The Drone Thread

rashidjeponn

newbie playing drone, need advice.

Hi guys,i'm keened on learning to play drones, but need some advise on what specs, model and user friendly drones to start on for new learners. Here's what model i had recently bought. JY018 (POCKET DRONE) Thank you for the advise!!! :s13:

blade81

Hi guys,i'm keened on learning to play drones, but need some advise on what specs, model and user friendly drones to start on for new learners. Here's what model i had recently bought. JY018 (POCKET DRONE) Thank you for the advise!!! :s13:

for beginners, I suggest getting something like furibee F36
alternate models like JJRC H36 or eachine e010 will do too.

In my experience, I find them slightly lacking in their durability, I had bought 2 jjrc h36 and broke them twice.
Than I got the furibee f36 which has been very durable and I havn't break a single thing for 2 months now. not to mention it can perform manual flips.

these are cheap 20dollar drones with about 3minute flight time and technically unbreakable this unless you fly very fast into the concrete walls or something.
Buy extra 5-10 batteries with parallel charger for quicker turn around..

It will be hard at first because you are not used to the throttle control and most people will crash into the ceiling because they throttle up too aggressively, or suddenly cut throttle and crash back down to the floor.
With practice you will improve.

so start small like learn to hover, than learn to move to flying forward, backward & sideway. than learning yawing and eventually landing on a specific point. I train by landing on a stool and I still do it these days to practice my controls.

Its all about building muscle memory and horning your reflex to react at the moment to perform the necessary correction to prevent crashing.

Generally, I tend to crash more if I took a break from flying. The reflex and my muscle memory didn't kick in quick enough to correct the drone out from a crash path. so just practice more and Enjoy flying!

Quadcopter

aiya, why you people need to learn drone flying, and even spending $$ attending some drone courses, for playing that toy?.... :(

...there are autonomous cars around, and here comes autonomous drone... :s13:

Swisspers

aiya, why you people need to learn drone flying, and even spending $$ attending some drone courses, for playing that toy?.... :(

...there are autonomous cars around, and here comes autonomous drone... :s13:

Cool! But I wouldn't dare try that in Singapore. The risk of damaging something is too high :s13:

hwzlite

FYI: AirMap

https://www.airmap.com/operators

AirMap puts situational awareness in the palm of your hand.
Use AirMap to get real-time airspace intelligence about your flight, including controlled airspace, temporary flight restrictions, nearby traffic, and changes in weather. You can also give notice to airports, directly from the AirMap app.............................

Quadcopter

hmm,... which drone to get har? what you guys think? all these brushed selfie drones are around S$140-180

dji tello: Optical positioning. 720p video, Good EIS. Problems of NO MicroSD slot causing lousy video recorded
c-me drone: GPS positioning. Remote control tilt. 1080p video. Gear wear and tear will have parts replacement problem (difficult to repair)
kudrone: GPS positioning. 1080p video, 4K camera but looks like blur blur

me like optical positioning than GPS positioning for tiny drones, but tello video really crap.
haiz... :s22:

dji tello

c-me drone

kudrone

:D

Quadcopter

i think there is quite a lot of camera improvement on Hubsan H216A from H502S. My Hubsan H502S is having that same "greenish" video.

Hubsan 502S

Hubsan H216A

hwzlite

i think there is quite a lot of camera improvement on Hubsan H216A from H502S. My Hubsan H502S is having that same "greenish" video.

Have to take into account that H216A a 1080p vs 720p from H502S.

BTW, saw this interesting new clondy on the block raising from https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=564214212823 :

TB27h7MnDTI8KJjSsphXXcFppXa_!!481924163.jpg

So far no review from AngMo yet....

Mavtastic

Hello, just for sharing. If any mavic pilots out there is looking for accessories kaizenofficials dot com has quality products at low prices. Happy flying and stay safe!

Quadcopter

According to TB Q&A, too bad it uses 8520 brushed motors.

aiyo, you so cheapo type, want brushless motors, want 12MP photos, want 1080p video, want good price <S$200. OK, you can go buy this drone (I think is brushless, 12MP, 1080p, optical flow)... you try first and if good then recommend me to get one also... :D

Rova_Selfie.png

Yeah!!! I love indoor drones with optical flow sensor... :s12:

:s8:

hwzlite

aiyo, you so cheapo type, want brushless motors, want 12MP photos, want 1080p video, want good price <S$200. OK, you can go buy this drone (I think is brushless, 12MP, 1080p, optical flow)... you try first and if good then recommend me to get one also... :D

Yeah!!! I love indoor drones with optical flow sensor... :s12:

:s8:

i say u har, me i pi i chee ler, this rova boi gps powderful one....i see no up.... :s13:

Quadcopter

i say u har, me i pi i chee ler, this rova boi gps powderful one....i see no up.... :s13:

Hubsan_H501_M.png

right now market don't have so cheap ones with brushless+GPS and below S$200. 30-50m range drone with GPS is useless, GPS is for 500m range drone. Optical positioning is better for smaller 30-50m drone. GPS drone so lousy cannot fly indoor ... Rova is good if product works reliable. ;)

hwzlite

right now market don't have so cheap ones with brushless+GPS and below S$200. 30-50m range drone with GPS is useless, GPS is for 500m range drone. Optical positioning is better for smaller 30-50m drone. GPS drone so lousy cannot fly indoor ... Rova is good if product works reliable. ;)

BoPian ler, me more outdoor stalker type one.
Still yet to master the old-school ATTI mode ,then can no horse run on indoor =:p

Quadcopter

Anyone recommendation for entry level?

let us know:
- your budget?
- have you played RC Cars/Helicopters before?
- for kids, for adult or for retiree?
- flying indoor or outdoor?
- size of drone?
- if outdoor, how far you wanna fly? 50m or 500m?
- for aerial photography, selfie, racing, or bashing?
and that very kiasu hwzlite uncle here will help you to squeeze all the drone values+features out of your every cent$ spent. :s13: :s12:

or you can buy that Rova Selfie Drone (AEE SPARROW 360), US$130 amazon. Let me know after you tested it is good and I might buy one also. if no good you wasted US$130 lor... I did had a S$170 drone only last for a very first 5min flight. :(

Quadcopter

For any beginner who wants to fly/play with a drone, i had just created a video here showing you how to control the drone using the remote control sticks.

Is that simple!, and you had just graduated from basic drone flying training after watching that video.

umm,... and now here's the course fee you need to pay, S$10 each person and please pay to my bank a/c here:
https://www.nkfs.org
or "Kidney Dialysis Foundation" also can, if you do not like "National Kidney Foundation"
http://www.kdf.org.sg

;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.