The Nexus 5 Thread

glasstrap

If anyone wants to get Google Play Music, all you need is US VPN and a US Google account (with US address). Then just use the VPN to access music.google.com and activate your account. You won't need VPN to access or upload your music once you've activated.

For free US VPN, can check out toyvpn.com :)

Mattweiwen

it's not random, its for the credit card issuer to raise the red flag that the address is improper back to google when they submit their request for floating payment.

following that, google will void the order since they cant ensure if their payment request will be allowed

some banks did in fact call up the card owner to verify the transaction , therefore the it went thru a valid transaction.

So end up is depends on which bank you use lor

lordlad0

u bought US set since i no need LTE...

sharing shipping cost with a friend...

so my total net cost for shipping a 32gb Nexus 5 is SGD567.

lxsnipexl

u bought US set since i no need LTE...

sharing shipping cost with a friend...

so my total net cost for shipping a 32gb Nexus 5 is SGD567.

Top up 50 SGD can buy 32gb N5 from Jap (with LTE), IMHO much more worth it to future proof yourself, when the LTE speeds & coverage can only get better (hopefully) in the coming years.

chotemiya3

Mine delivered to my designated post office Liao.. Can collect liao
That's great. I called vPost they said my package is in Singapore but it's in the processing center and it's only the third day. The earliest i will get it is on Thursday. The tracker on the vPost website shows out for delivery. The tracking status is really pathetic. The courier will pick it up from the processing center and directly send it to me. If there is no answer, they will send it to the nearest Post Office.

lordlad0

Top up 50 SGD can buy 32gb N5 from Jap (with LTE), IMHO much more worth it to future proof yourself, when the LTE speeds & coverage can only get better (hopefully) in the coming years.
it's not in my plan for the next year to upgrade to a LTE plan..i am still using grandfathered 3G plan of 12GB...most LTE plan offer too little data for my consumption......some will say 3 or 4gb per month is enough...i consumed on average 6GB per month...so the paltry data offered by LTE is not enough for me...

plus, my grandfathered plan i pay less than 45 per month......you can't beat that price and that much data for a LTE plan...

and most importantly....those that saw my past post will know...i have all iterations of nexus phones since nexus one...so nexus 5 at most only last me for one year before i change again next year to whatever that's hot.....so 'future proofing' no point for me for a device that i am going to use for only 1 year max :D

moozmoow

My battery life so far, on stock ROM/Kernel, unlocked bootloader, rooted:

27lCLQj.png

Z6dRUZ9.png

sZcKqub.png

Surfing and whatsapp/Line/SMS

Charging again, not going to deplete the batt till <20% coz i nv bring out portable charger, and dont know what time i can go home :( :s22:

Pepe

Need to top up at least $70 for LTE set.

benthian89

it's not in my plan for the next year to upgrade to a LTE plan..i am still using grandfathered 3G plan of 12GB...most LTE plan offer too little data for my consumption......some will say 3 or 4gb per month is enough...i consumed on average 6GB per month...so the paltry data offered by LTE is not enough for me...

plus, my grandfathered plan i pay less than 45 per month......you can't beat that price and that much data for a LTE plan...

and most importantly....those that saw my past post will know...i have all iterations of nexus phones since nexus one...so nexus 5 at most only last me for one year before i change again next year to whatever that's hot.....so 'future proofing' no point for me for a device that i am going to use for only 1 year max :D

But hor, i think easier to sell off an LTE phone next year:s13:

jchoong

My ex-Jap 32GB Nexus 5 just delivered to me by vPost. It was received in Japan on Nov 7; so it took 3 business day to deliver to me - pretty good service, as far as I am concerned. I have used vPost several times before (ex-USA) and I knew I had to be patient (their track & trace system is quite hopeless); and that the shipment will arrive in good time and in good condition.

lordlad0

But hor, i think easier to sell off an LTE phone next year:s13:
I STILL have my nexus one till now nexus 4 (and soon nexus 5)...

yes, i never sell phones......so no point for me also in regards to re-sale value...

daniel_83

those who say no need LTE is just defending themselves

LTE is FASTER and coverage is everywhere liao
~7mbps VS ~60mbps speed

maybe you are still on the 12gb 3.5G plan, but how long can u siam?
eventually also will be LTE

moozmoow

those who say no need LTE is just defending themselves

LTE is FASTER and coverage is everywhere liao
~7mbps VS ~60mbps speed

maybe you are still on the 12gb 3.5G plan, but how long can u siam?
eventually also will be LTE

1 year lor, then get the next nexus liao :D

sWirL84

friend got extra 32GB Black from JP. can collect tonight from me.

EDIT: TAKEN

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.