xoxomatcha

Some info -
Yearly deduction: $1.8k
Monthly: $150
25 years pruflexicash endowment plan
Image of my BI: https://ibb.co/g4vLytL

STORY:

* In 2015, opened a UOB savings account to save up since I started working.
* Got a call from this agent (X) and told me that she has a plan to share with me to increase my savings.
* Met her and signed up for the policy without reading and enquiring more because I was fixated on the total returns and she seems nice and genuine. Partly my fault here but don’t have to emphasize that, I know. All i wanted was a savings plan to help better grow my money than putting in the bank
(X was so cheery looking when I saw her for the second to settle the deduction and now I know why)

WHY I ONLY REALISED AFTER 4 YEARS

* Was working full time and had no problem paying for the premium from Feb 2019-Feb2020 as I switched to part time jobs and had difficulties paying on the 4th year, that’s when I approached her for advice
* Took out $1000 from cash benefit but it lasted for only 6 months so on Sep 2019, I approached her again telling her that i would want to terminate my policy but she of course said otherwise saying will affect interest and all and said that i could withdraw the cash benefit i have , around $2k to sustain for the next 1.5 years.

weird cos she told me on feb 2019 that it’s best to withdraw minimum sum if there is no choice which is $1k for the sake of interest which i did so and on sep 2019, she told me i can use all of my cash benefit but will affect interest (this i know) after i told her i want to terminate my policy. this is when i feel like i can’t trust her anymore cos her advices don’t line up but whatever this is not the point.
having that doubt, i went to check my document and realized that it’s not a savings plan and yes projected returns is higher than what u gonna be paying for. the only guaranteed is my principle .. in half, which is $26k when i paid for $44k in the span on 25 years

this is not what i wanted initially and the agent sold me the wrong plan. i had already terminated the policy and had a loss of about $4k close to $5k.
the surrender value i gotten is only $3k.

anyway, i’m just sharing my experiences here so that people know what they are in for when they are introduced to this policy.

i won’t stop u from continuing the plan cos it’s your choice but just weigh your options and see if you can take the loss after 25 years. i am also not bashing the company and the agent but rather the way she sold the policy to me and how she dont understand my needs before selling a plan i don’t need. it’s also my fault for not reading up before committing.

i have already terminated my policy and will not harp on this but concentrate on putting my money elsewhere for better growth.

didn’t bother telling my agent about this and she didn’t say anything about it either.
not sure if she is not notified yet or what , but her service is meh ~

harbinger255

To be fair.... It's not a confirmed loss after 25 years... You can actually get the projected amount... Just that it's still a sh1tty product considering the risk.

xoxomatcha

Yes i understand that portion.
It is hard for me to come to this decision too.
But even as I was speaking to the Pru CS, they also say it’s projected and no guarantees either.

maumu

actually I can empathise with your story.

it's true, some UOB bankers/agents are very aggressive when promoting such products (including mine). can see their face change (between happy/unhappy) when we say yes/no to their recommendations.

every meeting will take opportunity to sell this, sell that.

but at the end of the day, the onus is on us to stand our ground and understand the product well enough before signing or walking away. sometimes the product is really suitable and they helped to crystallize the outcome for us. so you must be very clear minded when you meet your banker. don't get swayed. now got 14-day free look 'protection' too, so always check that you are satisfied with the terms.

endowment plans... is really a long-term game. cannot easily give up halfway (imagine all the surrendered plans - how much is prudential reaping from the person?).

xoxomatcha

actually I can empathise with your story.

it's true, some UOB bankers/agents are very aggressive when promoting such products (including mine). can see their face change (between happy/unhappy) when we say yes/no to their recommendations.

every meeting will take opportunity to sell this, sell that.

but at the end of the day, the onus is on us to stand our ground and understand the product well enough before signing or walking away. sometimes the product is really suitable and they helped to crystallize the outcome for us. so you must be very clear minded when you meet your banker. don't get swayed. now got 14-day free look 'protection' too, so always check that you are satisfied with the terms.

endowment plans... is really a long-term game. cannot easily give up halfway (imagine all the surrendered plans - how much is prudential reaping from the person?).

Yes, I wasn’t well versed with policies and stuff so this agent got me.
I was swayed by the total returns and didn’t enquire much before signing.
thought that it is just another savings plan.

Well, the pru cs classified it is sort of savings plan but then she work for pru, so idk how much to trust her. but she doesn’t even seem shocked when i requested to terminate.
guess it’s pretty common?

Bet the company earn a lot already, wonder how they sleep at night.

Also,no message from agent after I terminated the policy,
Can see that all she want is to earn commission :)

Again won’t say that one don’t entirely buy endowment plan, but more like i don’t encourage people to do so.

Value.Matrix

Yes, I wasn’t well versed with policies and stuff so this agent got me.
I was swayed by the total returns and didn’t enquire much before signing.
thought that it is just another savings plan.

Well, the pru cs classified it is sort of savings plan but then she work for pru, so idk how much to trust her. but she doesn’t even seem shocked when i requested to terminate.
guess it’s pretty common?

Bet the company earn a lot already, wonder how they sleep at night.

Also,no message from agent after I terminated the policy,
Can see that all she want is to earn commission :)

Again won’t say that one don’t entirely buy endowment plan, but more like i don’t encourage people to do so.

Should have approached me to get up to 15% more surrender value. But yep as long as you made your decision.

havetheveryfun

To be fair.... It's not a confirmed loss after 25 years... You can actually get the projected amount... Just that it's still a sh1tty product considering the risk.

25 years is too long for an endowment plan with that kind of returns. Might as well top up CPF SA instead.

SBC

I am half-way through my PruFlexCash 15-year.

Monthly premium is over 1k.

xoxomatcha

Monthly 1k
Yearly 12k

Need to Tong for another 7.5 years. Jin siong.

Are you serious bro?
Wah you just sponsored your agent’s next trip to Italy leh.

Jiayou ba, think if you surrender, the loss confirm is 10x my loss

SBC

Are you serious bro?
Wah you just sponsored your agent’s next trip to Italy leh.

Jiayou ba, think if you surrender, the loss confirm is 10x my loss

Got free mini IPad during sign up.

Paying via UOB One card. Hopefully this will improve my return.

xoxomatcha

Got free mini IPad during sign up.

Paying via UOB One card. Hopefully this will improve my return.

Ah. It’s the ipad again.
You ask your agent if it helps to pay by UOB one card?
Idk about this either but it feels like it helps a bit with the rebate rewards and stuff

Time to utilize your agent and bombard her with questions

SBC

It does help with the 5% cash rebate.

Now trying to pay ahead. Intent to switch to yearly premium to have some saving.

nyl3v3

How about PruSave? Is it worth keeping? I have another AIA smart sth. I can’t rmb. It’s around 100-150 per month for both. Dumb enough, gotten them both because of friends who were working as agents. (Now all gone)

Should have approached me to get up to 15% more surrender value. But yep as long as you made your decision.

Hey Value.Matrix. Am I able to send you a pm asking for your advice and if quote for surrender value? Thanks!

xoxomatcha

It does help with the 5% cash rebate.

Now trying to pay ahead. Intent to switch to yearly premium to have some saving.

Good to know!

Cos yours is a big amount and idk how much you earn, best to see if you can cope with yearly payment else you might find hard to continue with paying the policy.

that’s sorta what happened to me cos i switched from yearly to monthly.

xoxomatcha

How about PruSave? Is it worth keeping? I have another AIA smart sth. I can’t rmb. It’s around 100-150 per month for both. Dumb enough, gotten them both because of friends who were working as agents. (Now all gone)

maybe you can provide more details about your plan and there might be others who can help. but still need to seek for professional help~

I’m not sure about the other policy (Also no intention from buying from UOB anymore) but some advises i gotten here are
- check when is your breakeven and if you can continue to pay for it until then.
- how long does it take for your policy to maturity from today? (mine is 21 years and the non guaranteed portion scares me despite some saying there is a possibility to recover plus earn some profit)
- what’s your reason for buying the plan in the first place? (mine was supposedly a savings plan but the agent sold me something i don’t want so i see no point continuing worrying if i have to constant worry about my money)

i’m not an agent so best is you seek help from other reliable agent friends. also, don’t just ask for advices from UOB agents, they definitely will present more of the positivity than negativity of it. seek advice from agents from GE, Aviva or whatever insurance company is out there

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.