The Samsung Galaxy Note 5 Thread

skaade

Having come a long way since note to note 4 including edge, holding the note 5 makes me feel like it's a brand new start again. A design that grows on you, a screen that is better than the last best, instantly makes my note 4 feel like donkey years ago.

While it may look like a step back, losing the most practical features, but isn't it call moving with the time? You can't possibly have a flexible glass that pops open for your battery change. Cloud storage and cheap otg, with easy to transfer files on Android platform, these are viable workaround for on-board only storage.

It's surprising I'm liking it despite having the same concerns like many who voiced out. Hmm...

With Cat 9 LTE, up to 450mbps and possibly launching with Singtel 4G, things are getting interesting.

if i had to choose between removable battery VS rounded glass edges, i will pick the former. there isn't any practical reasons for rounded glass edges that samsung has been making a case for so far apart from aesthetics.

kelvinti

No removable battery and SD card slot? WTF! Pass, man!

Now, wait for LG G4 Pro or LG G Pro 3...

I hope that LG doesn't follow Samsung in that 2 departments.

Cross fingers and legs...Cross hairs and cross eyes...

rahul49

Happy with the phone. Confirm upgrading from my Note 4 to Note 5.

64 GB enough for me and I never change battery. The metal and glass casing plus improved camera and s pen made the decision easy.

rahul49

Last year everyone was complaining about plastic body and old design of Samsung. Now got metal and glass chio design, everyone kpkb about expandable memory and battery. Haha can't keep everyone happy.

Inertiaholic

that's cos consumers want metal and glass over and above the existing features. What sammy did is as good as going for breast augmentation but removed the buttocks and nipples at the same time.

sammy is going down and not in a good way.

Last year everyone was complaining about plastic body and old design of Samsung. Now got metal and glass chio design, everyone kpkb about expandable memory and battery. Haha can't keep everyone happy.

Panerai88

Come on, just have both and everyone would be happy, so simple.

Panerai88

Happy with the phone. Confirm upgrading from my Note 4 to Note 5.

64 GB enough for me and I never change battery. The metal and glass casing plus improved camera and s pen made the decision easy.

You never change battery does not mean others never change battery, also not having a removable micro SD card means your data is never secure, a simple crash and all your data is wiped out, sure you can work around this by constantly backing up, but then you become a slave to the phone. The cost difference between 32 gb and 64 gb costs way more than simply buying a 64 gb card and this cost is incurred everytime you change phone, I guess you have very low iq not to see all these.

kelvinti

Put it this way, folks.

Samsung doesn't care much about removable battery and SD card slot.

Samsung cares more about "pulling" iPhone users over to its camp than anything else.

That's why....

Sinkie

Put it this way, folks.

Samsung cares more about "pulling" iPhone users over to its camp than anything else.

That's why....

Waiting for iPhone to come out with a new iPhone model that comes with removable battery + sd card

Inertiaholic

Looks like almost everyone here is disappointed. Quite unprecedented.

I was just thinking can replace sd with otg but so far samsung otg speed to connect to thumb drive is super slow compared to other brands eg LG. Oh wait, did Sammy remove otg too?

Actually, might as well call the phone Inote. It's so clear Sammy just wanna become apple.

kero89

I think profit from cheap nand high consumer price charging is also one of the driving force behind this change.

It's not like having non removable battery/no msd slot will make me consider iphones, or rational iPhone user will consider note 5 given that the exclusion of the above two star features.

The design speaks for itself, together with the other features. My main concern still lies with keeping up the pace with software development.

muddle

Put it this way, folks.

That's why....

As a ip6+ user, I'm not in the least interested in what note 5 has to offer. Strange now to see who is the real innovator and who is the follower eh?

As it is, android itself is going to move to a tighter ecosystem. They are ditching expandable memory and I guess there are a few holdouts remaining with the g4 being that glaring example.

kyleongwl

Had been usingbnote since day 1.
For the past 2 release, had not been using sd card
On batt, had never use the replaceable batt that comes with it...prefer to use power bank...cant undertsand while swapping batt while u r eneaging on something

As i uses stylus alot, the s pen and all the notebtakin is more impt.

The mind boggling for me is the release.
15th Aug? No preorder? Just q?

This is a flagship that do not required q...that is the 1st

rockdjlow

if i had to choose between removable battery VS rounded glass edges, i will pick the former. there isn't any practical reasons for rounded glass edges that samsung has been making a case for so far apart from aesthetics.

are you getting it?

es0teric

I think Samsung aim to get new customer than keeping their existing customer. Will not buy and continue my note 2 first. So disappointing. Unless when their sales for note 5 never break even, then they can come out note 5 plus with card slot and removable battery

Zaalaa

You never change battery does not mean others never change battery, also not having a removable micro SD card means your data is never secure, a simple crash and all your data is wiped out, sure you can work around this by constantly backing up, but then you become a slave to the phone. The cost difference between 32 gb and 64 gb costs way more than simply buying a 64 gb card and this cost is incurred everytime you change phone, I guess you have very low iq not to see all these.
Best tech comment this year.

Sent from heaven using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.