The Casual Bag Thread

netzach

Feist, if the bag looks good, who cares who uses it. :D

netzach monogrammed backpack on a guy is a little bit homo, but thats just my opinion.

Would buy this backpack if I had funds. Quality is good and details are outstanding, probably no one else in SG will have the same bag. :)

patrik-ervell-backpack-01.jpg

patrik-ervell-backpack-02.JPG

(around SGD $1k....)

Nice! Sleek design and clean details. Love it man. Hehehe.
Have the Rick Owens\Boris Bidjan Saberi vibe sia. Wo Xi Huan! :o

feist_

Feist, if the bag looks good, who cares who uses it. :D

that's what i once thought too! until i bought myself a kate spade wallet, and realized that i didn't love it as much when the whole school starting flashing theirs as well. then i did abit of reading to understand why. here's my conclusion:

When it comes to brands, it's all about

1. Leveraging the brand associations to boost what people perceive of you at first impressions - this is part of Consumer Behaviour. a marketing module taught in school.
Example: MCM
If people associate it with rappers, then chances are they may form assumptions about what i do in my spare time (hang with my homies). Not very conducive if I'm trying to look like I sip TWG tea everyday :(

Example: LV Neverfull
Beloved by those earning about <35k/p.a. Very popular with Chinese speaking people because it was quite popular in TW/East Asia for awhile.
..Then (just think about it..) have you seen any lawyers carrying it? But they will carry a prada saffiano.. maybe even hazard a marc by marc jacobs. hmm.. strange.

2. Exclusivity - How many people use it
Once alot of people have it, it becomes a commodity, and pretty much loses its value.
Example: Chanel 2.55s vs. Celines- Once restricted to the very rich (because of the price tag), it's now v common in my circle, because all the girls go to paris for gradtrip/exchange. and hence it loses some of its cool. it has become the common weekend casual bag of choice, actually..
On the other hand, the Celine luggage totes are still greeted with some awe even though they're cheaper, because there is a waitlist to get them. Hence fewer people have them. To have it hints that you have the connections to make the bag happen.

ALSO, my sis owns a vintage loewe amazona with the big logo. she got it just before they phased the big logo out. (today, you can only get the small logo'd ones at the boutique). While people rarely bat an eye at the newer collections, people have actually gone up to her to compliment her choice of bag.

Hence
When branded goods becomes a numbers game, it is very easy to lose - look at Kate Spade and Chanel. Once people can save up for it, your item becomes a commodity, and not special, and you will have spent the money in vain. Therefore it's important to make sure that you know the people who will be attracted to it, will be the same people you want to be associated with :x

of course, if you're shopping for just the quality product alone, then the above doesn't apply at all.
.. but if you're really shopping for a quality good, you probably wouldn't be shopping mainstream branded stuff :)

so gonna get flamed for this post. but yes i'm addicted to the idea behind luxury goods and can spend hours at purseblog, hwz, businessoffashion and cozycot in one sitting :eek: and i've also thought about bags for very long hehe..

and sorry! all girls bags.. but i hope you get my point..

Donten

Hello, need help for bag suggestions. was looking at northface purple label bag but stupid transaction failed twice already when i tried to buy from rakuten.
nn7315n-02.jpg

still looking for it but need suggestions for alternatives. some alternatives i have looked at are masterpiece, porter and jackspade.

JSPA-MY6_V2.jpg

03491-nc-01.jpg

Looking for canvas material as a criteria. sling bag preferable. thanks in advance.

snip82

Bought locally, the authorize dealer.. Fall Factor.. If u get online it will be exp if include the shipping fee 90USD standard for Asia...

PetiaC

Uncle feeling kena cheated :(:(:(

I was sourcing all over the various US outfitter website for Filson bag on discount. Finally found a couple had storewide discount and free US shipping.

When checkout say discount code don't apply to Filson bag. I felt like flipping table.

Anyone kind enough to guide me to where can I buy Filson on discount much appreciated.

archbishopchia

would also appreciate if anyone could guide me to any site to hoot Qwstion Bags cheaper than retail.

Official site including 20e shipping cost more than retail :O

Daniel.Y

Uncle feeling kena cheated :(:(:(

I was sourcing all over the various US outfitter website for Filson bag on discount. Finally found a couple had storewide discount and free US shipping.

When checkout say discount code don't apply to Filson bag. I felt like flipping table.

Anyone kind enough to guide me to where can I buy Filson on discount much appreciated.

Probably you didn't look as hard as I did. Revolveclothing, send them an email and get 30% rebate for first timer purchase. Was contemplating to get the navy twill briefcase, but it's currently on pre order till late nov

*thank me with a crash course on shoe shining please? :)

Henabi

B4311MBBEF00130001_1.jpg

just hoot this hobo shopping bag as an anniv. gift for my wifey not so long ago...

Wryer

Hello, need help for bag suggestions. was looking at northface purple label bag but stupid transaction failed twice already when i tried to buy from rakuten.
nn7315n-02.jpg

Looking for canvas material as a criteria. sling bag preferable. thanks in advance.

The off white looks awesome. Only available in japan? May I know what is the name of this model?

PetiaC

Probably you didn't look as hard as I did. Revolveclothing, send them an email and get 30% rebate for first timer purchase. Was contemplating to get the navy twill briefcase, but it's currently on pre order till late nov

*thank me with a crash course on shoe shining please? :)

I saw that already. Dun have zipper tote or briefcase in tan. Dun mind giving a lesson in shoeshine if there is interest. Preferbly over a session of cigars and whiskey.

Donten

The off white looks awesome. Only available in japan? May I know what is the name of this model?
Out of stock everywhere already. I wanted the off white badly too when I first set sight on it. I checked nanamica and rakuten bounce back my payment twice. If you want can check eBay. Got one guy selling at close to 300 without shipping which is around 80 higher than nanamica.

Wryer

Out of stock everywhere already. I wanted the off white badly too when I first set sight on it. I checked nanamica and rakuten bounce back my payment twice. If you want can check eBay. Got one guy selling at close to 300 without shipping which is around 80 higher than nanamica.

Damn. What is the model name for this bag? Might ask ppl going to Japan to watch out for it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.