The nation declines when....

stanlawj

In my view we're in late stage imperial decline.

This is the "looting and grifting" stage, and it's very rare for really talented people to want to go into government - they're much more likely to be found in tech startups or maybe in academic labs or at hedge funds.

There is no Kissinger or even Hermann Kahn or George Kennan in public service. It's not the structure of the US system, it has more to do with the vibes of this era.

PRC is in a totally different phase - lots of kids there want to work hard to build their Nation and still believe in heroic ideals. This follows the general pattern of imperial growth and decline: https://infoproc.blogspot.com/2013/10/the-fate-of-empires.html…

In my lifetime, the US passed through what Glubb called the Age of Affluence, and is beginning the Age of Decline.

"Money replaces honour and adventure as the objective of the best young men.

Moreover, men do not normally seek to make money for their country or their community, but for themselves.

Gradually, and almost imperceptibly, the Age of Affluence silences the voice of duty.

The object of the young and the ambitious is no longer fame, honour or service, but cash. Education undergoes the same gradual transformation. No longer do schools aim at producing brave patriots ready to serve their country. [ Or to discover great things for all mankind! ]

Parents and students alike seek the educational qualifications which will command the highest salaries."

The 21st century American reality (the Age of Decadence): "Yeah, I calculated the NPV, and, you know, it's just not worth it for me. I really believe in your project, though. And, I share your passion. Good luck."

addict951

In my view we're in late stage imperial decline.

This is the "looting and grifting" stage, and it's very rare for really talented people to want to go into government - they're much more likely to be found in tech startups or maybe in academic labs or at hedge funds.

There is no Kissinger or even Hermann Kahn or George Kennan in public service. It's not the structure of the US system, it has more to do with the vibes of this era.

PRC is in a totally different phase - lots of kids there want to work hard to build their Nation and still believe in heroic ideals. This follows the general pattern of imperial growth and decline: https://infoproc.blogspot.com/2013/10/the-fate-of-empires.html…

In my lifetime, the US passed through what Glubb called the Age of Affluence, and is beginning the Age of Decline.

"Money replaces honour and adventure as the objective of the best young men.

Moreover, men do not normally seek to make money for their country or their community, but for themselves.

Gradually, and almost imperceptibly, the Age of Affluence silences the voice of duty.

The object of the young and the ambitious is no longer fame, honour or service, but cash. Education undergoes the same gradual transformation. No longer do schools aim at producing brave patriots ready to serve their country. [ Or to discover great things for all mankind! ]

Parents and students alike seek the educational qualifications which will command the highest salaries."

The 21st century American reality (the Age of Decadence): "Yeah, I calculated the NPV, and, you know, it's just not worth it for me. I really believe in your project, though. And, I share your passion. Good luck."

PRC is in a totally different phase - lots of kids there want to work hard to build their Nation and still believe in heroic ideals.
You talking what mambo jumbo?
You dun know the term 躺平 or you think it’s coined based on just a few kids? :look:

stanlawj

Anyway, ts, fyi, I’ve just placed you in my personal list of ibs. :look:
It's not me... it's Steve Hsu leh. I just report what I read.
My own concern is whether Singapore has also entered the declining phase. It's our imperative to learn from those who advance ahead of us.

stanlawj

And ppl naively believe Donald Trump can save America.:rolleyes:
This is not about DJT saving America.
Is about whether citizens of a country know that they are the ones who cause this problem by voting for the leaders that created the problems.

klim668

It's not me... it's Steve Hsu leh. I just report what I read.
My own concern is whether Singapore has also entered the declining phase. It's our imperative to learn from those who advance ahead of us.
Edmw got many glass hearts can get easily offended when u talk bad about angmoh land. They think that any criticism of angmoh is blasphemy.

Fatdastardx

this guy drank too much china propaganda Kool-aid already still stucked in his 2013 thinking before xi took over. usa got a weak govt by design n is still led by visionaries and entrepreneurs like elon musk n sam altman not strongman bureaucrats like the country he now sees as "rising".

powerrr

Has Singapore entered the declining phase too?
Yes lor.

The poor getting poorer and some things which they could afford before are now beyond their reach (eg Kiwis, papayas (from $2.50 to $4.00)). One uncle I know goes to JB KSL Lotus to buy milk powder.

The cleanliness is no longer to be found except in touristy places such as MBS - there’s litter everywhere else - plastic wrappers, food containers, water bottles and cans, you name it.

The only solution to the ever rising PERSISTENT cost of living is irregular (eg SPECIAL payouts) impermanent payouts and vouchers.

stanlawj

this guy drank too much china propaganda Kool-aid already still stucked in his 2013 thinking before xi took over. usa got a weak govt by design n is still led by visionaries and entrepreneurs like elon musk n sam altman not strongman bureaucrats like the country he now sees as "rising".
The writer Steve Hsu is entitled to his views.
But for you to say Elon Musk and Sam Altman lead USA? Really? This is the kind of country you want for Singapore too?

GV3T-myaYAA1EhV

klim668

This is not about DJT saving America.
Is about whether citizens of a country know that they are the ones who cause this problem by voting for the leaders that created the problems.
U think they got many choices meh? U see this coming election, it's either the dumb guy or the woke woman.

Eliwood

Has Singapore entered the declining phase too?

SG will decline if we do nth while having too many bbfa with low tfr such that our population does not renew itself.

SG will also decline if our citizens start having an entitled mindset and start relying on handouts instead of working hard and improving ourselves.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.