartment.
compared to ordering ice and using a decent insulated box, you will probably break even in 3-4 months.

i have an idea for you to avoid topping up the machine at all.
buy some Reverse osmosis/counter top filters attachments that either T-off from under the counter or attach to the end of your kitchen faucet.
then you can clamp a feed water tube into the inside of the ice maker and let it drip feed.
to avoid bugs from entering the ice maker, line clean towels along the lid to cover the gap made by the feed tube.
if you adjust the feed water just right, you never need to top up water during the day.

cosmothecat

Be careful of these low efficiency compressors, your electric bill will shoot through the roof

buy those larger fridge with inverter compressor system

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.