The Nexus 4 Thread

ricky1

my stock 4.2.2 unrooted not bad. run for 19 hours still got 52% battery. with my normal usage on my old optimus black with 2400 mah battery. already no battery liao.

hawthorne

FareBot works with JB. My friend's S3 and another friend's GNexus(4.2.2) both works

Let me qualify. It crashes when I presented it with a CEPAS EZ-Link card.

I have yet to test it out on Suica or a Pasmo card

hawthorne

do a adb devices and see whether your device is connected.

Did you install the driver from the toolkit or did it yourself? Your drive got install twice right? Try using the back usb port instead of the front if you still cannot detect your phone.

Have you unlocked your bootloader? You need it to root

or u can try a different PC or laptop?

Remembered back in the old days when I trying to flash my SGS2 or Jailbreak my iPad, 1 of my laptops always cause problems (even got instances where the device becomes soft-bricked)

pustefix

Technically 2A is the max current output the charger is capable of. So how much it actually draws depends on the phone.

I dunno if the phone has the capability to draw 2A if u use a 2A charger. Someone free can try using a multimeter to measure :D

I see a lot of posts about faster charging if a higher current charger is used but from what I've read it is not true. The modern mobile phone has the circuitry to limit the current that it is drawing from the charger to prevent damage to the battery. The phone will not draw more than what it needs.

Output current to charge mobile phone

hawthorne

I see a lot of posts about faster charging if a higher current charger is used but from what I've read it is not true. The modern mobile phone has the circuitry to limit the current that it is drawing from the charger to prevent damage to the battery. The phone will not draw more than what it needs.

Output current to charge mobile phone
Yup. That's my point.

The charger rating merely states what is the maximum power (or current) the device connected can draw. Similar to ur PC PSU. U buy a 1000W PSU, but it does not mean ur PC components will draw 1000W. It will draw as much as it needs or allows.

What I also means that, to satisfy ur curiosity, u can try connecting a 2A charger to the phone and tap a multimeter. See how much current the phone is actually drawing. This simple experiment will tell u if buying a charger of higher power is worth the $$. If the phone e.g. draws max 1.5A, then no point getting one that is higher than 1.5A

OT a bit. The Nexus 4 (powered by Snapdragon S4) has the capability to do quick charge. A quick charge allows u to charge the device up to 40% faster. Not sure if the stock ROM enabled this feature or not.

Qualcomm Quick Charge 1.0: Less Time Charging, More Time Doing | Qualcomm

pustefix

Actually you should buy the higher current charger so that you can charge any phone and maybe even your tablet fast enough. Thanks for the link about Qualcomm quick charge.

Avizoa

OT a bit. The Nexus 4 (powered by Snapdragon S4) has the capability to do quick charge. A quick charge allows u to charge the device up to 40% faster. Not sure if the stock ROM enabled this feature or not.
you need a custom kernel for usb fast charge

52gdpl

Just received my diztronic case. I notice the logo placement is different already.it is now at the bottom most.

xonix

Not sure if this is the correct place to ask but have there been any apps that are exclusive to JB only ?

i.e. Meaning the app won't work on ICS 4.0X roms at all

Gambler.

ykeen, i bought your overpriced screen protector and bumper last weekend from toy outpost at PS :D

i bought the nexus 4 niikin sp from toy outpost as well.. $12

but it doesn't fit well for the n4, you can see that the outer sides of the screen cannot be covered..

sian need to buy new sp

ltylty

how's the battery life with motley?

my sgs2 days with siyah wasn't really fantastic

best I got was 6+ hours of screen time for a full day on Wi-Fi. 3g with auto brightness on average will last a day with 4-5 hours screen time. I tried other kernel as well but motley just feel more smooth.

ferr4ri

Not sure if this is the correct place to ask but have there been any apps that are exclusive to JB only ?

i.e. Meaning the app won't work on ICS 4.0X roms at all

you can refer to this very useful list...

hxxp://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1992163

ferr4ri

best I got was 6+ hours of screen time for a full day on Wi-Fi. 3g with auto brightness on average will last a day with 4-5 hours screen time. I tried other kernel as well but motley just feel more smooth.

Pardon me if this feels like a hijack..

I got about the same on Harsh kernel.

You can give it a try... his kernel is optimized and he do not recommend using a kernel controlling app.

xonix

you can refer to this very useful list...

hxxp://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1992163

Tks...look good.

The list is short, that means most apps shouldn't have any compatibility issues on ICS 4.0x

hawthorne

The most shiok thing about nexus is the ability to be the first to receive updates straight from Google. For that reason I am sticking to stock ROM

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.