the ram confusion

Chevalier

Hi guys,

well its been about 6 years now since i moved over to the mac platform.

now i'm back and im building a gaming pc\photo editing rig

This will be built as a hackintosh also hence coffee lake is not compatible.

Confirmed parts
-i7 7700K
- Asus ROG Maximus IV HERO
- 1080ti
-XB271HU monitor

now the ram
where to get from and what brand?? im looking at about 16gb

also, does the speed of the ram really matter that much? most sites say no but i would rather hear from actual users(you!)

Irenicus

Now it's not a good time to build an Intel PC as they will be launching the new generation Coffee Lake CPU on the 21st Aug. I suggest that you wait for the launch and compare the performance with AMD before making a decision.

If you want to buy now, can consider Ryzen 5 1600 or Ryzen 7 1700. As they have more cores and threads compared to current generation Intel CPUs.

Chevalier

Now it's not a good time to build an Intel PC as they will be launching the new generation Coffee Lake CPU on the 21st Aug. I suggest that you wait for the launch and compare the performance with AMD before making a decision.

If you want to buy now, can consider Ryzen 5 1600 or Ryzen 7 1700. As they have more cores and threads compared to current generation Intel CPUs.

sticking to intel cos ill be building it as a hackintosh and dual boot windows 10

already have the build set, just the ram now sure which to pick

mastersyong

Might as well wait for coffee lake since only a few months more. With the current rumours floating around, the i7 7700k might be equivalent to coffee lakes i3 offerings.

Ryzen also can be used for a hackintosh just need to search for the relevant guides

ZrE0_Cha0s

den what are the apps u using to use on mac? Finalcutpro? or doing iOS app developing?

depends on what u using, but i did suggest u check over the hackintosh for more details on the compatible parts.

Chevalier

thanks for the input guys, noted that from a windows POV, getting intel platform now is loco.

however, to put it simple, DDR4 2400 VS DDR3200, is the price premium justified?

Encrypted11

Hackintosh need to use slightly legacy hardware.

Because of the EDID stuff, kext and Mac hardware drivers that need to be spoofed to let the OS accept it.

Bleeding edge hardware may not work well, thatzs why TS made his choice.

And I thought Gigabyte boards and their UEFI worked the best with Hackintosh? TS got go Tonymacs try to see what successful builds people made and replicate the board choice?

Chevalier

Hackintosh need to use slightly legacy hardware.

Because of the EDID stuff, kext and Mac hardware drivers that need to be spoofed to let the OS accept it.

Bleeding edge hardware may not work well, thatzs why TS made his choice.

And I thought Gigabyte boards and their UEFI worked the best with Hackintosh? TS got go Tonymacs try to see what successful builds people made and replicate the board choice?
Yeah I did....the build with my parts all using rgb rams... Lol!

Thanks encrypted..... I guess I'll just follow their builds wholesale la

Btw this ain't my first hackintosh ;)

Sent from OnePlus ONEPLUS A5000 using GAGT

Elijahonli

for your question on ram speed, it might matter in some instance but not worth paying a huge premium (if there is) just to get high speed memory.

klap_hanz

Hackintosh works best on Gigabyte mobos and Intel CPUs...I know because I am running one too...

Btw u can use either VMware Fusion or Parallels and run Windows 10 or 7 in MacOS as a VM, works well for me and I don't even need to setup dual-boot...

LiLAsN

Hi guys,

Confirmed parts
-i7 7700K
- 1080ti
-XB271HU monitor

now the ram

also, does the speed of the ram really matter that much? most sites say no but i would rather hear from actual users(you!)

By this coming August 21st Intel event, your 4 core, 8 thread Core i7-7700K will be the equivalent of a 4 core, 8 thread Core i5-8600K (which will be around the $353 mark as opposed to $503) while the Core i7-8700K will come with 6 cores and 12 threads at hopefully the $503 mark that you will be paying for the 7700K.

Patience is a virtue. But if you really can't wait, nobody's stopping you.
For Intel, there were tests conducted that shows not much impact to gaming performance in relation to Ram speed and latency.

If you are going for the top spec build, can consider the G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3000MHz (or higher) 8GBx2 16GB RAM set. But if you don't want to showcase the bling bling RGB statement, just go for Kingston Hyper X Fury 3000MHz (or higher) 16GB 8GBx2 RAM set and call it a day. It's cheaper and actually compatible with Ryzen due to the chipset used. And it is way cheaper too.

Encrypted11

Guys, in order for AMD Ryzen to work on Hackintosh.

1. AMD needs to make iMac/Mac Pro/Macbook design wins, only then the hardware drivers will exist. Today, you still can't do that reliably.

2. Cannot use bleeding edge hardware. Idea is you're using off the shelf hardware to "emulate" what's sitting in a mac. Overall hardware of the same architecture work best because of similar hardware characteristics. From there, what the hackintosh community does is trick the OS to think its running on mac hardware.

3. You can't predict if the next Mac Pro will use Ryzen/Raven Ridge or Intel. If TS buy Ryzen and Apple refreshes to AMD, he's screwed and vice versa.
-You need to use *existing hardware* that mac drivers have been developed on (e.g. Certain Broadcomm Radio, last gen Intel, GPU also maybe bank on Nvidia web drivers)
-The hackintosh community need to catchup with the new hardware.

If you're leading the pack chiongsua (lets say 2018 mac runs coffeelake) and u use it, good luck and be prepared to churn out a slew of error logs to Hackintosh ecosystem developers and hopefully they own that hardware. It takes serious time and committment not every1 will accept.

After all, it receives no direct support from apple and you're asking help from people that are living off donations/contributions that likely have their own day jobs. There's a reason why hackintosh users hoot Intel+Gigabyte+Broadcomm or HP Probook/Elitebooks.

Encrypted11

Lastly, some of the hackintosh dependency devs (while very active and helpful) fierce one.

If the resource/answer is out there in one of their wiki, prepare to get shot in the head with a "did you read?, Read and then talk, y u tl;dr reply" or any other snarky response will paiseh one if you asked and did not follow existing instructions. Repeat offenders how u gonna handle? They expect you to be at least 90% read.

That's also a deterrence to running bleeding edge hardware (future coffeelake) on Hackintosh... :s13:

enenyi

Hi guys,

This will be built as a hackintosh also hence coffee lake is not compatible.

Confirmed parts
-i7 7700K
- 1080ti
-XB271HU monitor

now the ram

U technically can use any RAM that is compatible with the motherboard u building on. RAM speeds affect performance but only slightly. But since it is a mac, macOS alrdy optimise for u to the point that u wont feel much of a performance difference anyway unless u using RAM with drastically different speeds.

Also, for that motherboard u buying, check insanelymac and tonymac forums to confirm that u can find the correct DSDT/SSDT settings. I was stuck for a while coz i couldnt find the correct kext to boot my X99 board, so macOS Sierra refused to boot into installation media.

There are guides out there for hackintosh, just not here. Be prepared to get your hands dirty by googling wad u need first before buying, if u wanna have a working hackintosh immediately after purchase and not wait for months (or years) for someone in the hackintosh community to come out with the proper workaround.

enenyi

Thanks encrypted11 for sharing. The build I'm following I read from page one to the end.

It's quite comprehensive and supported by hackintosh heroes like rehabman and stork

Worse case.... I have a high eng kaby lake PC lor...hahahah

Sent from OnePlus ONEPLUS A5000 using GAGT

Take some time to figure out wad u installing before proceeding. I spent hours and hours previously playing ard with kexts from pple like rehabman, only to find that some of those kexts fix one (e.g. chipset compatibility) but break others (e.g. pcie and bluetooth). By now, the vanilla Clover installation shld be quite stable already, so u prob dun need all these workarounds unless u intending to install macOS High Sierra beta.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.