The DJI Spark Thread

xXxJavierxXx

Hello, do you guys use the drones to take selfie? Can the drones take still selfie shots about 5 meters away?

blade81

no, as I am not a selfie person.
yes if the drone has GPS and attitude hold it will be stable in low wind conditions. camera stabilization and quality plays a part too.

but honestly, if you just want nice selfie pictures, get a selfie stick instead.

too much of a hassle.
Imagine, taking out the drone. plug in battery, power on, calibrate the drone. then the transmitter. power on check the video feed..
take off, turn the drone facing you. adjust altitude and distance, maybe even control the gimbal/lens/zoom/aperture etc.. than finally you take a picture.
review the picture.
Land the drone, take out the battery
pack up into the case.
Move on to next location...rinse and repeat.. you might as well put your phone on a selfie stick and just click away in under 10 seconds.
..:s13::s13:

africatwin

no, as I am not a selfie person.
yes if the drone has GPS and attitude hold it will be stable in low wind conditions. camera stabilization and quality plays a part too.

but honestly, if you just want nice selfie pictures, get a selfie stick instead.

too much of a hassle.
Imagine, taking out the drone. plug in battery, power on, calibrate the drone. then the transmitter. power on check the video feed..
take off, turn the drone facing you. adjust altitude and distance, maybe even control the gimbal/lens/zoom/aperture etc.. than finally you take a picture.
review the picture.
Land the drone, take out the battery
pack up into the case.
Move on to next location...rinse and repeat.. you might as well put your phone on a selfie stick and just click away in under 10 seconds.
..:s13::s13:

Sorry i saw rinse?

Need to rinse drone?

jmkoek

Just ordered a Spark from DJI online... Freaking CNY have to wait till March second for latest ship out date.... Anybody bought from DJi directly ?

ksapple

anyone know how to calibrate the compass anot i always fail when doing the point nose down part

Quadcopter

Hello, do you guys use the drones to take selfie? Can the drones take still selfie shots about 5 meters away?

had just tried on my spark. It took about 20+ seconds from power up to hovering in the air in gesture mode. and able to start taking selfie photos after that. I tested only at about 3m away. For using remote control/handphone you can take selfie photos at any distance up to >50m.

go watch this dji tutorial on youtube about gesture drone piloting and selfie, on a dji Spark.

for taking selfie only, no need to buy the more expensive dji spark or mavic.
just get the following drones.

for 4K camera:
Yuneec Breeze (US$180 on amazon)
Wingsland S6 (about S$300+)

for 1-2Megapixel photos:
dji tello (about S$150)
Hubsan H216A (About S$130)
XK-X150W (About S$80+)

I think yuneec breeze or dji tello are better, but I do not own either one. All hubsan cameras are "fisheye". For camera quality of drones, go search on youtube videos.

have fun with your selfie taking... ;)

:D

Quadcopter

anyone know how to calibrate the compass anot i always fail when doing the point nose down part

ok leh, can calibrate my spark.
try calibrate it in the open field, don't do calibration inside your home. hold the drone still and rotate yourself is easier, do not do like calibrating the hubsan drones of just spinning the drone itself.

i think better don't calibrate compass until you really hitting problems at open outdoor. if that spark complaining compass error inside your home or indoor, just ignore it. It can still flying indoor very stable and reliable with barometer and optical positioning. Compass is only used together with GPS. Without the compass, the drone is still able to stabilize it's yaw position by
gyroscope.

:s8:

Quadcopter

Just ordered a Spark from DJI online... Freaking CNY have to wait till March second for latest ship out date.... Anybody bought from DJi directly ?

i bought from hachi (expensive hor!). may be you should had bought from lazada. now S$749 DJI Spark Fly More Combo plus extra free battery. Few guys here bought from lazada and drones are working.

I do not know if those from lazada are re-furbished sets. Other sellers are:
amazon: ~S$740 spark fly more combo.
challenger/hachi: S$899 DJI Spark Fly More Combo plus extra free battery

have fun flying your spark!.. ;)

xXxJavierxXx

had just tried on my spark. It took about 20+ seconds from power up to hovering in the air in gesture mode. and able to start taking selfie photos after that. I tested only at about 3m away. For using remote control/handphone you can take selfie photos at any distance up to >50m.

go watch this dji tutorial on youtube about gesture drone piloting and selfie, on a dji Spark.

for taking selfie only, no need to buy the more expensive dji spark or mavic.
just get the following drones.

for 4K camera:
Yuneec Breeze (US$180 on amazon)
Wingsland S6 (about S$300+)

for 1-2Megapixel photos:
dji tello (about S$150)
Hubsan H216A (About S$130)
XK-X150W (About S$80+)

I think yuneec breeze or dji tello are better, but I do not own either one. All hubsan cameras are "fisheye". For camera quality of drones, go search on youtube videos.

have fun with your selfie taking... ;)

Wah. Thanks for the advice. I'll thinking buying a drone for my upcoming Europe trip to take selfie with scenery.

Quadcopter

Wah. Thanks for the advice. I'll thinking buying a drone for my upcoming Europe trip to take selfie with scenery.

oops... ahh,.. if europe trip better go get a dji spark fly more combo or dji mavic air fly more combo, besides good selfie photos you can also take cinematic scenery videos.

if play-play with drone selfie in singapore or at home then go get those cheapo yuneec breeze or wingsland S6.

jmkoek

i bought from hachi (expensive hor!). may be you should had bought from lazada. now S$749 DJI Spark Fly More Combo plus extra free battery. Few guys here bought from lazada and drones are working.

I do not know if those from lazada are re-furbished sets. Other sellers are:
amazon: ~S$740 spark fly more combo.
challenger/hachi: S$899 DJI Spark Fly More Combo plus extra free battery

have fun flying your spark!.. ;)

ok it seems it dispatched out my set an it's already in SG ... yes the price dropped on the official site and is now close to the lazada sets at usd $589... buy already dun look .. anybody here have advise on what accesories besides the fly more is crucial. is 2batts enough?

Quadcopter

ok it seems it dispatched out my set an it's already in SG ... yes the price dropped on the official site and is now close to the lazada sets at usd $589... buy already dun look .. anybody here have advise on what accesories besides the fly more is crucial. is 2batts enough?

get another battery, and that OTG cable linking remote control to handphone.
:s8:

Scarlet Tea

im going to fly my spark in hokkaido at sub zero degree. dont know my spark can take it or not.

Scarlet Tea

Sama sama i bought my spark for my finland trip hope can fly 15mins

i did a research and was advised that you shouldnt turn on sports mode. must pre-warm the batteries first. i think must bring hairdryer liao.

hwzlite

FYI: Spark 2 & Mavic Pro 2 leaked

ETA late March onward? :s22:

&

@ https://twitter.com/ositalv?lang=en

Something new about Spark, just recieved a message said the price of Spark and Spark Fly More Combo will be 15% off permanently, effective in Feb 23rd. It means the next generation of Spark is coming...

Official price tag of every DJI product goes down before next generation coming out. When you see one of them get discount permanently, you can expect the next generation. This is 套路(tao loo)....

Quadcopter

Question: Why is DJI so screw up? why they never make DJI Spark to have foldable arms? That would be making it more portable.

=> Spark size is already very small, no need foldable. Just go and buy a good bag, and you can squeeze Spark drone, 4-6 batteries, Charger, remote control and cables all into a box of size 23cm x 21cm x 12cm. ;)

=> Wow! never expect they could queeze so many things into such a small box... :s13:

Spark_Box.jpg

Spark_Box2.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.