Taiwan noob!

purplebanana

hey guys, i'll be going to taiwan in oct.. 8 days. anyone got any must-go places to intro? my folks are going tgt, so i'm looking at eating and SOME sight-seeing places for them..

other than taipei, any other cities recommended for me to go? my friend say ken-ding scenery not bad..? how about kaosiung or taizhung?

thanks all in advanced!

Gixxerfied

1st time?

if yes then wana venture out just go city like hualien for 3d2n then the rest at taipei..

dede1217

Think taipei you must plan carefully. cause some train timing only comes once every hour. If you missed it, you have to wait for an hour.

For example, train from ruifang to shifen comes every one hour. Plus the train journey itself is around 35 minutes. so must be carefully :)

Gixxerfied

Think taipei you must plan carefully. cause some train timing only comes once every hour. If you missed it, you have to wait for an hour.

For example, train from ruifang to shifen comes every one hour. Plus the train journey itself is around 35 minutes. so must be carefully :)

1hr is the norm for pingxi line..provided ts is going..the rest is normal interval..

taipei is probably the only place which is more forgiving if you miss any bus/train..

dede1217

1hr is the norm for pingxi line..provided ts is going..the rest is normal interval..

taipei is probably the only place which is more forgiving if you miss any bus/train..

yeah. some of their trains go different way, as in alight at different stations. Some train are 37 min, while the others are 52 min, but eventually will reach TMS station...

archapple

u like shopping? go tai zhong night market (feng jia ye shi), yi zhong jie, shop till you drop.
can also buy tai yang bing, pineapple tarts there very nice :)

You can go abit out of taipei, to jiufen old street, shifen for sky latern, nearby there is ye liu ( the place where u see queens head), jinguashi (well.. nothinig really fancies me here though, just the part where u got to experience gold mining and see the big gold bar, its very near to jiufen like 3mins bus ride only), can go to huang jing po bu nearby as well. this one not bad.
depending if you doing bus trip or cab.

if bus - ye liu > jin gua shi > jiu fen > keelung night market (note there is also some shops on the way to keelung night market, so u can allocate some time here to shop abit)
or
yeliu > jinguashi > jiufen > shifen

*shifen shop close quite early, i went there at about 8pm mostly started to close liao*

if cab - once you get off rueifang train station, got alot of cab there with some package on the places you can pick anyone you like. price is about $100SGD per cab( bring you to about 4 or 5 places i mentioned above)

i like Hua lien alot. More for sight seeing. I travelled with a cab uncle call Mr Lu. He made our trip really interesting :) If want PM me, i give you his contact. you can go ask him how much he charge now. i went like 3 years back.. so probably the rates are different now.

i went alishan as well. but hor.. i dont recommend. no pretty girls la.. i know the alishan song. but all of them become auntie liao la... and its so out of the way and quite boring.
unless you are a person who like trees. (personall opinion.. look like bukit timah hill) haha. the yun hai there is beautiful la.. but if you really want to go high up there.. i recommend you to go cingjing farm. so much more interesting.

Gixxerfied

u like shopping? go tai zhong night market (feng jia ye shi), yi zhong jie, shop till you drop.
can also buy tai yang bing, pineapple tarts there very nice :)

You can go abit out of taipei, to jiufen old street, shifen for sky latern, nearby there is ye liu ( the place where u see queens head), jinguashi (well.. nothinig really fancies me here though, just the part where u got to experience gold mining and see the big gold bar, its very near to jiufen like 3mins bus ride only), can go to huang jing po bu nearby as well. this one not bad.
depending if you doing bus trip or cab.

if bus - ye liu > jin gua shi > jiu fen > keelung night market (note there is also some shops on the way to keelung night market, so u can allocate some time here to shop abit)
or
yeliu > jinguashi > jiufen > shifen

*shifen shop close quite early, i went there at about 8pm mostly started to close liao*

if cab - once you get off rueifang train station, got alot of cab there with some package on the places you can pick anyone you like. price is about $100SGD per cab( bring you to about 4 or 5 places i mentioned above)

i like Hua lien alot. More for sight seeing. I travelled with a cab uncle call Mr Lu. He made our trip really interesting :) If want PM me, i give you his contact. you can go ask him how much he charge now. i went like 3 years back.. so probably the rates are different now.

i went alishan as well. but hor.. i dont recommend. no pretty girls la.. i know the alishan song. but all of them become auntie liao la... and its so out of the way and quite boring.
unless you are a person who like trees. (personall opinion.. look like bukit timah hill) haha. the yun hai there is beautiful la.. but if you really want to go high up there.. i recommend you to go cingjing farm. so much more interesting.

Probably more of other unforgettable memories.. :s13::s13:

purplebanana

hahahaha~ thanks! i'm looking at going to jiufen and shifen.. but dunno want to go kaosiung and kending anot... taichung's fengjia night market sounds fun!

i'm going 8D8N.. so thinking how to plan my trip.. you guys think taichung 1 night enough? or should i skip kending since it's sooooo far! lol~

fireworks79

hahahaha~ thanks! i'm looking at going to jiufen and shifen.. but dunno want to go kaosiung and kending anot... taichung's fengjia night market sounds fun!

i'm going 8D8N.. so thinking how to plan my trip.. you guys think taichung 1 night enough? or should i skip kending since it's sooooo far! lol~
u wont haf enough time for kenting wan

dede1217

Think jiufen and shifen you must travel early, cause ruifang is the mid point.
TMS to Ruifang to Jiufen or Shifen :)

calkel20

Unless u fly into kaohsiung and out of Taipei, if not, next trip ba.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.