The Leather Thread

kurenai_89

^ the owner made it for me on the spot? im nt sure if its considered custom made. the card holder was a gift frm my friend though.

scasi

OGL CRAFTMEN FABIAN RECENT WORK
FG-WPMB-01.JPG

FG-WPMB-03.JPG

FG-WPMB-02.JPG

FG-WPMB2-01-2.JPG

FG-WPMB2-02.JPG

sky140885

What made is the shoe?What type of leather?

Most high end shoes are made of cordovan, lambskin or horween leather. Some even uses exotics hides like lizard crocs or snake.

for the leather soles, normally i suggest to add a similar color crepe sole from any cobbler shop before wearing, so the shoe can last longer, but i do know some people prefer to use leather solo.

Different leather you can use specific products for treatment, a mink oil can do the job with a brush for all leather. But you can also invest into water proof coating.

Think should be calfskin. Just mink oil will do? How about shoes polish/cream? Any recommendations for cobbler to fix my dress shoes?

scasi

mink oil and a soft brush will do the job. you can try far east shukey for cobbler works

WHATHELL

guys what colour belt is recommended to go with raw jeans ?
will those light colour belt kena stain by my jeans ?
im looking for veg tan belt :)

kingkongpingpong

a veg tan belt will definitely get stained by your raw denim. but its only part and parcel of wear. if you dont want to have to go through the pain of seeing your veg tanned belt get stained, mabbe you want to go for a darker coloured belt.

archbishopchia

scasi do you have a belt thats something like this?

tanner-london-standard-belt-front.jpg

i1bt5v.png

It is stated london tan. But will vegetable tan leather become this colour too??
Looking for something along the lines of bright/golden. Instead of dark brown.

teraboi

Obbi Good Label review

index.php

I bought a Premium Burg Veg Tan Short Wallet from Scasi a few months ago, and he requested for a review should I like the wallet. I am writing this review 4 months late, because I didn't want to post pictures of the wallet that would have otherwise looked exactly like the ones on the website.

Pictures below show the 4-months evolution of the wallet. Please pardon that they are not professionally taken.

289c0gm.jpg

Build quality:
The overall appearance of the wallet gave an impression that it will be a sturdy workhorse that can withstand abuse. Stitches are considered to be evenly spaced from the edges, and is tightly sewn adjacent to one another. The tassle that came with the wallet rein hook however was not exactly durable though, it got caught on a chair once and snapped when I tried to stand up. It's a pity since I liked how the tassle gave an aesthetic touch to the otherwise manly wallet. Once in a while, the liberty half dollar coin chonco had to be tightened with my fingernails, but I think it is something unavoidable. YKK zipper is used for the coin pouch, hence you can rest assure that high quality components are used for the wallet even for the minute details.

Overall: 4.5/5

2udyedi.jpg

Customer service:
Email response from Obbi Good Label was done efficiently and promptly. Scasi was very patient in answering all my queries about the leather goods before I placed my order, especially since this is the first time that I invested in a raw leather product. In terms of customizability, Scasi was also patient in trying to fulfill all my needs even though it is only a small leather good that I'm buying from him. He even accepted my request to add a wallet rein hook to a Burg Short wallet without any additional costs, and a personalizing touch by stamping my initial on the wallet. Basically, there was no bad points in terms of customer service. Even after sending out the item, he was constantly checking if I had received the wallet via mail. After that, he was still patient in advising me on the leather care.

Overall: 5/5

2588k7a.jpg

Shipping:
It took Scasi only a day to customize the wallet to my liking before I even placed my money deposit, just in case I didn't like it. Upon making payment, he promptly sent out the item as soon as he could. To my surprise, he did not charge me for the shipping. It was already part of the package price. The package came into my mailbox in just a few days after we spoke, wrapped nicely in a cloth pouch inside a bubble wrap envelope. Since these leather goods can be quite costly, registered mail might be preferred to prevent lost packages.

Overall: 5/5

2s8iee8.jpg

In conclusion:
My experience with Obbi Good Label was very pleasant, and I will definitely want to deal with them again. Right now I am looking to purchase a Veg Tan belt from them. :D While there are good artisans around like Tanner and Corter, it is nice to have such an amazing leather artisan back home, so we can save on international shipping costs. Support local brands!

scasi

scasi do you have a belt thats something like this?

tanner-london-standard-belt-front.jpg

i1bt5v.png

It is stated london tan. But will vegetable tan leather become this colour too??
Looking for something along the lines of bright/golden. Instead of dark brown.

Natural Hide do carries a few names, to name them, we have to put in a full list of them, example saddle hide, natural, veg tan etc. And London tan is also part of the list.

The color of the pics is achieve by a finish process, such as applying acrylic, or pre tan.

With a Natural Veg Tan belt you can achieve that color, once you bought a new natural belts, choose a bright sunny day, on a running tap, simply rinse your belt thru the water, use a dry cloth, hold near the buckle and pull towards the belt tips, similar action of stripping the skin from a snake.

After about 4 to 5 pull, tan the belt in the hot blazing sun. Tan until your desire color, oil them. You will get what you see there.

Some b4 after from SUFU forumer

xiaoyang

looking for a leather pouch tt can put iphone, sunglasses, wallet, keys.
Not too big any recommendations?

kazuki666

The color of the pics is achieve by a finish process, such as applying acrylic, or pre tan.

With a Natural Veg Tan belt you can achieve that color, once you bought a new natural belts, choose a bright sunny day, on a running tap, simply rinse your belt thru the water, use a dry cloth, hold near the buckle and pull towards the belt tips, similar action of stripping the skin from a snake.

After about 4 to 5 pull, tan the belt in the hot blazing sun. Tan until your desire color, oil them. You will get what you see there.

Some b4 after from SUFU forumer

very interesting fun trick.
this is done without mink oil?

kazuki666

scasi, are u able to replicate a Naked & Famous belt? Not really to make a fake pirated lah. :p something 15z 7mm for a waist28 guy

btw, just curious. when u all wear your natural tan belt, do u usually match your shoes in brown too???
Coz i find tan belt very cool, but i dun have a pair of brown shoes yet...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.