Tampering of Odometer

Chalkycliffs

They have 3-4 lots spaces in the Commonwealth Ave branch. Was impressed with their office setup when doing the negotiation, signing, etc.

I would like to give them the benefits of the doubt that they weren't the ones who did the tampering. I think their namesake and goodwill is worth alot and would not do anything to defame them. Have asked them to investigate and revert back to me. I do not have any legal contract with seller though.

In the event that they are able to trace back to the seller (assuming the seller is the culprit), I would like them to seek to recover cost from the seller and for me to recover the same from them.

If a car looks too good, too clean and undamaged for its age, it is quite possible that a lot of repairs have been done to cover up issues.

Sometimes getting one that is a bit dented, will reflect a genuine article.

After all, it is almost impossible to get around Singapore without having a few bumbs and scrapes inflicted on your car.

whaleshark87

Just buy a obd II reader from US for 50plus USD, you can tweak whatever you want and like. :s13:

tennisball

They have 3-4 lots spaces in the Commonwealth Ave branch. Was impressed with their office setup when doing the negotiation, signing, etc.

I would like to give them the benefits of the doubt that they weren't the ones who did the tampering. I think their namesake and goodwill is worth alot and would not do anything to defame them. Have asked them to investigate and revert back to me. I do not have any legal contract with seller though.

In the event that they are able to trace back to the seller (assuming the seller is the culprit), I would like them to seek to recover cost from the seller and for me to recover the same from them.
yeah, they are big outfit at commonwealth.. they have lots tt just sells conti and sports cars further in... the big lot near the gate sells jap korean bnb cars...

reason for not being impressed by them was due to their handling of traded in cars.. very lax.. too lax for my liking.

HeadQuarters

I, recently, bought a second-hand car from InCarz of Commonwealth Avenue less then 2 months ago.

I sent it recently to the authorised dealer workshop today and found that the car's odometer had been adjusted from 140,000 in Sep-2012 (last service record) to about 60,000+ at point of purchase.

What are my options?

How old is the car huh?

zuoom

Always read about these sort of matters. Dun the laws n authority have something to say about this?

AL5509

Always read about these sort of matters. Dun the laws n authority have something to say about this?
What do you think?
My opionion if the law/authority intend to step in. We as drivers will not be hearing such incidents.
What I understand, the buyer of such incident often loss out with non-justify compensation; but of course many will demand what is reasonable?

walterwu

What do you think?
My opionion if the law/authority intend to step in. We as drivers will not be hearing such incidents.
What I understand, the buyer of such incident often loss out with non-justify compensation; but of course many will demand what is reasonable?

Consulted legal/expert advice.

It would seems that my options are more now. Main claim would be mis-representation from InCarz to me to entice me to buy. If InCarz is innocent of it, they can claim against the one that sold them that vehicle (back-to-back claim)

ralliart_ray

It would seems that my options are more now. Main claim would be mis-representation from InCarz to me to entice me to buy. If InCarz is innocent of it, they can claim against the one that sold them that vehicle (back-to-back claim)

claim what? how to quantify? :s11:

AL5509

The and so whatever truth that you are having.
May I get to understand from you what compensation are you looking at?
As mentioned, most compensation given is disappointing after all done even in your favour.

Am not trying to pour cold water rather I hope you get compensated the way you deserved.

Hence, do share with us what's done and achieved, will like to know more.

snipfer

engage lawyer = $6k-$10k up to infinite

must be able to prove $$$ loss due to the difference of 80k km clocked.
meaning at most - the dealer will just pay all the cost of replacing wear and tear parts should you win the case.

so far from I know the only success case of claiming total refund - a flooded car sold to a auntie, auntie sue gao gao and win, claiming back every cent.

I wont trust the odometer unless it's uncles' car or cars that are really hi end like S series or 7 series.

Just calculate on your own - 5 years x 20k (minimum) when buying used cars

AL5509

I sent it recently to the authorised dealer workshop today and found that the car's odometer had been adjusted from 140,000 in Sep-2012 (last service record) to about 60,000+ at point of purchase.

What are my options?

must be able to prove $$$ loss due to the difference of 80k km clocked.
meaning at most - the dealer will just pay all the cost of replacing wear and tear parts should you win the case.
Guess the debut will arise from the point the the car had been serviced at AD til 140,000km.
So there are a records of what had been changed accordingly thou.
Therefore the 'loss' due to the 80,000km may prove to be hard to justify.
However, lets wait for the outcome of it as i believe it is going to be alot time, effort and money spent to go thru this.
Will the compensation be what TS is looking for?
I wish him luck thou.

walterwu

Served them (InCarz) with letter today. They refuse to acknowledge receipt of letter.

Arrived at their office and asked to see their boss. Replied that boss is not in the office and out-for-lunch. Staff received letter and pass onto another lady. Straightway, she went to talk to boss in the same room within the same office. Interesting.

Chalkycliffs

Served them (InCarz) with letter today. They refuse to acknowledge receipt of letter.

Do an ACRA search for the company directors and name them directly in the letter.

A private lawsuit would probably be your only recourse for any compensation, unless SPF is willing to look into this case as a cheating situation.

Bringing up this matter with the media may also get things moving - bad press is always a no no for business, but your evidence must be watertight - any advertisement by the firm stating the mileage etc, will be able to put your case in a more favourable light.

Hope you will be able to keep us updated on how your case progresses.

Abletron001

Can ask a stupid question?

What is wrong with high mileage?

The taxi I drove is 3yrs old...mileage is 633,XXXkm..still very smooth ley and FC is very good.

ZhuTou!

The taxi I drove is 3yrs old...mileage is 633,XXXkm..still very smooth ley and FC is very good.

high mileage mainly is only have to replace wear and tear parts

but imagine this, if ur actual mileage is 100k and it was tampered to 20k, ur car is using timing belt instead of chain
timing belt major servicing is around 80k
so u see it as 20k now, still early to change
drive another 10k and the belt snapped

gg.com liao lor :o

ZhuTou!

another thing is...
when someone buy a car with this mileage with this price but end up the actual mileage is double/triple
he/she will feel the car not worth for that kind of price

its like paying restaurant price to eat maggi mee

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.