The Heavy Metal thread

FMF

Its cool to see these bands coming to Singapore.
I for one, have been listening to metal for so long and have yet to experience live performance :(
I can't find much metalhead friends to accompany me lol :S

anyone here been to live performances before?

ya, me also never been to any live performances b4. too many stereotyppies when they see u dun look like a metalheads, so rather not go.

icyhell

I for one, have been listening to metal for so long and have yet to experience live performance :(

why need ppl to go wif u? i went alone for dragonforce and dream theater. the ppl to your left and right are all brothers when we headbang together lol

Atsushi

why need ppl to go wif u? i went alone for dragonforce and dream theater. the ppl to your left and right are all brothers when we headbang together lol

:s12:
man that must have been awesome. were there pits or anything hardcore going around in the audience?

Graven90

Where?

Hey guys, I recently started to listen to death/Folk metal and got hooked onto it, but the problem is that i have no idea where to get the CDs in Singapore. Im more into bands that sounds similar to Amon Amarth, Finntroll, Ensiferum, Etc.

Can anyone tell me where i can find these CDs in Singapore? :(

Thanks for the help

Atsushi

Hey guys, I recently started to listen to death/Folk metal and got hooked onto it, but the problem is that i have no idea where to get the CDs in Singapore. Im more into bands that sounds similar to Amon Amarth, Finntroll, Ensiferum, Etc.

Thanks for the help

Finding CDs here is difficult. Sometimes the shops don't really have what you want.
There are shops that do ordering for you.

There are places like HMV or Borders. You can try survey those places.

scytheavatar

BTW if you are into folk metal make sure that you check out Moonsorrow. You can start with Kivenkantaja:

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor

go solo is ok maa...nthg wrong oso...
juz hv to go on & enjoizz de muzik

anw... for me not much realli apart from slipknot/megadeth/ffaf..
:o
ya, me also never been to any live performances b4. too many stereotyppies when they see u dun look like a metalheads, so rather not go.

:eek: got such ting mehh?
once de muzik starts ... headbanging mode on. :D

yup...sure is. :D
:s12:
man that must have been awesome. were there pits or anything hardcore going around in the audience?

none tat i can rem anw.

you can try this shop, TO MEGATHERION at peninsula.

ruffly how muchie they selling de discx? any idea?
but tink mostly they selling death metal rite?

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor

Thanks for the help

HMV for a start...but de price is killer.
borders too...but gotta search thru de racks. ;)

Atsushi

haha, true HMV for a start. just to see what titles they hold but do search elsewhere to do some price comparison. They have tons of titles there, Its pricey cause metal albums are imported I believe.
But I don't know if they let you test out the CD :S

I usually go somewhere else and test their demo's first before making a purchase.

And yea, i've heard about that shop at peninsula but never got to see it. Cause I kept going round and round but never find it =.=,

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
haha, true HMV for a start. just to see what titles they hold but do search elsewhere to do some price comparison. They have tons of titles there, Its pricey cause metal albums are imported I believe.
But I don't know if they let you test out the CD :S

I usually go somewhere else and test their demo's first before making a purchase.

And yea, i've heard about that shop at peninsula but never got to see it. Cause I kept going round and round but never find it =.=,

HMV can test laa..bro.
juz bring it to de counter for a test listen..not de cashier's side wanns lehh...de other counter wif CD players there. can ask de staff there oso.
but dunch noes if muz buy after de test listen. :s22:

not peninsula plaza bro...peninsula sc..
next to funan wannss...got hotel there..
one shop at basement..frgt wat name liao..& another.. to mega therion is at top level..4th floor iirc..at de corner's end facing a sports shop. ;)

Atsushi

HMV can test laa..bro.
juz bring it to de counter for a test listen..not de cashier's side wanns lehh...de other counter wif CD players there. can ask de staff there oso.
but dunch noes if muz buy after de test listen. :s22:

not peninsula plaza bro...peninsula sc..
next to funan wannss...got hotel there..
one shop at basement..frgt wat name liao..& another.. to mega therion is at top level..4th floor iirc..at de corner's end facing a sports shop. ;)

haha gosh, didn't know i was so noob :eek:
thanks for pointing it out dude
better note it down, next time i go down there can make up stories i got lost :s13:

icyhell

kekeke if u din see a ton of guitar shops means u are in wrong place liaoz haha. was there yesterday.

FMF

to mega therion have a website too. it says they dun sell at cutthroat price but what i 've seen, it's not much diff with HMV. :)

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
haha gosh, didn't know i was so noob :eek:
thanks for pointing it out dude
better note it down, next time i go down there can make up stories i got lost :s13:

sure bro...no problemos.
but if u cant find wat u're looking for...dun whack me okiezzz...:p

to mega therion have a website too. it says they dun sell at cutthroat price but what i 've seen, it's not much diff with HMV. :)

hmmm doesnt sound tat convincing enuff.
me nvr stepped inside de store b4 tho me walked pass by many times...mayb to me...me sees tat de owner dun look kinda frenly enuff....
or mayb it's juz me. :o

Atsushi

haha yea, I just checked out their websites.
they're quite associated with many different labels I've never heard of before.
The only label familiar i see thats familiar is Nuclear Blast Records :s22:

I checked their online shop as well.
Lots of titles. lots of things I've never heard/seen before, wow.

Extreme metal :s12:

their prices are not at cutthroat prices but still :s22: its comparable to some other distros

Atsushi

sure bro...no problemos.
but if u cant find wat u're looking for...dun whack me okiezzz...:p

hmmm doesnt sound tat convincing enuff.
me nvr stepped inside de store b4 tho me walked pass by many times...mayb to me...me sees tat de owner dun look kinda frenly enuff....
or mayb it's juz me. :o

have you tried going to Inokii at Far East Plaza? they're on the 3rd floor somewhere deep in the back rows of shops.
They have a good collection of metal/heavy/tech/prog from what I've seen, never seen any extreme ones before :eek:
Their prices I must say, some albums that they hold, can really see a huge difference in price comparison as compared to big distros we've mentioned :S

If you're ever in town, give them a visit, the store owner is really friend.
I visit him every month without fail :S lol
I've gotten tons of my imports from him :s13: Good dude

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.