The nation declines when....

Ubi-Warrior

And ppl naively believe Donald Trump can save America.
:rolleyes:

The majority clearly do not believe this , he hasnt had the most votes in either election he has been in.

Whether anyone "can save" America is up for debate though , they are in a very troubled place right now.

App Time!!!

Ubi-Warrior

China and N korea dun vote and they probably have the same distribution
So voting changes nth...

I am fairly sure China does have votes at all levels , I think some roles can even be independent as well , but higher up you go in the food chain the person have to be Communist Party Member.

As for NK I dont think they have voting at any level.

App Time!!!

eno_lc

Edmw got many glass hearts can get easily offended when u talk bad about angmoh land. They think that any criticism of angmoh is blasphemy.
Yea thats why we need more “neutrals” :s42:

ouroboroso

Hard times create strong men.
Strong men create good times.
Good times create weak men.
And, weak men create hard times.

― G. Michael Hopf, Those Who Remain

PeanutButtor

It's not me... it's Steve Hsu leh. I just report what I read.
My own concern is whether Singapore has also entered the declining phase. It's our imperative to learn from those who advance ahead of us.

10 years ago pappies play divide and conquer, suan siao sinkies for many things on media. Which leader in the world would nut do such thing. Now with diluted true blue sinkies numbers and greatly topping up with new citizens numbers, obviously this era will experience the national pride is dieing.

LWZ

Simi imperial... moi only know the Empire of Japan

Ubi-Warrior

Yes lor.
The poor getting poorer and some things which they could afford before are now beyond their reach (eg Kiwis, papayas (from $2.50 to $4.00)).
The cleanliness is no longer to be found except in touristy places such as MBS - there’s litter everywhere else - plastic wrappers, food containers, water bottles and cans, you name it.
The only solution to the ever rising PERSISTENT cost of living is irregular (eg SPECIAL payouts) impermanent payouts and vouchers.

If we can find a cheaper source of labour to flood the place with cleaners then all the garbage will disappear.

Would help if people just used the garbage bins also , but such is life.

App Time!!!

osirisx

Yes lor.

The poor getting poorer and some things which they could afford before are now beyond their reach (eg Kiwis, papayas (from $2.50 to $4.00)). One uncle I know goes to JB KSL Lotus to buy milk powder.

The cleanliness is no longer to be found except in touristy places such as MBS - there’s litter everywhere else - plastic wrappers, food containers, water bottles and cans, you name it.

The only solution to the ever rising PERSISTENT cost of living is irregular (eg SPECIAL payouts) impermanent payouts and vouchers.
Sure or not, still see many poor and needy voting pappies leh, see them jin heypi to receive goodies

If unheypi, anyone with a sound mind would vote for change no?

Whimsica

Hsu is talking about USA looking inwards (again) and its people becoming more individualistic (again), and wishes for another Kissinger.

He feels that China is in a completely different phase i.e. growing and looking outwards, and that its people are behind it.

So he's not wrong, although in this part of the world we also get to know of young PRCs lying flat and rich PRCs exiting their country and bringing billions along with them.

For Singapore, we started with nothing in 1965 and by 2004, at the end of GCT's tenure as PM, we have built a much-admired country and lots of successful home-grown companies and were navigating the world firmly and with pride.

Then, for some reason, the next gahmen, the 3G, started to have this idea that we need foreign "talents" and began the mass importing.

Any sinkie unhappiness or concerns are brushed off with "we need to stay open", "we need foreign workers", "we are a migrant nation", "dun be xenophobic" etc.

And we went through 10-15 years of seeing fake talents who couldn't otherwise land similar jobs elsewhere in the world behaving like lords here, damaging or even destroying our businesses and reputation, and practising their nepotism of hiring their own kind etc.

These shattered sinkies' confidence, optimism for future and sense of belonging.

Sinkies started to turn inwards, do the minimal and look short-term.

Some sinkies - surrounded by more foreigners than locals crowding up our public transport, public infrastructure and public spaces - started to develop bad habits like littering, not queuing, road rage, cycling/ riding PMDs irresponsibly, fighting, being a nuisance in public space etc.

So, yes, a nation is about its people and as a nation we have been declining.

In my view we're in late stage imperial decline.

This is the "looting and grifting" stage, and it's very rare for really talented people to want to go into government - they're much more likely to be found in tech startups or maybe in academic labs or at hedge funds.

There is no Kissinger or even Hermann Kahn or George Kennan in public service. It's not the structure of the US system, it has more to do with the vibes of this era.

PRC is in a totally different phase - lots of kids there want to work hard to build their Nation and still believe in heroic ideals. This follows the general pattern of imperial growth and decline: https://infoproc.blogspot.com/2013/10/the-fate-of-empires.html…

In my lifetime, the US passed through what Glubb called the Age of Affluence, and is beginning the Age of Decline.

"Money replaces honour and adventure as the objective of the best young men.

Moreover, men do not normally seek to make money for their country or their community, but for themselves.

Gradually, and almost imperceptibly, the Age of Affluence silences the voice of duty.

The object of the young and the ambitious is no longer fame, honour or service, but cash. Education undergoes the same gradual transformation. No longer do schools aim at producing brave patriots ready to serve their country. [ Or to discover great things for all mankind! ]

Parents and students alike seek the educational qualifications which will command the highest salaries."

The 21st century American reality (the Age of Decadence): "Yeah, I calculated the NPV, and, you know, it's just not worth it for me. I really believe in your project, though. And, I share your passion. Good luck."

Luckily TS not refer to sg.
Cos sg is not imperial country.

ouroboroso

Then, for some reason, the next gahmen, the 3G, started to have this idea that we need foreign "talents" and began the mass importing.

Any sinkie unhappiness or concerns are brushed off with "we need to stay open", "we need foreign workers", "we are a migrant nation", "dun be xenophobic" etc.
The old guard were against mass importation of foreign talent too. Their advice fell on deaf ears.

4WDKgzZSgLkVWhiiRkaE-zorNBVPY-HlgIliQIj-2eY.jpg
images

Whimsica

The old guard were against mass importation of foreign talent too

4WDKgzZSgLkVWhiiRkaE-zorNBVPY-HlgIliQIj-2eY.jpg
images
And LKY had mentioned he would want to have more green spaces in Singapore.

Oh and he didn't attend Parliament when it was debating and voting for the 6.9M Population White Paper.

This spoke volume.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.