The Nexus 4 Thread

galapogos

for me, i'll be getting a nexus because i'm counting on developers to "do more" to it, compared to a phone that gets less dev interest/support after a while.
Any flagship phone that can be compared to a Nexus will get pretty similar developer interest and support. What exactly do you mean by "do more"?

KoBoyz

How many days we have been waiting for 3 weeks backorder ?
I'm eager to experience this phone already.
My shipping status still showing estimate shipping Nov 15. :D

JudeBox

Hi bros of hardwarezone. Im currently in a complicated situation and need some advice from you guys.

I've ordered a Nexus 4 from a fellow hardwarezone member at $530. However, i was told my order didnt get through and he offered to refund me back the deposit. I told him to wait for a few days before transferring back because i thought the restocks of nexus 4 will be up soon.
Then he message me, theres no way he will be able to order for me. Shortly after which, he message me again,saying that he has a new offer. He told me his friend requested him to sell a set of nexus 4 at $650 of his behalf. After some negotiations, the final price was $620. I didnt not request for him to transfer back the initial deposit because i dont see a need to as at the end of the day, i still have to transfer him $.
Right now, i have to backout from the sale/offer because of some personnel problem (my gf thinks I'm a carrot, kanna chop badly. lol). I requested him to transfer me back the initial deposit. But he said that, its considered an order not a simple selling of phone from his friend to me where in this case hes the middleman.
He said that a deposit is required in any transaction as they have to secured a service or product for the buyer. I totally understand the rationale of a deposit for any mass order. But in this case, is my situation considered an order? He told me his friend requested him to sell it of his behalf. It seem to me like i have said above, im buying the phone from his friend and he's the middleman.
Right now, he refuse to transfer me back the initial deposit because he insists its an order/:(

Need advice from you guys, greatly appreciate it.
Sorry for the WOT

Thanks!

52gdpl

hey guys. I just got the phone! anw, do a system update to your phone before you start using it. if not you might get a scare when you first use the phone, just like me. because some of the things like photosphere, "two finger notification tab" and etc wont work unless you do a system update.

Wow! So fast ah. how?

justln

Hi bros of hardwarezone. Im currently in a complicated situation and need some advice from you guys.

I've ordered a Nexus 4 from a fellow hardwarezone member at $530. However, i was told my order didnt get through and he offered to refund me back the deposit. I told him to wait for a few days before transferring back because i thought the restocks of nexus 4 will be up soon.
Then he message me, theres no way he will be able to order for me. Shortly after which, he message me again,saying that he has a new offer. He told me his friend requested him to sell a set of nexus 4 at $650 of his behalf. After some negotiations, the final price was $620. I didnt not request for him to transfer back the initial deposit because i dont see a need to as at the end of the day, i still have to transfer him $.
Right now, i have to backout from the sale/offer because of some personnel problem (my gf thinks I'm a carrot, kanna chop badly. lol). I requested him to transfer me back the initial deposit. But he said that, its considered an order not a simple selling of phone from his friend to me where in this case hes the middleman.
He said that a deposit is required in any transaction as they have to secured a service or product for the buyer. I totally understand the rationale of a deposit for any mass order. But in this case, is my situation considered an order? He told me his friend requested him to sell it of his behalf. It seem to me like i have said above, im buying the phone from his friend and he's the middleman.
Right now, he refuse to transfer me back the initial deposit because he insists its an order/:(

Sorry for the WOT

Thanks!

Contact him and say that if he doesn't refund, you'll post his contact number into hardwarezone Eat-Drink-Man-Woman section and your experience.

Also, make a police report about it if your problem isn't resolved.

I think the seller is trying to chop your carrot by bumping up the price since it's a hot item.

Sauron

Sorry for the WOT

Thanks!

Question is whether you have understanding between the "fellow HWZer" and urself that you will buy the phone from his friend/source and also agreed on the price, if yes, then you can only suck thumb, furthermore he's got ur money. Of course you can also try to offload to another carrot.

If not, just Sexpose the fellow.

JudeBox

Contact him and say that if he doesn't refund, you'll post his contact number into hardwarezone Eat-Drink-Man-Woman section and your experience.

Also, make a police report about it if your problem isn't resolved.

I think the seller is trying to chop your carrot by bumping up the price since it's a hot item.

haha. thanks for reply!

no lah. i was willing to get chop until my gf came into the picture lol. The problem right now is, is my situation considered a mass order? or just simply a "WTS NEXUS 4" on behalf of his friend?

JudeBox

Question is whether you have understanding between the "fellow HWZer" and urself that you will buy the phone from his friend/source and also agreed on the price, if yes, then you can only suck thumb, furthermore he's got ur money. Of course you can also try to offload to another carrot.

If not, just Sexpose the fellow.

ah? hes just said hes selling on behalf of his friend. The price wise, i was willing to get chop la hahahaha:s22:

The money was the initial deposit for the mass order of Nexus 4 at $530. in a simple "WTS blah blah" there isnt a need for deposit right? or am i wrong?

cheers!:s12:

Sauron

ah? hes just said hes selling on behalf of his friend. The price wise, i was willing to get choqp la hahahaha:s22:

The money was the initial deposit for the mass order of Nexus 4 at $530. in a simple "WTS blah blah" there isnt a need for deposit right? or am i wrong?

cheers!:s12:

Aiyoh, u happy he happy can liao lor. Just ur gf u managed to get discount lah, then use the "discount" to buy her dinner

Ratix0

Your deposit is meant for the mass order. You have the right to get it back. Unless you have agreed to buy the carrot head Nexus 4 from him at the carrot head price, which it can be interpreted as your deposit being "transferred" to that carrot head N4 if he request for a "deposit" in the first place. If he did not, then why is your "deposit for the MO" being held hostage for a totally different transaction?

E.g. You owe me money, I offer to buy you ice cream, you pass me money to buy ice cream, but ice cream store closed. Now I refuse to return you the ice cream money.

Its very immoral and unethical to do that, its literally forcing you to buy the carrot head N4. Sexpose him if he refuse to budge. However if you did say "YES" to buying the nexus 4 and using your current deposit as deposit for the carrot head nexus 4, then too bad. You've got no case here.

maxokw

Depends on what the "exact" conversation between you and the seller. any black and white...

when are they gg to restock the NEXUS 4!!!?? waiting, waiting, waiting.. :(

52gdpl

Many times ive seen this.... sell item cheap, then "no stock" becoz of demand. but have "special stock with special price".
Im not saying the seller is lying but it raises suspiscion. on the other side, they are not forcing us to buy... so no harm.

JudeBox

Your deposit is meant for the mass order. You have the right to get it back. Unless you have agreed to buy the carrot head Nexus 4 from him at the carrot head price, which it can be interpreted as your deposit being "transferred" to that carrot head N4 if he request for a "deposit" in the first place. If he did not, then why is your "deposit for the MO" being held hostage for a totally different transaction?

E.g. You owe me money, I offer to buy you ice cream, you pass me money to buy ice cream, but ice cream store closed. Now I refuse to return you the ice cream money.

Its very immoral and unethical to do that, its literally forcing you to buy the carrot head N4. Sexpose him if he refuse to budge. However if you did say "YES" to buying the nexus 4 and using your current deposit as deposit for the carrot head nexus 4, then too bad. You've got no case here.

I did say yes to buying the nexus 4 but i didnt say yes to using the initial deposit as the deposit for the carrot head nexus 4. In fact, the topic of deposit was left aside when he told me about the offer. *my fault* but at that point of time, since im getting from him, to me, there isnt a need to transfer me back the initial deposit, save the hassle..

Quoting from his message " Hi there, i do have some good news for you.. i hope its good news. I have a set of nexus 4 16gb from my friend who requested me to sell it. It would be according to the new market rate of $650. Would you be interested? You dont have to take up this offer. It's not mandatory don't worry, just helping my friend. Will still refund you the deposit even if you dont take up the offer"

I guess the last sentence implies that if i take up the offer, he still will refund me ?

JudeBox

Many times ive seen this.... sell item cheap, then "no stock" becoz of demand. but have "special stock with special price".
Im not saying the seller is lying but it raises suspiscion. on the other side, they are not forcing us to buy... so no harm.

yes the suspicion is there. but the temptation of getting nexus 4 is... bigger haha. only got myself to blame.:s22:
right now i just want back my deposit... :(

justln

I would demand my deposit back out of principles. Seriously, I doubt there is any friend at all.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.