Thailand road trip?

Synchroniza

Just landed in BKK. Saw alot of people picking up their cars at the airport while waiting for my grab.. anyone rented a car and did a road trip let's say maybe 4-5 days?

Only road trip I did was Aussie. Don't mind trying Thailand. Can share where to start and end? Cheers

beanstalk6

Making plans for my trip last year, I considered these road trips for the South:
1) Hadyai - Songkhla - Krabi/Phuket
2) Bangkok - Hua Hin - Prachuap Kiri Khan - Bangkok
Finally I took up the first option, driving part of the way.

In 2023 I hired a driver service that took us to Kanchanaburi and back to Bangkok over 3 days. This can easily be a self-driving trip.

rrr2015

Just landed in BKK. Saw alot of people picking up their cars at the airport while waiting for my grab.. anyone rented a car and did a road trip let's say maybe 4-5 days?

Only road trip I did was Aussie. Don't mind trying Thailand. Can share where to start and end? Cheers
can consider BKK airport - Khao Yai - BKK airport. if sunflower in season swing by Lopburi/Saraburi

Andrew833

Can be done since you have oversea driving experience.
Outside BKK, there are lots of options for road trip. Some places can be done for 3 -4 days, while others may require 5 -7 days.
Focus on where you want to land and fly back, then add attractions along the way.

I did with hired driver.
Bangkok to Kanchanaburi - 3 days
Bangkok to Khao Yai - 3 days (if add Khao Kho need at least 5-6 days)

Belial

did in 8 nights, skipped Mae Sariang as nothing there to do. 3 nights in Pai, 1 night in Ban Rak Thai, 3 nights in Mae Hong Son and 1 night near Doi Inthanon. Total i think i drove 900+ km.
for this year, i plan to do Nakhon Ratchasima, Khao Yai and Ayutthaya if i am not going Chiang Rai.
u did mae hong son in 4-5 days? :oops:

Haman

I'm doing Bkk-Khao Yai-Bkk as well for this Feb trip. Return car back to airport after 4 nights, followed by another 3 days in Bkk. Booked with Hertz though.

rrr2015

did in 8 nights, skipped Mae Sariang as nothing there to do. 3 nights in Pai, 1 night in Ban Rak Thai, 3 nights in Mae Hong Son and 1 night near Doi Inthanon. Total i think i drove 900+ km.
for this year, i plan to do Nakhon Ratchasima, Khao Yai and Ayutthaya if i am not going Chiang Rai.
ok did something similar with a few oddities like near Myanmar border, mae u kho, some unique temple etc. didn't know about ban rak thai but trip was long time ago. i think scam ring still operating even though they said kingpins have been caught. so won't go near border if i decide to do again

Andrew833

Nice, what so nice about Pai? :p

rrr2015

I'm doing Bkk-Khao Yai-Bkk as well for this Feb trip. Return car back to airport after 4 nights, followed by another 3 days in Bkk. Booked with Hertz though.
enjoy ... do share your trip experience

Belial

Nice, what so nice about Pai? :p
a few tourist attractions such as the thapai memorial bridge, pai canyon, khu kot bamboo bridge, yun lai viewpoint, and pai walking street. actually 2 nights there will be more than sufficient, end up we drove to tham lod cave and back on day 3 since there was nothing much to do other than watching farangs walking around in their bikinis...

Andrew833

a few tourist attractions such as the thapai memorial bridge, pai canyon, khu kot bamboo bridge, yun lai viewpoint, and pai walking street. actually 2 nights there will be more than sufficient, end up we drove to tham lod cave and back on day 3 since there was nothing much to do other than watching farangs walking around in their bikinis...
I know Pai is farangs heaven :ROFLMAO: that's why I ask.

beanstalk6

really ah :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:
Pai is one of the offshoots on the Asian hippie trail (eg Goa, Kathmandu, Bangkok) where farang backpackers could enjoy cheap thrills and an easygoing vibe. The place has progressed to the Instagram age with spas, cooking classes and vegan retreats. If you ask me, it's still in tune with young farang with lots of time on the road and who want a sanitised setting. It's higher end than Vang Vieng and maybe more like Ubud, and getting there using the winding road from Chiangmai may not be worth your while. I ever spent 2-3 nights there, having taken the minivan from Chiangmai.

Belial

i actually overestimated the time taken to explore the tourist spots in Pai, should had used the extra 1 day in Mae Sariang. Most of the places max time spent is 1-2 hours so ended up with a lot of free time and just spend it by the pool. Pai is a good place to lepak if you like the lifestyle of whole day doing nothing and just staring at the sky while smoking weed.

rrr2015

i actually overestimated the time taken to explore the tourist spots in Pai, should had used the extra 1 day in Mae Sariang. Most of the places max time spent is 1-2 hours so ended up with a lot of free time and just spend it by the pool. Pai is a good place to lepak if you like the lifestyle of whole day doing nothing and just staring at the sky while smoking weed.
there are lots of artsy stuffs in Pai if u enjoy those. need to have lepak environment for more creative juices :LOL:

iirc there one unique silverware shop, not sure if still there.

BlackCube

If you plan to travel between province, then can rent and self-drive liao. where depends on yourself liao, and how long you want to stay.

Synchroniza

Thanks all for the replies. Maybe July next block leave 7 days will try to rent a car and bring my retired dad for a road trip... He likes Thailand but always go Bangkok sian coz do PG stuff 🤣 Shall switch it up do road trip lol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.