The Leather Thread

--Lipsu--

^
@goat1991, darkinening due to aging and darkening due to tanning not same same.
Like you said loh, suntanning it is overall dark, even because u delibrately flip it around checking its darkening effect.
Let it aged freely and naturally is different. Because you can't control the area liao.
Naturally oil from hands, atmosphere will affect the leather.

tanning is to darken the leather rite?

I should just wear it without minking and tanning if i wan my natural leather to stay as white as possible rite?

Suntanning is darkening leather, Natural Veg Tan leather.
No! You still need to apply oil, because it is maintenance to the leather, let it last longer.
Kuroba's post is correct.
Don't need very often in Singapore due to weather.
Don't worry, if u use pure mink oil (liquid type), it will not darken the leather, or rather it is just minimum.
If you want to let it aged naturally, do not use conditioner with ingredients like beeswax. Sure dark!

actually curious.
what is the process of suntan for? is it a recommended procedure?

I understand applying mink oil is gd for the leather, like conditioner to hair.
But is it possible to apply le, but not give it a suntan, just let it slowly evolve and darken naturally with the wearer?

Like I mentioned above, you need to apply oil for maintenance not to darken the leather. You can apply and don't suntan it.

No process for suntanning. Some people apply oil and suntan it, some peopple suntan then apply...it is up to you.
The longer you suntan, the darker you get.

hmmm didnt ask specifically for the name. but its stated as Natural? I suppose its the same category as those Veg Tan Leather?

Yes, usually Natural leather is Vegetable tanned leathers (Veg Tan)

Bumblebee Man

o i thought you mean you want it to be like brand new, like a pair of raw that will not fade.
i also never tan my wallet de, but oiling is a must for me on raw leather.
On side note...after getting many customised leather stuffs from different leathercrafters, i find that somehow workmanship and leather quality is always inferior compared to redmoon kc or even nudie....

aspanol

Going through with the order for 15 oz veg tan belt on Mon! Those that haven't order, faster order.

kazuki666

so far we seen pics of the belts darkening by tanning.
Anyone has pics of veg tan belt evolving naturally without help of direct suntan?

brianchia

so far we seen pics of the belts darkening by tanning.
Anyone has pics of veg tan belt evolving naturally without help of direct suntan?

http://barrettalley.com/images/leather-aging.jpg
Cannot post pic on hwz, shows google image instead.

PS: anyone knows where to get mink oil in sg? Price?

mikeeeey

http://barrettalley.com/images/leather-aging.jpg
Cannot post pic on hwz, shows google image instead.

PS: anyone knows where to get mink oil in sg? Price?
wah.. the 30days one still acceptable. 90days one can be so dark????

lazybonez

some tanner goods pics, pickup from needsupply

P1020160.jpg

P1020159.jpg

P1020155.jpg

P1020156.jpg

finally changed my wallet after 5 years. love it! :s12:

wanna ask some of the experts here. do i need to apply mink oil on the belt and wallet before use or after use? sorry if this question has been repeated over and over again

reddevil76

some tanner goods pics, pickup from needsupply

finally changed my wallet after 5 years. love it! :s12:

wanna ask some of the experts here. do i need to apply mink oil on the belt and wallet before use or after use? sorry if this question has been repeated over and over again

Dude, what is this Tanner Goods? Paiseh, I not so familiar with them. And their prices. Honestly, if i need to choose between this and the muji wallet someone else posted earlier, I rather take the Muji wallet.

Sorry if I am being frank, but I just like to point out for sharing.

- Corners are not rounded. This makes it easier for the maker. But for the user, it will be uncomfortable and eventually either wear out a hole in the jeans pocket, or if the jeans is tougher than the leather, then the corner will form into a crumpled corner.
- If they choose to use such a heavy thread, they should create a groove for the stitches to sit in, so that it is not sitting above the leather and prone to wear by abrasion. (this is the most basic knowledge even beginning leathercrafters should know) Side note: I have seen other works, where thread is sewn around the edge of the leather, wrapping it. This is the worst thing to do, making the thread protect the leather instead of the other way round.
- The edges are not beveled and burnished. Makes it look like a wham bam thank you ma'am job.

Dude, please understand I am not trying to burst your bubble here, but I feel I should share some things we should look out for when choosing leather goods so we are not mislead by marketing and sales hype. End of the day, we buy handcrafted leather goods not only because they look good, they are supposed to last very long. And to make sure they last, there are a number of basic things which most leather crafters never deviate from. Such as the above.

lazybonez

^ hi dude,

its alright, we can share our views and discussion here. im not really a "leather" person, these tanner goods belt and wallet infact is my first leather hoot in my 19 years of life. i read thru some of the review in sufu thread on tanner goods and i felt that they are really good. thats why i decided to give them a try. nv try nv know right? ^^

pics of the wallet after some time (diff colour from mine)

DSC_0034.jpg

img1091vh.jpg

their website: http://www.tannergoods.com/

reddevil76

[Bracelet and belt set!

The first keeper of a belt should be kept just next to the buckle. If you are using snaps, then it should be between 2 snaps. If you are using chicago screws, then between 2 chicago screws.

Only if you choose to make it with a second keeper, then that keeper can be free floating.

In this current design, only one keeper, and its free floating, the user might find the strap end dangling down out from the jeans belt loop if he makes any big movement.

reddevil76

^ hi dude,

its alright, we can share our views and discussion here. im not really a "leather" person, these tanner goods belt and wallet infact is my first leather hoot in my 19 years of life. i read thru some of the review in sufu thread on tanner goods and i felt that they are really good. thats why i decided to give them a try. nv try nv know right? ^^

pics of the wallet after some time (diff colour from mine)

[/URL]

Thanks, dude. I'm talkative type lah. Anyway, if the only selling point is that the leather will age after some time, then practically any veg tan wallet will do that, and for probably much less money and more attention to detail.

But then again, since you already bought it, enjoy it! :s12:

lazybonez

Thanks, dude. I'm talkative type lah. Anyway, if the only selling point is that the leather will age after some time, then practically any veg tan wallet will do that, and for probably much less money and more attention to detail.

But then again, since you already bought it, enjoy it! :s12:

yeah, what you said is right as well. but i alr bought it :s13:
thanks! :)

kingkongpingpong

Dude, what is this Tanner Goods? Paiseh, I not so familiar with them. And their prices. Honestly, if i need to choose between this and the muji wallet someone else posted earlier, I rather take the Muji wallet.

Sorry if I am being frank, but I just like to point out for sharing.

- Corners are not rounded. This makes it easier for the maker. But for the user, it will be uncomfortable and eventually either wear out a hole in the jeans pocket, or if the jeans is tougher than the leather, then the corner will form into a crumpled corner.
- If they choose to use such a heavy thread, they should create a groove for the stitches to sit in, so that it is not sitting above the leather and prone to wear by abrasion. (this is the most basic knowledge even beginning leathercrafters should know) Side note: I have seen other works, where thread is sewn around the edge of the leather, wrapping it. This is the worst thing to do, making the thread protect the leather instead of the other way round.
- The edges are not beveled and burnished. Makes it look like a wham bam thank you ma'am job.

Dude, please understand I am not trying to burst your bubble here, but I feel I should share some things we should look out for when choosing leather goods so we are not mislead by marketing and sales hype. End of the day, we buy handcrafted leather goods not only because they look good, they are supposed to last very long. And to make sure they last, there are a number of basic things which most leather crafters never deviate from. Such as the above.

thanks for the information. it tells me what i need to know when im looking out for leather goods in the future..

reddevil76

thanks for the information. it tells me what i need to know when im looking out for leather goods in the future..

No problem, dude. I dabble in some leather crafting myself. That's why those are the first things I noticed.

Initially, I poured in almost 2K investment in tools and materials. Then on and off, I still have to spend a few hundred in each shipment of additional tools and materials just to keep practising. Most things i made goes to friends and family. Sold a couple of wallets through a friend, but customers were fully aware a novice made them and they bought it with that knowledge.

I've stopped for some time due to financial situation. Still got tools, but no materials.

I've put in money, time and effort to learn this. That's why I am especially annoyed when people start advertising themselves as a leather artist when they could barely could make a simple item properly (and I am not referring to tanner goods). Not that it is my business, but sg leather crafters is a small community, it takes one mistake to create a bad name for all.

Leather craft takes alot of hard work and commitment just to get started. Mastering it is probably never. Even the masters will tell you everyday they still find something new to learn.

My philosophy is that if I start marketing myself the moment i learn how to make a key chain, next thing I know, I will be spending 80% of my time answering enquiries rather than practising. And things will be upside down. Soon, you will be accepting orders for things you do not know how to make. If you choose to take the money and deliver dissatisfaction, then the community is affected as a whole. Just look at the spa industry now.

Imagine this scenario, this local tattoo artist convinces you that he can do tattoo and you make an appointment with him to lay a tattoo this coming Friday. Then tonight, at home, you went to an overseas tattoo forum, and you find this guy asking people there how to put ink on a needle. What would you think of this guy? Why didn't he tell you he actually doesn't know and is using your skin (in this case, your money) as the guinea pig?

Actually, I saw this a few days ago and was very reluctant to be frank and direct about it. Then last night, I not only thought about what I went through, I thought about my friend who is doing it as a living. He learnt it the hard way. He took on apprenticeship, and guess what... for the first 3 months of his apprenticeship, his teacher made him do nothing except apply glue. Even applying glue has technique!

It is not wrong to not know and want to learn. But it is definitely not right to not be upfront of your intentions. If you don't want to go through the hard route, and wanna recoup your "tuition fees" as you go along, fine. Then be frank about where you are at now. Let people know that you need to practise and wanna make stuff to practise on, and you need to sell them to keep going. And your pricing takes into consideration of that. If they accept it, why not..

I think if you're reading this, you know who you are. I have chosen not to reveal your forum nick. But if you wanna challenge this post, then you have chosen to reveal yourself.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.