Taxi meter charge

beanstalk6

Cool cool. LTA has no authority over thai taxi ar haha. I used to like most ppl very calculative about meter or not until my thai friend said to me "even the driver charging a flat 100 baht instead of by meter say 60 baht, convert to SGD the difference only like SGD$1.60, however the additional money is helping to feed the driver's family. So why get so hot up over this?"

But i not saying we let the driver anyhow tok, jus tat we supposed to be on holiday mood, so at time we kena made to pay abit more, should jus laugh it off and move on.

Just my 2 bahts

Exactly. Why haggle over a few baht. Put in perspective, sometimes it does not come up to $2.

rVn_mUfC

I seldom bargain for clothes when I think the price is good already, too lazy to negotiate lol.
If a driver honestly do his work, most of the time I just ask him to keep my change anyway. While 100baht negotiated rate can be considered as "reasonable", most of the bad apple are actually asking for about 300 baht upfront which I feel is isn't right. So it's better for tourist to be aware of such stuff instead of succumbing 300 baht for such dishonesty act.

Azrielsc

I seldom bargain for clothes when I think the price is good already, too lazy to negotiate lol.
If a driver honestly do his work, most of the time I just ask him to keep my change anyway. While 100baht negotiated rate can be considered as "reasonable", most of the bad apple are actually asking for about 300 baht upfront which I feel is isn't right. So it's better for tourist to be aware of such stuff instead of succumbing 300 baht for such dishonesty act.

I perfectly understand too.

Was back in BKK a while ago and carrying my DSLR in a sling, together with my wife. Wanted a tut-tut ride and once the rider saw me, immediately quoted 300baht. :)

My wife, who is Thai, immediately told him off. Final fee was 70baht to bring us to a place about 5 mins away. :)

yeobt

I perfectly understand too.

Was back in BKK a while ago and carrying my DSLR in a sling, together with my wife. Wanted a tut-tut ride and once the rider saw me, immediately quoted 300baht. :)

My wife, who is Thai, immediately told him off. Final fee was 70baht to bring us to a place about 5 mins away. :)

hmm...maybe i should get a thai wife too. :s13:

brownies

Take the express train can reach pratunam fastest, avoiding all the jam.

BeCos we have 5 of us that's why I'm thinking to take cab. Glow pratunum charge 1600B for a van with max 6 pax. That's why I would like to know the market rate if I get a cab

dede1217

BeCos we have 5 of us that's why I'm thinking to take cab. Glow pratunum charge 1600B for a van with max 6 pax. That's why I would like to know the market rate if I get a cab

cab is 400-500B to pratunam area from international airport ;)

holidayforever

Just take 2 cabs lor, u have 5 people, the luggages can fit into 1 cab meh?

Azrielsc

you want take tuk tuk from airport to hotel lol :)

Take tut-tut and go round the whole of Thailand still cheaper than having a wife, regardless of nationality! :)

cab is 400-500B to pratunam area from international airport ;)

Yup, about 1000baht (S$41) for 2 taxi.

Or if you would rather have the whole group to be together, for fun/safety reasons, etc, you can just pay for the van and relax. 1600baht (S$65).

Comparable rates to: Suvarnabhumi Airport

wolfberries

we went with 5 ppl, i took a big cab for 700B from Ap to pratunam.
normal cab is 500B if i'm not wrong.

Hihi. Guess on way back to airport ull be getting the big cab ya?

What cab company izzit?

I guess ill hae to arrange with hotel to help mi call.
4ppl with many bags. Haa.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.