The Gentlemen's Barber Thread

PetiaC

I was wanting to try one of the traditional barbers and I stumbled upon this new place in facebook. My schedule allows and I managed to book an appointment for a haircut.

1F7A30C7-DCD7-4C1A-8DCE-CFE4582B2D00-1153-000001AECADC5E3F_zpsdd3be7a8.jpg

The place is hidden among a row of bird nest merchants but the barber pole was a giveaway.

FB24143E-2F9E-4A89-97EE-925FBE9973E1-1153-000001AEDE1D68C6_zps41d5b32c.jpg

Alcoholics rejoice, there is a bar counter to serve drinks to waiting patrons in the lounge area. The barber chairs are beyond the doors at the background of the photo.

78DD07F6-31FF-4AD1-AE8E-4273F0F12E1A-1153-000001AEEC0C61A8_zpsf5306485.jpg

The fine folks who manage the establishment told me that these are lockers for regular patrons to stow their personal effects. I wonder what would gentlemen keep at the barbers.

46BC4514-8099-40C6-A76D-F8212A716C05-1153-000001AF01AFD6B0_zps8f0b5698.jpg

This is how the interior of the barbering area look like. The experience was not just a simple haircut and wash as stated in the "menu". It's a relaxing ritual like wetshaving.

The barber is polite and professional. I received an education on hair grooming, I always had problems with keep my hair in shape, now I know I was doing it the wrong way.

Customer feedback was thoroughly cheeked before the scissors land on hair. I conservatively decided to follow the professional advice. Loved the hot towel on the scalp after washing, very invigorating and refreshing experience.

Damage wise was $48 for a haircut and my wife hated the vintage look. I felt I walked out of the barber looking much more sharper. Money well spent. They have a facebook app to book an appointment.

https://www.facebook.com/SultansofShave/app_329757017078200

Tel: 62220201
11 North Canal Road #02-01
Singapore 048824

For disclosure sake, I do not get paid for writing this, this is just from a customer perspective. If you like my write up please help like my page at www.facebook.com/ShoeshineUncle

boysdontcryy

Nice write-up Petia.

A friend of mine was actually involved in starting this. That said, never been there. Yet.

Wryer

Looks awesome.

Sad to say I don't have a full head of crown glory and I'm quite sick if going to salons who try too hard to give a "fashionable" look for me. It just doesn't work. Lasts probably 10 mins after I walk out of the salon.

I just want a good service - wash, blow, neat and clean.

Will definitely try. Very niche and good potential market.

PetiaC

$48 for a barber is really expensive.

Well what the say about the barber cutting your throat hehe.

Barbers, like tailors are very personal experiences and YMMV. Either they know how to cut your hair or don't.

If you find one that can give you a good haircut, doesn't matter where he plys his trade.

Traditional gentlemens barbers are like where the ladies choose to do their manicure or spa. The experience of the process also matters.

I be wantig to try out the other barbers who recently set up shop. Especially the $65 truefitt and hill haircut. Or maybe I can try the branch in KL when I have the chance to travel north.

kampong boi

who was your barber? Jaime?

in Europe, these shops are like our QB house, found on every street, the hot and cold towel shaves are part of the haircut.

Hounds of Baskervilles also has something similar, but w/o the washing of hair

Whitecamel

Looks interesting. Unfortunately I can't afford to spend $48 for a haircut (I cut my hair twice a month) and I'm balding anyway... So no point.

sngyanyuan

Well what the say about the barber cutting your throat hehe.

Barbers, like tailors are very personal experiences and YMMV. Either they know how to cut your hair or don't.

If you find one that can give you a good haircut, doesn't matter where he plys his trade.

Traditional gentlemens barbers are like where the ladies choose to do their manicure or spa. The experience of the process also matters.

I be wantig to try out the other barbers who recently set up shop. Especially the $65 truefitt and hill haircut. Or maybe I can try the branch in KL when I have the chance to travel north.

I also found out about the truefitt and hill haircut from thehoneycombers blog. Seem like a nice place to try out.

PetiaC

A short review on the Hounds of the Baskervilles
- written by the Shoeshine Uncle

I was wanting to try this traditional barber after I met the guys running this place during an event in which I was doing shoe shine. Quite impressed by Feroze and gang who picked up barbering skills by self learning. However on the weekends they were usually fully booked.

Recently I heard they opened a new branch at Keong Saik and the system have changed to first come first served. I went down quite early and I thought I had a chance for a short queue at the original shop at Bali Lane. Boy I was so wrong, several gentlemen were ahead of me and I have to be physically present in the queue so I couldn't go see stuff at the Tuckshop while I wait.

Took around 2 1/2 hours before my turn. This is due to the barbers taking time to ensure the hair is cut properly and shaving also takes more time.

The haircut took a good 25mins to be done. Shaving of edges was not done "raw". Shaving cream was applied and wiped off with a hot Good Morning towel. Overall quite happy with the simple and neat haircut and the barber took extra care to "transit" the crop sides to the top part of the hair.

Total damage was $30 bucks including festive hike. Uncle is not a famous female blogger so I have to pay for my haircuts.

Waiting outside for my turn.

Interior of the barbershop, tattoo parlor is further inside.

Barber at work

Before haircut

Now look like one of the Mad Men

All in a Day

Hounds of Baskerville short review.

I was wanting to try this traditional barber after I met the guys running this place during an event in which I was doing shoe shine. Quite impressed by Feroze and gang who picked up barbering skills by self learning. However on the weekends they were usually fully booked.

Recently I heard they opened a new branch at Keong Saik and the system have changed to first come first served. I went down quite early and I thought I had a chance for a short queue at the original shop at Bali Lane. Boy I was so wrong, several gentlemen were ahead of me and I have to be physically present in the queue so I couldn't go see stuff at the Tuckshop while I wait.

Took around 2 1/2 hours before my turn. This is due to the barbers taking time to ensure the hair is cut properly and shaving also takes more time.

The haircut took a good 25mins to be done. Shaving of edges was not done "raw". Shaving cream was applied and wiped off with a hot Good Morning towel. Overall quite happy with the simple and neat haircut and the barber took extra care to "transit" the crop sides to the top part of the hair.

Total damage was $30 bucks including festive hike. Uncle is not a famous female blogger so I have to pay for my haircuts.

Photos to be included later.

2 1/2 hours wait (and must be physically present somemore) is damn long leh! No patience or luxury of time for that. But if the experience and end outcome does not lose to your earlier review of $48, I can understand why people willing to Q.

I have facial hair that is sparse, very difficult to grow neat moustache or goatee so no value in going to barber. Do they do haircut only w/o a shave abnd what type of damage?

PetiaC

2 1/2 hours wait (and must be physically present somemore) is damn long leh! No patience or luxury of time for that. But if the experience and end outcome does not lose to your earlier review of $48, I can understand why people willing to Q.

I have facial hair that is sparse, very difficult to grow neat moustache or goatee so no value in going to barber. Do they do haircut only w/o a shave abnd what type of damage?

$30 was for haircut without a shave. I waited for the haircut because I wanted the experience.

tandemAssassin

Incidentally, I have been to Sultans of Shave for their Sultan's Shave. It is a pleasant and novel (though somewhat pricey) experience. The shave was reasonably fast with light touches. Certainly did not feel like what I expected for a blade shave! I would say it is worth the occasional indulgence if you are in the mood for some manly pampering (like how ladies would go for a mani or pedi); but, unless you are well off, you will have to revert to good ole gillette for your routine shaving needs.

noobzpro

i tried hounds few weeks back...have to say very nice fades...but hair grow very fast...within 2 weeks gg liao...planning to go to another barber before cny...

kampong boi

$30 was for haircut without a shave. I waited for the haircut because I wanted the experience.

how much is the festive hike? All haircuts come with shave or do you have to top up? But unlike the Sultans, the Hounds don't do washing of hair.

Overall, do you prefer Sultans or Hounds?

PetiaC

how much is the festive hike? All haircuts come with shave or do you have to top up? But unlike the Sultans, the Hounds don't do washing of hair.

Overall, do you prefer Sultans or Hounds?

Shave and haircut is separate pricing as all the different barbers. Is not festive hike, is perm hike since new year day.

Details of pricing can call them up to check.

Damn shiok Experience go for Sultan. Men deserved to be pampered too.

Haircut go for Hounds. But not everyone have the luxury of time. Go camp early before open shop, bring a book you been wanting to read etc.

Next I plan to try I need a hero and panic room. Then save up for Truefitt and Hill trip at KL. who else did i miss out?

Hakkaa

Walked past hounds a few times, even wanted to try it out once, but were told that they are fully booked. Seeing that they have changed the system to first come first serve basis, i'll go try my luck again soon. Definitely in one of my to do list before shaving my head for the nation.

Why Every Man Should Go To A Barber Shop | The Art of Manliness

A brief history of mens' barber shops and why "every men should go to the barbers"

So true.
The razor blade shave is always my favourite part.

kampong boi

Shave and haircut is separate pricing as all the different barbers. Is not festive hike, is perm hike since new year day.

Details of pricing can call them up to check.

Damn shiok Experience go for Sultan. Men deserved to be pampered too.

Haircut go for Hounds. But not everyone have the luxury of time. Go camp early before open shop, bring a book you been wanting to read etc.

Next I plan to try I need a hero and panic room. Then save up for Truefitt and Hill trip at KL. who else did i miss out?

who cut your hair at Hounds? anyone in particular?

ya, I think their pricing cannot really disclose openly and sometimes boils down to hair length.

Truefitt & Hill is at Ann Siang or you prefer to try the one at KL?

TPR has move to Geylang, no more at Neil Road

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.