xcodes

I dun get this?

http://www.debunkingmandelaeffects.com/mandela-effect-introduction/

Mandela Effect Introduction

The Mandela Effect is a term for where a group of people all mis-remember the same detail, event or physicality. It is named after the instance in which a large group of people all shared the same memory that Nelson Mandela died prior to his actual 2013 death, usually some time in the 1980’s. The effect exploded in popularity on the internet when a peculiar example popped up where a majority of people seemed to have recalled the Berenstain Bears books as being spelled as “Berenstein” or some other variation, differing from the actual spelling.

The effect is somewhat different from a false memory as it effects large groups of people, seemingly without many connections and without the same emotional factors present. It also seems stronger and harder to escape the feeling that it’s simply a mis-remembering of a detail, which is why people are so adamant with claims of their memories. As such, it’s often been hinted at that the Mandela Effect is closely related to cognitive dissonance. Cognitive dissonance is the mental stress or discomfort experienced by an individual who holds beliefs, ideas, or values and is confronted by new information that conflicts with existing beliefs, ideas, or values.

Many Mandela Effects are usually trivial details about an oddly specific set of categories. These include things such as the how and when of celebrity deaths, misspellings (usually replaced or removed letters), placement of geographical locations, quotations within media, or alternate imagery.

It is also related to misconceptions in general, although, again is differentiated due to the obscure nature and odd feelings resulting from learning the reality. The solutions, explanations and reasons for the misconceptions are also cryptic and often misrepresented or unknown altogether.

xcodes

http://knowyourmeme.com/memes/the-mandela-effect

About

The Mandela Effect is a theory of parallel universes, based in the idea that because large groups of people have similar alternative memories about past events. Advocates of the theory claim that for these collective experiences to be true, the fabric of reality must have shifted at some point in the past, and that therefore not only do parallel, inhabitable universes exist, but that we are constantly switching between them.

Origin

The Mandela Effect was first described online in 2010, by a blogger named Fiona Broome. Broome described an experience at a convention called Dragon Con, where she discovered that others had a false memory similar to hers, which was that Nelson Mandela had died during his imprisonment in the 1980s.[1]
See, I thought Nelson Mandela died in prison. I thought I remembered it clearly, complete with news clips of his funeral, the mourning in South Africa, some rioting in cities, and the heartfelt speech by his widow.

Then, I found out he was still alive.​
Fiona recounted discovering many widely held alternative memories, including those of Star Trek episodes that had never actually existed, and the death of the Reverend Billy Graham.
In 2012, another blogger named Reece, who wrote on the Blogger site Woodbetweenworlds, expressed a similar idea, but this time about the spelling of a popular children’s book series, The Berenstain Bears. [2]
And then I saw the book covers. The ones in the squiggly bubble letters from the childhood. The ones I saw a hundred times a month from the formative ages of 5 to 9. The ones that every 20-something in the world will tell you read “Berenstein Bears”.

Except they don’t read “Berenstein”. They read “Berenstain”.​
Reece is a physicist, and he went on to describe a theory of the universe that would account for the Mandela Effect, based on a 4-dimensional universe.
I propose that the universe is a 4-dimensional complex manifold. If you don’t se habla math jargon, that means I propose the 3 space dimensions and the 1 time dimensions are actually in themselves complex, meaning they take values of the form a+ib, part “real” and part “imaginary”. Within this 4D manifold, there are sixteen hexadectants (like quadrants, but 16 of them), corresponding to whether we consider only the real or imaginary part of each of the four dimensions. In our particular hexadectant, the three space dimensions are real, and the time dimension is imaginary.​

Spread

Both the original post by Fiona Broome and by Reece have received hundreds of comments, and the Mandela Effect has received a significant amount of media attention, first by Buzzfeed in 2014 and then by many other media outlets in 2015, including Vice, The Onion A.V. Club, Seventeen Magazine, and WGN-TV. The reddit community /r/mandelaeffect was created in December of 2013, and has since grown to 5,163 readers; this area and the comments section of the Mandela Effect blog are where many users go to share their alternate group memories and seek out new ones.

Some of the most popular false group memories include:

• The death of Nelson Mandela during his imprisonment in the 1980s
• The spelling of the children’s book series “Berenstain Bears” as “Berenstein Bears.”
• The countries of Sri Lanka and New Zealand being located in different places on the planet.
• The number of American states being 51 or 52.

In addition, many users have tried to find proof of past information that would have given them the false memories. They claim that the proof either vindicates their memory as the “correct” version, or that it proves the above theory of the universe.

Medicated Oil

TS,

Thanks for taking the time to check out what I have shared.

For the people who lived long enough (more than 30 years), please kindly take a look at the logo for the car brand Volvo.

Try to see whether you spot any difference with reference to your memory.

shareholder

Consciousness can always travel across different dimensions, it is a matter of letting go of the fixation to current anchor. However completely letting go can alter the person perspective so much that it is impossible to get back to human state.

xcodes

Consciousness can always travel across different dimensions, it is a matter of letting go of the fixation to current anchor. However completely letting go can alter the person perspective so much that it is impossible to get back to human state.

you mean "ki siao"?

shareholder

you mean "ki siao"?

No lah, as the consciousness travel, it can be any being in the different dimensions. These beings may not be humans and the original consciousness may be unable to adapt properly and appear crazy in that dimension.

savoirex

TS,

For the people who lived long enough (more than 30 years), please kindly take a look at the logo for the car brand Volvo.

u mean volvo logo in the form of the male symbol? its always been that way as far as i can remember.

KSeet

TS,

Volvo got arrow one meh? hmmmmmmm

KSeet

Woah really wor!

When I watched Forrest Gump years back in cinema, I heard clearly he said "Life IS like a box of chocolate"

But how come now this replay changed to "WAS"?????

See at 0:35

:eek::eek::eek:
this is strange

DiamondMine

Tiagong someone went back and changed the past but only a select few (under some circumstances/conditions) remember.

xcodes

How come Interview With A Vampire became Interview With THE Vampire???? How come!!!!????

haha tio boh? Really strange right? Even Google search it, it's THE and no more A :s22:

xcodes

Do you all remember the instant noodles called "Cup n Noodles"? Or don't you?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.