the ONEPLUS 3

kashix

I am interested. My OPO is slowly dying.

sorry bro, you missed it at a good price hahaha, I sold lower than expansys :p, sold to a very patient bro here in hwz, even though he scold me before cause I very fickle minded but yeah, still a nice guy hahaha.

batboyz

for custom apps it is understandable but not tolerable for hangouts which can be removed since as old as 4.2
in older versions there are ways to remove already

oh i like to apologize that i had mistaken this 3t to be top of the range and set my expectations too high
seems like this phone is only a mid range
http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/feat...ors-choice-part-1/best-mid-range-smartphone-0
guess the unremovable hangouts is a non-issue

I can't remember exactly when Hangout was a requirement to be one of the preloaded G apps in any of android phones released which have to go through Google certification. Having said that, before 1st Dec 2016, any certified android devices with GMS, would be required to have hangout preinstalled and preinstalled apps cannot be removed, at least not with its stock firmware, otherwise it would have failed Google certification.

And just a quote:

The key thing to note here is the Google is not mandating this change, an OEM can still preload Hangouts if it chooses to do so, even though most probably won’t. As AP notes, many OEMs will probably take the opportunity to push its own messaging app, or preload another option that it prefers. Hangouts will, of course, also be available for download on Google Play.

It really depends on your definition of "top of the range" or "flagship". OP3T is obviously OnePlus's flagship and top of the range. However, it may not be the case if compared with other devices, depending what you're comparing. Some mentioned it's mid-range/mid-tier considering its prices. Nothing right/wrong, different expectation/mindset.

kashix

man was charging my phone then took it up to see how much % was charged, immediately miss the op3t dash charging ... every manufacturer should do it for their phone, so amazing! :s12:

hsm1user

Yeah I believe 1 day if I were to consider selling off my OP3T, dash charger will be a function that make me reconsider

man was charging my phone then took it up to see how much % was charged, immediately miss the op3t dash charging ... every manufacturer should do it for their phone, so amazing! :s12:

kashix

Yeah I believe 1 day if I were to consider selling off my OP3T, dash charger will be a function that make me reconsider

Hahaha who ask u go sell? :s13:

boh bian leh guys, have to let go fast if not later depreciate more, I held on to it for 2-3 days, have to sell at a loss already. Btw, I owned the OP3 also, also sold it away after a week. I really don't like the overall experience, very hard to justify using it cause all the apps on OP3T performs so much better on my i7+. I use my phone for both personal usage and work usage, so after weighing the cons and pros, this device is really not suitable for my usage. okay below are my personal opinions, just my own thoughts on the product, I'm not trolling, fanboy-ing or flaming or whatsoever.

Pros of OP3T
-Super fast fingerprint scanner/unlock - my god I think it's the fastest I've used, on par or even faster than my iP 7+.

-Super fast charging, 30 mins charge can fill up 3/4 of the battery, all manufacturer should implement this into their charging. this thing is a total game changer and it really changes ur habit on how you charge your phone.

-build quality, the built quality is superb, kinda reminds me of my htc m7/m8 phone.

-unlock bootloader/root, op3t is very easy to unlock bootloader and root, enabling you to run other roms or other kernels without voiding the warranty (not that it has any local warranty to begin with) just by changing the cpu governor in the stock kernel from "interactive" to "conservative" or "ondemand" , the phone really flies, this was the 1st thing I did when I got the phone.

Cons of OP3T
-Subpar display, even when oneplus say that the display is current gen AMOLED from samsung, manufactured with specifications from OP, I don't buy it. Just compare the screen to the S7, we don't need to compare the resolution, just compare the brightness and clarity. No matter how you look at it, corners were cut, the screen is indeed subpar. S7 has the best screen on the market currently, period. I'm not saying the display is not good, it is decent but if this is exactly from samsung current gen amoled display, this is subpar at best.

-Touch latency, the phone has this touch latency/delay issues, even when you compare it to another android phone. Nougat 7.0 fixed it up a bit but still, it's still noticeable, especially when you type fast and scrolling.

dribee

no offense, the huawei skin on their phone, i think you kill me if u want me to use any of their phone except the nexus 6p. go for the op3t is better!

Thanks all, i am totally foreign to flash, kernel and all the reprogramming stuff. I dun even know do those to get what benefit. Izit complicated or risky? If have clear unmistakable instructions, I might consider.

Otherwise, it's gonna be the mate 9 or upcoming P10 for me.

kashix

Thanks all, i am totally foreign to flash, kernel and all the reprogramming stuff. I dun even know do those to get what benefit. Izit complicated or risky? If have clear unmistakable instructions, I might consider.

Otherwise, it's gonna be the mate 9 or upcoming P10 for me.

I personally don't recommend if you're totally foreign to flash, kernel and stuff to try it out. A lot of ppl online bricked their phone because they don't know what they are even doing, you need some basic knowledge to get started, no doubt. If you're happy with the phone as it is (basically stock) then OP3T is okay. It's just that if you perform small modification to the phone such as changing the cpu governor, you see a very big improvement in the performance of the phone. I give you an example of what I feel on the improvement, once u change the governor, scrolling pages/opening apps/closing apps doesn't feel sluggish anymore, it feels that it's running on full FPS instead of dropping FPS. to do this mod, you need to root and unlock ur bootloader, which will render ur phone to be deemed as "insecure", apps such as android pay and banking apps will not work. Is it worth it? For me, yes, If I'm using, it's worth it. To the general user, I think most will not like the idea of that. If you're looking for a plug and play phone, I Think mate 9 or P10 is more suited for you. I even think that the P10 looks really cool, the blue color is love!

KeYoKe

I personally don't recommend if you're totally foreign to flash, kernel and stuff to try it out. A lot of ppl online bricked their phone because they don't know what they are even doing, you need some basic knowledge to get started, no doubt. If you're happy with the phone as it is (basically stock) then OP3T is okay. It's just that if you perform small modification to the phone such as changing the cpu governor, you see a very big improvement in the performance of the phone. I give you an example of what I feel on the improvement, once u change the governor, scrolling pages/opening apps/closing apps doesn't feel sluggish anymore, it feels that it's running on full FPS instead of dropping FPS. to do this mod, you need to root and unlock ur bootloader, which will render ur phone to be deemed as "insecure", apps such as android pay and banking apps will not work. Is it worth it? For me, yes, If I'm using, it's worth it. To the general user, I think most will not like the idea of that. If you're looking for a plug and play phone, I Think mate 9 or P10 is more suited for you. I even think that the P10 looks really cool, the blue color is love!

Now pro liao lor :s13:

kashix

Now pro liao lor :s13:

How can I not be, I learn from the best, bro KeYoKe! for as a long as I can remember, I started to tinkle with all this since my galaxy nexus day, but back then dont have magisk or what and the popular custom recovery back then wasn't TWRP, I think it was CWM, at that time TWRP was just a beta/WIP. It's been a really long day, flashing things non-stop, finding the perfect combination of rom and kernel, my god, that was some effort and hardwork, finding wakelocks and stuff hahaha. :s13:

but really heng I hooted the op3t instead of the s7 edge, if not regret, anytime lose 300+ phew ...

rAcEr

Well I'm the guy who bought over the op3t from kashix. So far so good it's really fast compared to my s6. Still getting used to the size though.

On a separate note I find that the spigen ultra hybrid is a tad too thick and heavy for my liking. Any recommendations for a thinner casing with slightly less protection?

rAcEr

I think for the money and the close to stock android experience this phone is really good value. If u look at the Google pixel I think the specs are similar but the price is....

KeYoKe

How can I not be, I learn from the best, bro KeYoKe! for as a long as I can remember, I started to tinkle with all this since my galaxy nexus day, but back then dont have magisk or what and the popular custom recovery back then wasn't TWRP, I think it was CWM, at that time TWRP was just a beta/WIP. It's been a really long day, flashing things non-stop, finding the perfect combination of rom and kernel, my god, that was some effort and hardwork, finding wakelocks and stuff hahaha. :s13:

but really heng I hooted the op3t instead of the s7 edge, if not regret, anytime lose 300+ phew ...

Last time rooting is so difficult. Now easy la lol. Ya CWM is good, missed the old days when i am rooting my galaxy s2 and note 3. I still remember i am panicking when my phone refuse to boot hahaha

Good choice la. S8 coming out. No point hoot samsung liao

KeYoKe

Well I'm the guy who bought over the op3t from kashix. So far so good it's really fast compared to my s6. Still getting used to the size though.

On a separate note I find that the spigen ultra hybrid is a tad too thick and heavy for my liking. Any recommendations for a thinner casing with slightly less protection?

Nt much case for op3t tbh.. u can try source out from taobao ba. Get those thin tpu case 0.4mm or wad de

KeYoKe

I think for the money and the close to stock android experience this phone is really good value. If u look at the Google pixel I think the specs are similar but the price is....

Pixel xl is really exp. I wont go and hoot that. I am always looking for cheap and good stuffs hahaha. So definitely out of my league now

kashix

Last time rooting is so difficult. Now easy la lol. Ya CWM is good, missed the old days when i am rooting my galaxy s2 and note 3. I still remember i am panicking when my phone refuse to boot hahaha

Good choice la. S8 coming out. No point hoot samsung liao

I ordered the usb jig from ebay i think, to make my phone boot up after bricking or smth, there's this small usb jig that can make the phone alive after stupid mistakes LOL, from S2 time, I flashed CM on S2.

hahaha good price for u :s13: enjoy your new toy, the ultra hybrid I think just nice, a bit thick for protection purpsoes but not too heavy uh ....

hahaha, can make it even faster :s13: root and change cpu governor ;) hahaha

I think pixel overpriced even though they have the best camera on android due to the algorithm by Google.

KeYoKe

Enjoy the phone for those who just got it. Anything jus feel free to ask here and we will try to help

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.