Taipei 4D3N F&E

lweegp

hi everyone,

my first trip to taipei after like 15yrs gap.

need to find out if it's better to change NTD here or in taipei? are there any ATMs in Taipei where I can withdraw cash in case of emergency? Will be using a Stand Chart ATM card.

will be staying in Shin-Lin area but I heard Shin-Lin standard has dropped tremendously and more popular ones are Raohe, Ning Xia? Any good recommendations?

also any hotspring to recommend in beitou? many thanks in advance :)

twosix

Read the exchange thead on how to get the best. If change s$ directly to nt$, the rates are not fantastic.

Shilin has moved into a building, which I dun find fantastic. But there are still many stores and shops around shilin, so you can still go. Raohe and ningxia are my favorite. I go ningxia to eat oyster egg and sesame oil kidney and mee sua. Also mala pig blood soup. Ningxia is a small nm though. Raohe is much bigger. I go there to eat the medicinal pork ribs and pepper bun. Also those cheap western food and ice jelly.

lweegp

many thanks twosix, what about shopping in the nm? heard the stalls there sell some "branded" stuffs? or wu fen pu is better?

Zze121

Covered 西门町,师大,临江(通化), 饶河,淡水,宁夏,士林 - 夜市, among all 宁夏 is the shortest street with only makan stalls, 淡水,临江 and 士林 worth going.

鼎泰丰 at 永康 street seriously dun waste time, Smoothie House 思慕昔本館 behind the same street worth a try.

I like the walk from 101 to 微風信義 ,誠品信義店 , that place is very nice.

Zze121

In winter now, sunset at about 5pm, most of the shops example 士林 I went they open ard 3pm till 12mn, anyway 捷运 last train around 12mn.
淡水 I went on weekend about noon time,and those shops are open liao, if take to 渔人码头 note the last boat is 8pm, daytime there nothing much.
Evening at 淡水 is very nice, watching sunset st 5pm along the cycling path eating the 花枝 which is the fried soton or cattlefish.

Zze121

Found this on utube, it was at 信義威秀人行街 near 101 you find ppl singing along the street, i din see any star there tho.:D

Vegitto

Covered 西门町,师大,临江(通化), 饶河,淡水,宁夏,士林 - 夜市, among all 宁夏 is the shortest street with only makan stalls, 淡水,临江 and 士林 worth going.

鼎泰丰 at 永康 street seriously dun waste time, Smoothie House 思慕昔本館 behind the same street worth a try.

I like the walk from 101 to 微風信義 ,誠品信義店 , that place is very nice.

I think i rather go to the ding tai feng branch near zhongshan station..at least the queue is shorter :s13:
Yongkang st one queue too long

dede1217

I think i rather go to the ding tai feng branch near zhongshan station..at least the queue is shorter :s13:

went before the one at zhongshan, is at the sogo building ...
no queue, we waited about 5min to be called to go into the restaurant ...
the staff asked if we were from singapore ...
think they experienced in guessing the essence ...

we were brought to an area, whereby people surrounding us seems to be mostly tourists. ang moh, hong kong people, china people ....

twosix

DTF taste the same here and there. For better xlb, I'd recommend 杭州小籠湯包. Much cheaper and taste much better.

Zze121

The food taste the same.
Queue was long with many tourist coming to 永康 outlet, if willing to share table it could be much faster on waiting time.
But if only has 3 days, better to skip this place.

Vegitto

DTF taste the same here and there. For better xlb, I'd recommend 杭州小籠湯包. Much cheaper and taste much better.

okie thanks! hope i can remember this when i go taiwan :s12:

lweegp

杭州小籠湯包
457 Google reviews
中餐馆
Address: No. 19, Section 2, Hangzhou S Rd, Da’an District, Taipei City, Taiwan 106
Phone: +886 2 2393 1757
Hours: Open today · 11AM–11PM

twosix

杭州小籠湯包
457 Google reviews
中餐馆
Address: No. 19, Section 2, Hangzhou S Rd, Da’an District, Taipei City, Taiwan 106
Phone: +886 2 2393 1757
Hours: Open today · 11AM–11PM

Besides xlb, their guo tie is also nice.

msker1

金峰魯肉飯 is yummy if you like fatty pork :s22:

馬辣 for steamboat buffet with lots of seafood, beer and haegen daz icecream. they have alot of branches in taipei.

twosix

金峰 is nice. Can spot many japanese with guidebooks there. But their attitude can be quite bad sometimes. The food is slightly more salty but taste nice. i'd usually order additional egg and tofu.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.