The Nexus 4 Thread

HMAN

Received my N4 at noon. Unbox it, and realise there is some stain on the phone protective screen itself, then overall the box like not really new...

Can't bear to use it yet cos my screen protector, tpu casing still not yet shipped from qoo10, shipping tmr instead, sigh, shld have ordered earlier... cause thinking buy from shop or qoo10.

My sim card also haven go pay ppl cut. Thinking of updating to 4.2.1 when i reach home at night as mine comes with 4.2 after i boot on. After that go root it.

Has any user here rooted ur N4? xda N4 page like got multiple guide and got toolkit for rooting i think. Nv use toolkit before for my previous phone, so got any recommended rooting page that you guys use?

Since Nexus 4 only has one ROM type..rooting is simple..

1) Install Fastboot, ADB driver.., PLatform SDK..you only need adb.exe,fastboot and a few .dll files.

2) From phone...at least turn on Debugger option..if you have the Developer option hidden..i think is tapping the about button for 7 times to activate the developer option

3) Shutdown the phone and power up with-Hold both Up/Down volume button while power up the phone

4) Once device in fastboot mode.(read the screen that telling you the state of it).
=> Launch command prompt, Change Directory to the appropriate folder that contains the Platform SDK files .
=> Connect phone to the PC/Notebook..with the USB cable, wait till all driver installation complete..you should not get any error otherwise ..check before proceeding

=> Issue command."fastboot devices" ...see screen response..if there isnt any device listed..Check the driver installation from Device Manager..make sure Fastboot driver is installed properly..should be something like ADB Interface manager...

=> Issue command "fastboot OEM unlock".....this will wipe the phone data...backup all your stuff before you install any driver

=> Get the Recovery rom file for NEXUS 4 ,must be for NEXUS 4..code name is "Mako" , flashing wrong recovery file could brick your phone..

=> After Unlock..reboot device, download SuperSu.zip into phone memory.
Boot to fastboot mode.
Issue the following command. "fastboot boot recovery.img"
[recovery.img]=> the filename for the recovery rom.
Please take note that .."Fastboot boot" command is used..this is basically just to boot the recovery without writing the new recovery into the phone..this step is safe

=> Once Rommanager loaded..use "install from SDCard..." , trace to the SuperSu.zip folder..install this file..Voila..you are rooted..

Above steps of rooting Nexus series of phone...always works...

Learnt through this...you will forever beneficial and dont need to use unknown tool that will brick your phone..

The earlier you unlock your phone..the better it is as you dont need to back up much...

Mach3.2

Sadly, also no difference. Cold fix can't be done in 30secs without previously available ephemeris data. :(
Ijjt?

Will test again after I flash my n7 to cm10.1

Used gps test + to clear AGPS, turn off wifi and locked in 40s indoors. Tested on n7, where the GPS is more sensitive as compared to my gnex.

Anyway, that time went overseas, even with agpa data, took forever to lock, not to mention without the agps data.. but after awhile OK liao then come back SG kena the same problem.....

kennyboy

Ijjt?

Will test again after I flash my n7 to cm10.1

Used gps test + to clear AGPS, turn off wifi and locked in 40s indoors. Tested on n7, where the GPS is more sensitive as compared to my gnex.

Anyway, that time went overseas, even with agpa data, took forever to lock, not to mention without the agps data.. but after awhile OK liao then come back SG kena the same problem.....
Hard for u to test one lah, unless u tell me u wipe/flash then immediately test without data connection with video.... :D Even dedicated GPS hardware can't do 30s on cold fix, I really doubt an el cheapo GPS chipset in any of the tablets/phones out there will be better. :D

Last week I tested my N7 gps in Malaysia, no data connection. Took several minutes before I got a lock on. Even last time I did RSN GPS systems also cannot 30s fix.... :)

Use the app clear no use one lah....the device already know where u are aga aga liao.

http://gps.about.com/od/glossary/g/GPS_first_fix.htm

A "cold" start refers to a situation in which the GPS must acquire all data in order to start navigation, and may take up to 12 minutes.

A "warm" start means the GPS has most of the data it needs in memory, and will start quickly - a minute or less.

If a warm fix is around a minute, it's impossible for a cold fix to take 30s, no matter how good the conditions are. GPS technology has not changed much, just aided by data connections. :(

maxokw

Those who already using the N4, had you used your earpiece to call out and receive call?

does the other party able to hear your voice clearly or there will be lagging or unclear voice?

shroud

posting again,

got 3 spare pieces of bestskinsever.com full body protectors

should be arriving sometime next week

Mach3.2

Hard for u to test one lah, unless u tell me u wipe/flash then immediately test without data connection with video.... :D Even dedicated GPS hardware can't do 30s on cold fix, I really doubt an el cheapo GPS chipset in any of the tablets/phones out there will be better. :D

Last week I tested my N7 gps in Malaysia, no data connection. Took several minutes before I got a lock on. Even last time I did RSN GPS systems also cannot 30s fix.... :)

Use the app clear no use one lah....the device already know where u are aga aga liao.

GPS Time to First Fix - TTFF Defined

If a warm fix is around a minute, it's impossible for a cold fix to take 30s, no matter how good the conditions are. GPS technology has not changed much, just aided by data connections. :(
Then take that as a warm fix:o

WoShiPro

Those who already using the N4, had you used your earpiece to call out and receive call?

does the other party able to hear your voice clearly or there will be lagging or unclear voice?

Just tried i able to hear their voices but they cant hear me... and buzzing sound..

google and this is like a common problem..

any solution??

52gdpl

Just tried i able to hear their voices but they cant hear me... and buzzing sound..

google and this is like a common problem..

any solution??

If you root your fone, try to reflash your rom. If not, try resetting your fone. Youre one of those who got a buzzing in the earpiece. Go to xda. Maybe got some answers there.

ngsngn

for those using right now, did u all remove the screen protector that comes with it and apply ur own screen protector?

Mach3.2

for those using right now, did u all remove the screen protector that comes with it and apply ur own screen protector?
Imo, the screen protector that came with the nexus 4 is not as bad as the gnex one(Gigantic Galaxy Nexus in the middle of the screen protector..), so can leave it on there till the screen protector come lor.:s12:

ngsngn

haha, thinking of not removing it, since i feel is still ok, jz dat a small stain on the side of it.

anyone here using without casing? will it scratch the side grip? :o

HMAN

Anyone of you try out the LTE mode on Nexus 4 ? Of course you need to first subscribe to the LTE plan first..or borrow LTE SIM from friend to try that out

You can use the dialer to key in #*#*info*#*# to goto the phone testing menu and change the mode to LTE...currently it is working on 2100MHz ?

nats7798

I just received my phone.

Anyone can feel the yellow tainted screen?

Anyone the processor is damn good

I didn't know android could run so smoothly like iOS

Jumpman23

Anyone of you try out the LTE mode on Nexus 4 ? Of course you need to first subscribe to the LTE plan first..or borrow LTE SIM from friend to try that out

You can use the dialer to key in #*#*info*#*# to goto the phone testing menu and change the mode to LTE...currently it is working on 2100MHz ?

Tried that, doesn't work. Our telcos are on different bands... :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.