Taylor Swift buys back first six albums in shocking move: 'You belong with me'

Cowbellc

After years of turmoil around the ownership of her catalog, Swift made a massive business move.

Taylor Swift at the 67th GRAMMY Awards held at the Crypto.com Arena on February 2, 2025 in Los Angeles, California

Taylor Swift at the 67th Grammy Awards.Credit: Gilbert Flores/Billboard

After years of drama surrounding the ownership of Taylor Swift's music catalog, the Midnights and Tortured Poets Department superstar made a surprise announcement to her fans who have been closely tracking the turmoil.

In a stunning business move, Swift bought back her first six albums. Posting a photo of herself surrounded by the vinyl editions of these titles, she wrote, "You belong with me." She then published a lengthy letter to her official website in which she stated, "All the music I've ever made...now belongs...to me."

"To say this is my greatest dream come true is actually being pretty reserved about it," Swift writes in the letter. "To my fans, you know how important this has been to me — so much so that I meticulously re-recorded and released 4 of my albums, calling them Taylor's Version. the passionate support you showed those albums and the success story you turned The Eras Tour into is why I was able to buy back my music. I can't thank you enough fro helping to reunite me with this art that I have dedicated my life to, but have never owned until now."

She continued, "All I've ever wanted was the opportunity to work hard enough to be able to one day purchase my music outright with no strings attached, no partnership, with full autonomy. I will be forever grateful to everyone at Shamrock Capital for being the first people to ever offer this to me. the way they've handled every interaction we've had has been honest, fair, and respectful. This was a business deal to them, but I really felt like they saw it for what it was to me: My memories and my sweat and my handwriting and my decades of dreams. I am endlessly thankful. My first tattoo might just be a huge shamrock in the middle of my forehead."

But, wait! What about the Taylor's Version of Reputation? Swift released her re-recording of the revenge track to that album, "Look What You Made Me Do," as part of the final season of The Handmaid's Tale. Is the rest of it now finished?

Swift has an answer for that, too. "Full transparency: I haven't even re-recorded a quarter of it," she writes. "The Reputation album was so specific to that time in my life, and I kept hitting a stopping point when I tried to remake it. All that defiance, that longing to be understood while feeling purposely misunderstood, that desperate hope, that shame-born snarl and mischief. To be perfectly honest, it's the one album in those first 6 that I thought couldn't be improved upon by redoing it. Not the music, or photos, or videos. So I kept putting it off."

She confirms, "There will be a time (if you're into the idea) for the unreleased vault tracks from that album to hatch. I've already completely re-recorded my entire debut album, and I really love how it sounds now. Those 2 albums can still have their moments to re-emerge when the time is right, if that would be something you guys would be excited about. But if it happens, it won't be from a place of sadness and longing for what I wish I could have. It will just be a celebration now."

It's been a tremendously long journey for Swift. The rights to her discography were first sold against her will by Big Machine Records in 2019, which then prompted her to issue re-recordings of those albums. But she never lost sight of her main goal, which was to reclaim ownership of her own work.

Taylor Swift performs onstage during the Taylor Swift | The Eras Tour

Taylor Swift performs on The Eras Tour in Seattle. Credit Mat Hayward/TAS23/Getty Images for TAS Rights Management

https://ew.com/taylor-swift-buys-ba...xjCS6HOlehKuMz3yZQ_aem_0gQKeG5RBwUdYdqODw0Jxw

not surprised. 王心凌 also buy back her own catalog of songs.

uselessbum

I don't find it shocking. I believe many singers would like to buy back the rights to their own songs if they could, especially after they have made it to the big time.

:(

dontwastetime

Exactly. Now no need to pay license fee for her tour, unless she go sing MJ song. Win win for her and her record companies.

I discovered her in 2008 before she went mega, so I know her character well.

she probably overpaid. Need ERAs tour then can pay? Siao..

First her ego is overblown. Many singers only buy back when they no longer relevant hence a better deal. She buy at her peak ? Wont be cheap

Shes kinda kum gong,
To avoid license fees, SHE should have bot BEFORE eras tour with low interest loan first. (banks will do that for her)

Hope there's some backend deal which she got it cheaply, we will never know.

Asy1um

I discovered her in 2008 before she went mega, so I know her character well.

she probably overpaid. Need ERAs tour then can pay? Siao..

First her ego is overblown. Many singers only buy back when they no longer relevant hence a better deal. She buy at her peak ? Wont be cheap

Shes kinda kum gong,
To avoid license fees, SHE should have bot BEFORE eras tour with low interest loan first. (banks will do that for her)

Hope there's some backend deal which she got it cheaply, we will never know.
Yea probably at peak but not ERAs tour peak, chances are she already find out the price and committed to buy it thus start ERAs tour to fund it?

popdod

My mom saw her on TV (when she was in SG) and said in Hokkien, "Wah, this angmozharbor jin dua kian (i.e. tall and big sized)!"

then u never tell ur mom

“Boh lah mother , Si ni eh kia jin sway jia!!”

:(

Kiwi8

After years of turmoil around the ownership of her catalog, Swift made a massive business move.

Taylor Swift at the 67th GRAMMY Awards held at the Crypto.com Arena on February 2, 2025 in Los Angeles, California

After years of drama surrounding the ownership of Taylor Swift's music catalog, the Midnights and Tortured Poets Department superstar made a surprise announcement to her fans who have been closely tracking the turmoil.

In a stunning business move, Swift bought back her first six albums. Posting a photo of herself surrounded by the vinyl editions of these titles, she wrote, "You belong with me." She then published a lengthy letter to her official website in which she stated, "All the music I've ever made...now belongs...to me."

"To say this is my greatest dream come true is actually being pretty reserved about it," Swift writes in the letter. "To my fans, you know how important this has been to me — so much so that I meticulously re-recorded and released 4 of my albums, calling them Taylor's Version. the passionate support you showed those albums and the success story you turned The Eras Tour into is why I was able to buy back my music. I can't thank you enough fro helping to reunite me with this art that I have dedicated my life to, but have never owned until now."

She continued, "All I've ever wanted was the opportunity to work hard enough to be able to one day purchase my music outright with no strings attached, no partnership, with full autonomy. I will be forever grateful to everyone at Shamrock Capital for being the first people to ever offer this to me. the way they've handled every interaction we've had has been honest, fair, and respectful. This was a business deal to them, but I really felt like they saw it for what it was to me: My memories and my sweat and my handwriting and my decades of dreams. I am endlessly thankful. My first tattoo might just be a huge shamrock in the middle of my forehead."

But, wait! What about the Taylor's Version of Reputation? Swift released her re-recording of the revenge track to that album, "Look What You Made Me Do," as part of the final season of The Handmaid's Tale. Is the rest of it now finished?

Swift has an answer for that, too. "Full transparency: I haven't even re-recorded a quarter of it," she writes. "The Reputation album was so specific to that time in my life, and I kept hitting a stopping point when I tried to remake it. All that defiance, that longing to be understood while feeling purposely misunderstood, that desperate hope, that shame-born snarl and mischief. To be perfectly honest, it's the one album in those first 6 that I thought couldn't be improved upon by redoing it. Not the music, or photos, or videos. So I kept putting it off."

She confirms, "There will be a time (if you're into the idea) for the unreleased vault tracks from that album to hatch. I've already completely re-recorded my entire debut album, and I really love how it sounds now. Those 2 albums can still have their moments to re-emerge when the time is right, if that would be something you guys would be excited about. But if it happens, it won't be from a place of sadness and longing for what I wish I could have. It will just be a celebration now."

It's been a tremendously long journey for Swift. The rights to her discography were first sold against her will by Big Machine Records in 2019, which then prompted her to issue re-recordings of those albums. But she never lost sight of her main goal, which was to reclaim ownership of her own work.

Taylor Swift performs on The Eras Tour in Seattle. Credit Mat Hayward/TAS23/Getty Images for TAS Rights Management

https://ew.com/taylor-swift-buys-ba...xjCS6HOlehKuMz3yZQ_aem_0gQKeG5RBwUdYdqODw0Jxw

The previous copyright holders all huat liao since they can tok Taylor for buying back her songs.

yperic

With the copyright of her song back in her she can earn till siao liao lor. :ROFLMAO:

Joseph12

Why?

When she re recorded her songs again , all the old songs are useless
It's not like the old version featured her duet with Beatles

And she must have paid few hundred million for it cos Shamrock didn't pay few hundred million and sell to her for 5 million

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.