The Nexus 5 Thread

shawniiex

I'm not sure if you guys are experiencing this, but my N5 seems to have a poor signal strength when it comes to wi-fi. In my bedroom which is about 15m from my living room where my router is, my N5 has very poor reception compared to my Z2 Tablet, which has excellent signal strength. My G2 has also significantly better signal compared to my N5. Am wondering if this is something in the "bug list" of the N5 and hopefully will be fixed in the next firmware release/Kitkat 4.4.3.

Nope, no wifi issues, probably something a kernel can help with.
I remember my galaxy nexus had a specific kernel which improved wifi.
Not sure about now though.

My router is about 10m away with a wall/door in between, on 2.4ghz i still get max bars.

DXMachina

Nope, no wifi issues, probably something a kernel can help with.
I remember my galaxy nexus had a specific kernel which improved wifi.
Not sure about now though.

My router is about 10m away with a wall/door in between, on 2.4ghz i still get max bars.

Hmm..I'm still on stock for everything. I don't get more than 2 bars at all...perhaps it's time to explore further. :) Are you using a specific kernel, or stock?

shawniiex

Hmm..I'm still on stock for everything. I don't get more than 2 bars at all...perhaps it's time to explore further. :) Are you using a specific kernel, or stock?

But if you go nearer to your router does the signal increase?
Also, even though only 2 bars, does it really affect your browsing speed?
Like does the same page, eg. hwz.com load slower on your n5 than your tablet?

kEvinErd

u using starhub fibre de modem?\
mine 2~3 bar, sometime 1 bar but speed still okay
Eh I'm on Starhub fibre too. Router in living room. In the bedroom, all my gadgets ie laptop, ps3, nexus 5, HTC one m8, iPad, 3ds get lousy signal. Hdb unit btw.

Is it a Starhub fibre thing?!

Nuclear Boy

Eh I'm on Starhub fibre too. Router in living room. In the bedroom, all my gadgets ie laptop, ps3, nexus 5, HTC one m8, iPad, 3ds get lousy signal. Hdb unit btw.

Is it a Starhub fibre thing?!

Doubt so lah. Signal strength (of wifi) and connection quality/speed (of your fibre) are two different things. Most likely is the router. Let's say if you are in your bedroom with door closed, signal strength would definitely reduce slightly. Try check signal strength when right in front of the router?

DXMachina

But if you go nearer to your router does the signal increase?
Also, even though only 2 bars, does it really affect your browsing speed?
Like does the same page, eg. hwz.com load slower on your n5 than your tablet?

Yes signal def indreases normally when I go near. In my bedroom, not only is my N5's browsing speed slow but the wi-fi signal gets lost v frequently. My N5's speed is always at 5Mpbs with "Fair" or "Weak" signal strength but my Z2 Tablet is constantly at 72Mbps with an "Excellent" or "Good" rating, with blazing fast surfing speeds.

I have just flashed to Franco kernel but it doesn't help.:(

u using starhub fibre de modem?\
mine 2~3 bar, sometime 1 bar but speed still okay

Nope, I'm on Myrepublic fiber. To add on, I'm using the Asus RT-N66U router (http://www.asus.com/Networking/RTN66U/) which is supposed to be a better than average model, so I doubt it is the router's issue.

shawniiex

Yes signal def indreases normally when I go near. In my bedroom, not only is my N5's browsing speed slow but the wi-fi signal gets lost v frequently. My N5's speed is always at 5Mpbs with "Fair" or "Weak" signal strength but my Z2 Tablet is constantly at 72Mbps with an "Excellent" or "Good" rating, with blazing fast surfing speeds.

I have just flashed to Franco kernel but it doesn't help.:(

Nope, I'm on Myrepublic fiber. To add on, I'm using the Asus RT-N66U router (Networking - RT-N66U) which is supposed to be a better than average model, so I doubt it is the router's issue.

Dude, honest to god i'm on the exact same ****ing setup as you.

MR user, N66u, you know can increase TX output of the n66u right? Which increase the power = bigger range theoretically.

DXMachina

Dude, honest to god i'm on the exact same ****ing setup as you.

MR user, N66u, you know can increase TX output of the n66u right? Which increase the power = bigger range theoretically.

Haha nice! But honestly, I didn't go mess with my router's settings as I'm quite the networking idiot. Is there any drawback to increasing this TX output besides consuming more electricity?

shawniiex

Haha nice! But honestly, I didn't go mess with my router's settings as I'm quite the networking idiot. Is there any drawback to increasing this TX output besides consuming more electricity?

Negligible increase in bills. At most what 2 cents more per month? Haha.

Phone can flash things.
N66u also can flash things =)
Check out the networking thread in hwz. Think n66 thread need find quite old liao.
Using merlin build of software.

||||||||||

Report: Nexus program retiring next year, Android Silver replacing it

bye bye nexus........

ud8YtTJ.jpg

shawniiex

Nice, looking forward. Only hope that development will be swell on those phones as well.

DXMachina

Nice, looking forward. Only hope that development will be swell on those phones as well.

Although chances are slim, I hope the "minimalistic" approach of Nexus devices remains, for both the design of the devices as well as the software.

I mean, look at the N5. Clean black front slate, classy matte back with a simple label. What's not to love? OEMs mean that logos will probably be plastered on the front, sigh...

kEvinErd

Although chances are slim, I hope the "minimalistic" approach of Nexus devices remains, for both the design of the devices as well as the software.

I mean, look at the N5. Clean black front slate, classy matte back with a simple label. What's not to love? OEMs mean that logos will probably be plastered on the front, sigh...

Yea.. Nexus 5's clean look (I mean the physical appearance not software.) was one of the major pull factor for me.

Can never understand why manufacturers like to put their logos on the front of the phone. Advertising to the user of the phone, ie someone who already bought the phone, just doesn't make much sense to me.

shawniiex

Yea.. Nexus 5's clean look (I mean the physical appearance not software.) was one of the major pull factor for me.

Can never understand why manufacturers like to put their logos on the front of the phone. Advertising to the user of the phone, ie someone who already bought the phone, just doesn't make much sense to me.

Haha. Thought you enjoying your HTC One very much?

||||||||||

Next time there will only be developers edition phones that cost a bomb during launch

ClockWork

while the nexus 5 is about 6 months old, perhaps it's a good time to buy one now, before the nexus programme ceases to exist :(

jtec14

while the nexus 5 is about 6 months old, perhaps it's a good time to buy one now, before the nexus programme ceases to exist :(

you can wait a while to see, before N5 launch in Oct13, Google actually slashed N4 price.

If the article is true on demise of Nexus programme, I may get another set of N5 for keeping if price slashed.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.