the OnePlus 5 !!!

JessKoh

Actually I find that the Oneplus 3 camera sucks big time. Was using the Note 7 before sending it back to its grave and the quality in low light is so noticeable. Is it just me or others have the same experience? Pictures are kinda grainy.... Blurry....

Sent from OnePlus ONEPLUS A3000 using GAGT

kennyboy

Few plus points for me:
- Much nicer feel in hand for the OP5 (narrower body)
- Battery life is really impressive
- SD835 is a beast when it comes to performance and battery efficiency
- OxygenOS 4.5.5 has some nice additions (not sure if 3T will get feature parity)
- Speaker is louder
- supports a lot more LTE bands (convenient for travelling)

Downsides:
- Dual camera is not super useful for a few reasons. No matter for zooming or portrait mode, only works in good lighting. It lacks the OIS that the OP3T has, so lowlight isn't as good. Maybe still need more tuning, image processing is quite underwhelming too. In daylight the colours are nicer, HDR mode works better, and for just viewing on your phone, it's still nice though.
- Also sort of camera related. The camera lens seems to be just glass now whereas 3T used sapphire glass.

To me if the OnePlus 3T is fast enough for you, good enough performance, and you don't really travel much, probably not a huge upgrade. If it had water resistance though, i think will tip the scales a little.

All the "missing" stuff will come in the 5T. :D

Alexz_Hong

Actually I find that the Oneplus 3 camera sucks big time. Was using the Note 7 before sending it back to its grave and the quality in low light is so noticeable. Is it just me or others have the same experience? Pictures are kinda grainy.... Blurry....

actually they improved the lowlight performance with the 3T. I dug out some older samples for comparison. All cropped in a little. Do note because note7 is 12MP only so naturally less details, so no point comparing that. Just showing that the 3T actually did perform quite okay.

Also all the photos were taken on different days, so take with grain of salt. But it's lowlight, so the difference in lighting shouldn't be a huge difference. All taken in full auto mode.

OP3
2017-07-13.png

OP3T
2017-07-13.png

Note7
2017-07-13.png

OP5
2017-07-13.png

kennyboy

Note 7 at least double the price....if comparable then Samsung siao liao.

Alexz_Hong

I was tempted to change from 3T because of the dual camera / portrait mode photography ....

After reading your review, i think i better stick to my 3T :D

It's still a noticeable improvements la, and if you really want to use portrait mode sure, but just have to take note of its limitations lor. Like the speed is really noticeably faster, and battery life is great too.

If you're in the market looking to buy either the 3T or 5, the difference in price right now on qoo10, might mean the OP5 is probably the better buy. Then just hope OP5 will improve the camera as promised. It is possible to do good EIS for video in 4K, like the Moto X Pure for 2015 actually did a pretty good job at that. So got hope.

But upgrading from 3T is a bit harder to justify IMHO.

Anyway, finished up my video review for anyone who's interested. Or just read the brief summary earlier if you don't have the time. :s13:

Edit: just to add on a bit. Like if you look at the price on Qoo10 (w/coupon), it's not a bad buy. Just have to know what compromises you are willing to accept for that price. It is still cheaper compared to S8, XZP, U11, and G6 by varying amount. It has one thing that it really excels in which is the software experience. It's a bit subjective, but I like most of the things that oxygen os provides, especially the customisation options. Performance wise it is up there with the SD835 phones, and the fact that battery life is pretty good helps too.

Myu~sun

It's probably not original. You can also get them on Taobao for under $20 - charger plus cable. They word it carefully but it is quite obviously not original.

Sent from HUAWEI MHA-L29 using GAGT

I guess we wont know whether its original anot since it also support dash charging and the charging speed is the same too.

taobao u still need to ship added also need maybe 2x ?

still waiting for spigen or ringke
rearth de case .

kashix

how's everyone rocking their OP5 so far? :) haven't seen a OP5 user out in the wild yet :s13: still on the hunt for TG and casing :(

batboyz

I wouldn't say OP3 cam as sux big time. It is not the best sure, but IMO, it's good for the price. In the same price range, can't really expect much in terms of low light performance. Mentioned pictures are grainy, etc, this is related to its low light performance. Its low light performance is not one of the best, but also not the worse. Having said that, it just does not make sense to even compare it with Note 7, because of 1) price, 2) dev team. I am pretty sure you were speaking of auto, which relates to internal image processing. Can't expect OnePlus to be able to implement same song level image processing. Even LG is not even there, let alone OnePlus.

JessKoh

Quite true but also quite sad. After using the Note 7 and due to the battery incident had to return to Samsung, the camera was never the same for me again. And the fact that it does not have a memory card slot... Also... But still liking it and still my main phone now.

bawawaw

Depends if the pixel is still mint. Note that it doesn't have warranty here, so check it thoroughly. Also, I think I saw someone in Carouhell selling 5" 128gb pixel around 600+.

Is it worth to have one to one trade of OP5 64GB with Pixel 128GB? Thanks.

waterballoon

oh my God Alex the sample photos you posted... OP3T looks best to me leh. Note 7 one looked muddy and OP5 is just down right disgusting - looks like an Xperia Z2 photo

Alexz_Hong

oh my God Alex the sample photos you posted... OP3T looks best to me leh. Note 7 one looked muddy and OP5 is just down right disgusting - looks like an Xperia Z2 photo

:s13: But to be fair Note7 only 12MP, so it's going to have less details when crop in.

BTW, OP5 just showed up on IDA site. Supplier is A-Mobile. So good sign there.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.