The Drone Thread

Quadcopter

Brudder, mai ani kuan leh.
I thought of building a drone to mount DSLR (but if you got lobang carry gold let me know, we share-share).

Proved too challenging trying to figure out...I though HK would sort all this out for the first build and match everything for us mah.

In the end now we looking at getting a DJI Mavic Pro...save all the trouble. :s13:

i think your DSLR + stabilizing gimbals alone likely ended as weight >5kg... whole drone at 7kg you need to apply CAAS license to fly hor... Mavic pro or Phantom 4 should be better solution... :s13:

have fun and merry x'mas!!.... ;)

FireWaller

i think your DSLR + stabilizing gimbals alone likely ended as weight >5kg... whole drone at 7kg you need to apply CAAS license to fly hor... Mavic pro or Phantom 4 should be better solution... :s13:

have fun and merry x'mas!!.... ;)

Er... get liao can jio you go fly?

Quadcopter

Er... get liao can jio you go fly?

aiya,... we all poor men flying all the rojak drones only,... I could find bugs3, H501C, H502S, Spark, diy-drone.... but no mavic/phantom... :s13:

.... and all of us no flying skills, flying those drones like houseflies knocking at each other... if you don't mind your expensive phantom4 or mavic kena scratched, can always look for us... just pm blade81... :D

.... until now i can only fly my drone in headless mode... :(

have fun and merry x'mas.... ;)

FireWaller

aiya,... we all poor men flying all the rojak drones only,... I could find bugs3, H501C, H502S, Spark, diy-drone.... but no mavic/phantom... :s13:

.... and all of us no flying skills, flying those drones like houseflies knocking at each other... if you don't mind your expensive phantom4 or mavic kena scratched, can always look for us... just pm blade81... :D

.... until now i can only fly my drone in headless mode... :(

have fun and merry x'mas.... ;)

I'll stay noted on when you guys wanna fly.
Probably get cheaper drone to fry first. :D

blade81

I'll stay noted on when you guys wanna fly.
Probably get cheaper drone to fry first. :D

we meet up and fly almost every sat/sun provided if we are free. I believe if one of us is busy, we will still fly solo ;)

verydisappointed

Drone

Force 1 f200w is technically a Bugs 2 rebrand I believe just with different paintjob package contents, I guess.
but the price for bugs 2 is like 300-400 dollars.
you can probably get a cheaper brushless motor drone with GPS & altitude hold drone at lower price. First thing, it's cheap follow by extra one battery in the package. Next it is much latest model that have better controller software or software.

User Quadcopter also flies DJI spark, I think its a good drone if you into photography and ease of control. but personally I don't recommend getting it as your first drone despite being very easy to control.
because ease of control doesn't mean it does everything automatically, u still need to know how to fly them when there is a need. I admit dji spark is better model.

For the OTG cable part. Technically the remote controller and Phone signal both uses 2.4ghz for communication. But there is a high chance of signal interfere between both, resulting in possible losing control of the drone or lose of video transmission which both Could end up badly.
If i am not wrong Bugs B2W and Force1 F200W Shadow able to use 5 ghz for communication. That's why I wanted to purchase Force1 F200W which is less costly and have some better spec compare to dji spark. The battery life is better for Bugs B2W/Force1 F200W compare to dji. But eventually Bugs /Force 1 and DJI is different level and should not be use to compare.

For fly-aways, most GPS drones need to calibrated every flight. and also make sure that GPS connection is good. (6 and above if I am correct)
From most video I watched, they recommended connected to 10 GPS.

Having a good pre-flight check can help prevent fly aways.

Just test if your "Home point" is set correctly, take off the drone fly forward for 10-15 meters ahead and hit your "return to home aka RTH" that should automatically bring your drone up to a certain altitude flies to the GPS coordinates and descend to land. (RTH altitude can be set in the DJI-GO app I believe)

If the drone acts abnormal instead and goes off in a different direction. it should be within your visual range, so you can override RTH and manually bring the drone in.

Yup saw one of the spark user from youtube where he talks alot about the safety of flying a drone.

I believe if the drone fly away not resulting of your mistake, DJI will replace your drone or repairs if you sign up DJICare I think. I seen few examples on youtube that DJI does honor that as long there is no mistake on your part.

Depends, I saw a few that did not managed to get a replacment. The log from the drone and the controller data don't tally eventually the owner not able to get a replacement.

probably the Qoo10 local seller are not earning much from the bugs 3 drone :s13: generally most of the drone stuff is cheaper elsewhere. qoo10 is usually better if you want to receive the item faster.

Hmmm did I made an error, the price in GearBest and Qoo10 is as such: $155.45 vs $129 (not including shipping and no camera for both).
Shipping I think GearBest may cost $20-30 cause ship from China compare to Qoo10 that cost $4 from Singapore.

===========

verydisappointed

1) What you see is NOT what you get: whatever you watch on youtube will not be what you get. whatever nicely printed drone's spec will not be what you are expecting.

That is why, to me Force1 or MJX Bugs is my beginner drone, DJI Spark is intermediate and Mavic is advance

2) Drone suggested: if you are sporty type or for hiking trip. A Mavic would be better. alternatives would be Yuneec Breeze, Parrot Bebop 2, or Spark. For any dji drone, remember to get everything ready before your trip. Or else your mavic might tell you "not lastest firmware and refuse to fly" when you are right at the peak of the mountain. Some drone might not even work at very high altitude (too low air density)

Hiking for me, that's why when I saw MJX and Force 1 suits my usage as the battery for the drone can fly abit longer, and video not that bad. Plus I won't be flying far, only mostly aerial view or panoramic. I will make sure the firmware is updated as I will be having limited resource such as electricity, and internet. With that coming in mind, I have to look for drone's battery that can be charged by portable powerbank. Think battery of dji spark able to charge using powerbank while Bugs/Force1 may not.

6) cannot decide?: you can look for us during one weekend, should have one bugs3, one hubsan H501C, one spark and one diy-drone for you to test, try, study, check video, and know their problems. Sori we got no mavic. And all of us lousy drone flying skill, so no worries of those drones too difficult to handle. Haha already decided, just that it is digging my pocket deeper. Definitely those big size and can't be foldable will not in my list as I have only 4kg of weight space for all my electronic stuffs. T.T

7) any other questions: pm blade81 and throw him all your questions.... :s13:
Now til early next year will be the cooling period for me.

==========

Quadcopter

Is parrot mambo fly fpv a good buy?

aiya,... very hard for other people to tell you if parrot mambo (S$200-370) is good lah... :(

nobody know what you like, what's your budget, where you want to fly it, what's your expectation and usage...

for me, my requirement is simple, drones that i could fly it to >100ft altitude, then rotate 360° and take video, i will shout good. if cannot do that i will shout lousy. so if someone give me a free parrot mambo, i will still shout lousy free parrot mambo because it cannot fly to 100ft high. But you might like it.

if you are beginner, suggestion of getting a cheap cheap S$55 syma X21W first (must get the 720p/1megapixel and mode 2 remote control, don't get the 0.3megapixel version)
https://www.banggood.com/SYMA-X21W-...-p-1125493.html?rmmds=search&cur_warehouse=CN

after playing for 2-3 months and when you have more knowledge of drones, then decide if you want to buy a parrot mambo, or a parrot bebop2 or a S$130 hubsan H216A

https://www.gearbest.com/rc-quadcopters/pp_1317310.html

i guess parrot mambo is expensive because cheapest mambo at S$200 could get me a syma X21W plus another hubsan H216A....

i might be wrong hor... :s8:
and if in doubt, pm blade81... :s13:

other notes:
- keep watching youtube, understand those drones problems, and ignore whatever good things those promoters telling you.
- all quadcopters with brushed motors has difficulties to fly high in windy s'pore
- if born kiasu and want every features, value for every $$ etc, then get a S$600-700 Xiaomi Mi drone or dji Phantom 3.... little chance to regret later

fly high and merry x'mas... ;)

xiaoyay

Thanks for enlightening me! Merry xmas!
aiya,... very hard for other people to tell you if parrot mambo (S$200-370) is good lah... :(

nobody know what you like, what's your budget, where you want to fly it, what's your expectation and usage...

for me, my requirement is simple, drones that i could fly it to >100ft altitude, then rotate 360° and take video, i will shout good. if cannot do that i will shout lousy. so if someone give me a free parrot mambo, i will still shout lousy free parrot mambo because it cannot fly to 100ft high. But you might like it.

if you are beginner, suggestion of getting a cheap cheap S$55 syma X21W first (must get the 720p/1megapixel and mode 2 remote control, don't get the 0.3megapixel version)
https://www.banggood.com/SYMA-X21W-...-p-1125493.html?rmmds=search&cur_warehouse=CN

after playing for 2-3 months and when you have more knowledge of drones, then decide if you want to buy a parrot mambo, or a parrot bebop2 or a S$130 hubsan H216A

https://www.gearbest.com/rc-quadcopters/pp_1317310.html

i guess parrot mambo is expensive because cheapest mambo at S$200 could get me a syma X21W plus another hubsan H216A....

i might be wrong hor... :s8:
and if in doubt, pm blade81... :s13:

other notes:
- keep watching youtube, understand those drones problems, and ignore whatever good things those promoters telling you.
- all quadcopters with brushed motors has difficulties to fly high in windy s'pore
- if born kiasu and want every features, value for every $$ etc, then get a S$600-700 Xiaomi Mi drone or dji Phantom 3.... little chance to regret later

fly high and merry x'mas... ;)

Kum Jit Pow

i'm thinking of getting a Parrot Bebop 2 FPV, i have no drone experience, its a birthday present for the wife. i have absolutely no idea, is the Mavic Pro easier to fly or the Bebop2 easier? do they have homing functions? will windy conditions affect the control?

Quadcopter

i'm thinking of getting a Parrot Bebop 2 FPV, i have no drone experience, its a birthday present for the wife. i have absolutely no idea, is the Mavic Pro easier to fly or the Bebop2 easier? do they have homing functions? will windy conditions affect the control?

i think mavic or parrot are lousy drones, why are you getting these crap drones?... some S$2K branded handbag, or jewellery would be much better... are you buying birthday present for your wife or for yourself ah??... :(

Kum Jit Pow

wife has a lot of bags liao. she keeps buying those toy drones to fly, and she has crashed and sent at least 5 drones to the their death liao. so i think getting her a better drone that is easy to fly with camera would be good.

personally, i'm not into drones, unless it allows me to fire some sort of projectiles and shoot some birds.

Quadcopter

wife has a lot of bags liao. she keeps buying those toy drones to fly, and she has crashed and sent at least 5 drones to the their death liao. so i think getting her a better drone that is easy to fly with camera would be good.

personally, i'm not into drones, unless it allows me to fire some sort of projectiles and shoot some birds.

oh,... sorry ah, paiseh!, now i can understand better... like that may be get her a iphone better, she cannot fly that iphone birthday present to the sky and no return....

worst come get her a dji spark to fly indoor lor,... but i guess she will not like these video drones (mavic, parrot, spark) and want something exciting aerobatic stunts flying.

check with what she likes first, if she wants racing drones then get something tiny, fast and robust/lasting,... something like eachine aurora 90 etc.... where is blade81? blade81 knows all these tiny racing drones more, hello! blade81, which tiny drone will crash & crash and not dying so easily??

:D

Kum Jit Pow

oh,... sorry ah, paiseh!, now i can understand better... like that may be get her a iphone better, she cannot fly that iphone birthday present to the sky and no return....

worst come get her a dji spark to fly indoor lor,... but i guess she will not like these video drones (mavic, parrot, spark) and want something exciting aerobatic stunts flying.

check with what she likes first, if she wants racing drones then get something tiny, fast and robust/lasting,... something like eachine aurora 90 etc.... where is blade81? blade81 knows all these tiny racing drones more, hello! blade81, which tiny drone will crash & crash and not dying so easily??

:D

i think she will like a video drone, i'm comparing between the bebop2 and the mavic pro. the mavic pro is small thats why i think it might not handle windy condition. she sent a drone into the reservoir before because it got blown off course.

Quadcopter

i think she will like a video drone, i'm comparing between the bebop2 and the mavic pro. the mavic pro is small thats why i think it might not handle windy condition. she sent a drone into the reservoir before because it got blown off course.

mavic should be heavier and more powerful than bebop 2. you have to look at an unfolded mavic, it is big. if still worried then get a phantom 4, this one 1.4kg and 2212 motors sure can fight all the winds... and don't ever get that 0.3kg dji spark. :s8:

don't mind with one question: does your wife happen to have a younger sister still single, and likes drones??.. :s13:

have fun, and happy new year 2018!!.. :s8:

Quadcopter

eh, why not you give us the brand and model of the 5 drones she crashed before? at least we could guess what is the main problem, know the power of those drones, and find some better ones for her birthday??... :s8:

Kum Jit Pow

eh, why not you give us the brand and model of the 5 drones she crashed before? at least we could guess what is the main problem, know the power of those drones, and find some better ones for her birthday??... :s8:

don't know what brands, all i know are they are those toy types, wouldn't cost more than 100 each.

where to get a mavic pro?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.