The Reactor

Yureak

reactor
rɪˈaktə
noun
an apparatus or structure in which fissile material can be made to undergo a controlled, self-sustaining nuclear reaction with the consequent release of energy.

Completed Build Log

photo11.jpg

photo21.jpg

image16.jpeg

image17.jpeg

image191.jpeg

Yureak

I have designed two Custom Loop Options

Both will be fully EK as I do not like AQC or XSPC or Koolance or Alphacool

optionA.jpg

Option A will have pumps + res in the back of the case hidden with a pipe running out into the CPU Block > Maximus VI Formula Cross Chill > 240mm Radiator Mounted on top > Reservoir > Pump > CPU Block

Option B will also have pump + res in the back

optionB.jpg

Reservoir > Pump > Maximus VI Formula Cross Chill > CPU Block > 360mm Radiator in front > Resevoir

I understand many people have concerns with running anodised aluminium in the crosschil + nickel / copper in the same loop but ill be using coolants with non-corrosion additives + probably mayhems pastel white

Yureak

Update 5/10/14

Several Updates

I have since ordered my WC parts from PPCS after quite alot of consideration.

Since I like only EK branded parts I have modeled my custom loop around that

These are my selections:

image-4.jpeg

EK DCP 4.0 Pump + X3 150 Res (Thank you to Alhomme who sold me these and has helped me alot in my initial purchases)

pastel-ice-white_01.jpg

Mayhems Pastel Coolant - 1 Liter - Ice White

My 540 air is LED lit in red so giving it white coolant gives it an alien blood kind of glow. A secondary consideration is that because of the cross-chill I am running a mixed metal loop also Nickel + Anodised Aluminium + Copper so I require a corrosion inhibitors which distilled water with biocide cant provide

ek-superemacy-clean-csq-np_01.jpg

EK-Supremacy Clean CSQ - Nickel + Plexi

ek-coolstream-xtx-360_01.jpg

Basically these blocks look the best over any other EK block or AQC or XSPC to me. Well just have a look nuff said.

EK-CoolStream RAD XTX (360)

Some research on radiators on Martin's Liquid Labs led to the conclusion that XTX is quite a far bit superior over XT and since the price difference is minimal ($15) i chose the best. Performance for the XTX is around the 2nd best in the market comparable to Alphacool's Nexxos so since my preference is for EKWB I chose this.

advancedtubing10-clear_01.jpg

PrimoFlex Advanced LRT Tubing - 1/2in. ID X 3/4in. OD - Crystal Clear

Adv LRT is undisputably the king of tubing and no other manufacturer or brand even tygon can stay clear as long without risk of plasticizer leaching leading to clogged blocks with certain coolants

6_pack_layout.jpg

Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings, 1/2" x 3/4" - Red

Monsoon free centers have silver plated barbs so it helps serve in the biocidal role and well they look best i guess to me

xspc-m-m-blackchrome_01.jpg

XSPC G1/4" 10mm Male to Male Fitting - Black Chrome Finish $2.49

XSPC G1/4" 5mm Male to Male Fitting - Black Chrome Finish $1.99

I need these to help connect my res to pump without using extra tubing

In total spent around $550 SGD including shipping for the above so far so getting quite pricey im splitting out my GPU block for the next order so as not to incur GST on this order. Items were shipped on Thursday so hopefully will get around Monday!

congrade07

Eh.. The male to male does able to connect the pump to res. But the direction of the both components might not be what you want to be after screwing tight due to thread difference. U need a male to male ROTARY or a D Plug from Bitspower instead.

dont say never inform you hor.

Yureak

Eh.. The male to male does able to connect the pump to res. But the direction of the both components might not be what you want to be after screwing tight due to thread difference. U need a male to male ROTARY or a D Plug from Bitspower instead.

dont say never inform you hor.

What do you mean? Isnt it just screw together then one passage for water since res on top of pump?

X res got outlet on bottom and pump inlet on top... So straight fitting

allhomme

What he saying is unless the threads on the male-male connector are manufactured in such a way to make the pump and res face the same direction after installing, you'll end up with both items facing different directions.

To mitigate this, people usually get the rotary version so even when tightened, the items still can be rotated.

And I forgot to pass you the allen key that came with the X-res. Or you can find a generic big big allen key

congrade07

What he saying is unless the threads on the male-male connector are manufactured in such a way to make the pump and res face the same direction after installing, you'll end up with both items facing different directions.

To mitigate this, people usually get the rotary version so even when tightened, the items still can be rotated.

And I forgot to pass you the allen key that came with the X-res. Or you can find a generic big big allen key

Tio liao la... using male to male rotary or mini d plug can overcome this issue. Trust me bo. If trust then add that to your cart haha

Yureak

Tio liao la... using male to male rotary or mini d plug can overcome this issue. Trust me bo. If trust then add that to your cart haha

Order le but no issues can run tubing in between also can or xtreme solutions also have rotary fitting hor

allhomme

partially my bad oso.. He show me the BOM and I didn't see properly whether he got the rotary type also

Yureak

Have good news

Managed to buy an EK Acetal / Nickel Full Cover block + Backplate hohoho

Yureak

Update 5/14/2014

Stuff came in just today from PPCS. Luckily turns out the rotary male g/14 to male wasnt needed my male to male works perfectly fine I have tested.

Will post nice pictures tomorrow :)

zetken

u want might want to change out that pump. heard its quite noisy. and flow not so good.

but still looking forward for ur build :D sappork.

Yureak

u want might want to change out that pump. heard its quite noisy. and flow not so good.

but still looking forward for ur build :D sappork.

wah kum xia

will test it out and maybe swap with a d5 eventually :s12:

Yureak

Updates

Updates 5/16/2014

While still waiting for my GPU block to reach roughly Sun or Monday, I have finalised my loop and have delayed installation so I dont need to waste my tubing can install it one time.

I thought I would need to order extra fittings but turns out I accidentally ordered two extra barbs which make it just nice for my pump and res behind so I dont need extra fittings

Looks like I can build it on monday. I have also finalised my loop and I have gone for neat big ass tubing instead of the shortest loop possible which to me would look ugly since my primary intention is for good looks

To be honest the GPU block for my GTX 780 was entirely incidental since I intended originally to buy a GTX 780 Ti Kingpin but since this guy offered me such an irresistable price I had no choice but to jump for it

finalisedloop.jpg

allhomme

My personal experience with the DCP is quite strong, low noise with the padding installed.

I got it as a kit from EK. Using everything in the kit + 2 universal gpu block + EK 240mm XTX rad, flow is still quite strong. I can see turbulence in the X-res even with the anti-clyclone foam

I change because it was too bulky for my liking.

Yureak

EK Supremacy Clean CSQ

While im waiting for my GPU Block enroute via DHL should reach on Monday Morning or if I am lucky tomorrow evening

I opened up my CPU Waterblock and assembled my pump + res into place

image2-1.jpeg

EK Packaging is incredible. The attention to detail and premium packaging really makes a difference

Opening up the inside I am even more surprised with the EK Supremacy looking mighty fine in its nickel plated glory. Looks way better than the XSPC Raystorm or Alphacool block. Makes Swiftech look like a plastic toy in this regard

image3.jpeg

I opened the block to analyse it and swap out the jetplate one more suitable for LGA 1150 (Haswell) since it came with a generic one. The O rings are extremely tricky to seat so I wasnt sure if it was properly closed so I had to leak test it.

Filled it with some Mayhems Pastel White

image6.jpeg

Also fitted the pump + res via male to male g 1/4 fittings. This will be hidden behind so I dont care so much for its aesthetics

Luckily no issue even without rotary fittings only thing was that I had to remove the Anti-vibration foam plate and install before reattaching it

image1-1.jpeg

Im using cheap barbs here since its hidden behind and cant be seen. Those that can be will all be using Monsoon Free Centre Compression Fittings

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.