The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

Seannie

Not the part where the arms bend, is just right on top of my ears .. hmm dunno did i confuse u anot .. or i shld say where ur specs touches the ear.. that is the part where it is painful when i wear specs for long ..

Too much pressure on top of your ears lor thats y u feel pain. Ears are senstive area but also points of contacts with spectacles. U wont feel pain if there is even pressure distribution over the 3 contact points, which are at your nose bridge & the area directly on top of your 2 ears. Adjustments not easy and also limitations & depend optician skills as well.
Best find a gd quality frame with good asian fit if you want true comfort.

Seannie

Comfort is an individual thing, for instance, some people wear contacts because they don't enjoy having to worry about glasses. On the other hand, the idea of putting something in their eyes makes some people squeamish and they can't fathom wearing anything but eyeglasses.

Yet, even those who make that choice to wear specs agree that glasses can be a bit cumbersome at times. The shape at the bridge is the most important aspect of determining comfort and is where the source of aggravation often stems. These types of glasses often leave red marks on the nose because they grip too tightly. This can make them very hard to wear.

More often than not, such frames are made out of plastic, this doesn't mean that plastic frames will always be uncomfortable, in fact, some designer names are stamped on plastic frames.

Which leaves the question of what types of eyeglasses offer the most comfort to those who chose glasses over contacts?

Plastic eyeglasses

Plastic eyeglasses are economical, stylish and above all, they can be comfortable when made correctly. How comfortable? Well, this can largely depend on the make, model and style of the frames. For example, cat eye frame glasses are said to be easy to wear, whereas larger, boxier frames are heavier and harder to keep from sliding. Constantly having to push glasses up can be awkward and far from comfortable. Plastic isn't the only material that glasses are made out of though. It is these other materials that often offer greater comfort than plastic can.

Metal

Believe it or not, metal frames tend to be lighter on the face than plastic eyeglasses, making them far more comfortable. This is because the frames are thinner and have less bulk. They can also form into more pleasing and fashionable shapes making them a preferred choice among eye glass wearers.

Titanium

Titanium eyes glasses can run a bit on the expensive side if you get true titanium glasses that are well made and not imitation. The expense is not without cause! Titanium eye glasses are generally light weight, corrosion resistant and can take being sat on! They can also give a snug fit on the nose, keeping them from slipping. This feature is one of many aspects that enhance comfort for the wearer. They are also extremely sturdy and come in a large variety of shapes and colors.

'Memory-Metal' Flexon

A revolutionary product, memory metal Flexon glasses are feather light and can be bent a variety of angles. This makes them super durable. It also makes them super comfortable! Because the metal bends ad expands it can shape around the bridge of the nose. Over time, the glasses will 'remember' the exact shape of your bridge, so that they sit there undisturbed until you take them off. No more pushing your glasses back into place 101 times a day! Out of all the above glasses, true Flexon memory metal is the highest, with frames springing upwards towards the higher end hundreds.

Not be confused with pure titanium glasses, memory metal mixes titanium and nickel. This metal alloy creation becomes pliable yet sturdy. It will convert to its original shale no matter how many times it is bent. This not only means that clumsy people won't have to worry about accidentally harming their glasses; it means that these light, pliable frames are extremely comfortable to wear.

Purchasing eye glasses is such a personal choice however. This is why alongside other considerations, like affordability, style, and what the eyeglasses say about you, comfort is an issue. Indeed, buying your designer frames is an important decision which, for a number of reasons, should never be entered into lightly.

Seannie

Maximum comfort with ultra-thin, super lightweight spectacles
Less is more! These tips are the key to getting ultra-light spectacle lenses and frames

The lighter spectacles are, the more comfortable they are to wear: Optimum comfort is achieved by making the frame and lenses as lightweight as possible. Modern manufacturing methods and extremely lightweight materials for lenses and frames have made it possible to produce spectacles that offer outstanding quality at an exceptionally low weight. BETTER VISION investigates five tips for creating ultra-thin, exceptionally lightweight spectacle lenses and frames – and discovers why losing a bit of weight can be beneficial for everyone.

To begin with: Why is it a good idea to minimize the weight of lenses and frames?
The less spectacles weigh, the more comfortable they are to wear. It may sound surprising, but our nose is so sensitive that we notice every last gram resting on top of it! The ideal solution would be a pair of spectacles that we forget we're wearing – spectacles that do their job without us even noticing them. That would eliminate the problem of indentations on the wearer's nose and discomfort caused by spectacle sides, simultaneously making the spectacles more comfortable to wear and improving their fit. And this isn't just an issue that affects children or athletes. Weight-optimised lenses and ultra-light frames can now make the headaches caused by heavy spectacles a thing of the past for everyone. Reducing the weight of spectacles is clearly a key factor in achieving maximum comfort – but sometimes it takes a while for people to notice that they are having a problem with their new spectacles because the lenses and frame are a few grams too heavy. By following our tips below, this situation can be avoided right from the start.
How can you reduce the weight of spectacles to a minimum?

1. The material the lenses are made from is a critical factor.

2. The method used to produce spectacle lenses: aspheric grinding

3. The right material for the frame

4. The design of the frame

5. A good eyecare professional.

Seannie

5 REASONS YOUR GLASSES DON'T FIT

Hello my bespectacled friends. A lot of people visit optical stores wondering why their glasses pinch, sit crooked on their face, slide off, or even feel off-center. These are all symptoms of the dreaded improperly fitted glasses. But don’t reach for the tape or try to bend your glasses into shape just yet. We are going to solve five common issues associated with improperly fitted glasses.

PROBLEM 1: SLIP AND SLIDE SPECTACLES
One minute you’re lost in your daily newspaper and the next minute everything is a blur. This frustrating issue is typically caused by the temples not sufficiently curving behind the ears, the nose pads on metal frames not being fitted to suit the client’s unique bridge shape, or in some cases the frame is just too tight against the side of the head forcing the glasses forward. I have some quick fixes to ensure your glasses stay put.

Solution: The most common method of addressing this problem is heating the temples, which are the part of the glasses that curve around the ears. By heating the temples you can manipulate the glasses safely without breaking them. After applying a comfortable degree of heat, the temples can be bent down and curved to the shape of the head behind the ears. Another tactic is using needle nose pliers to gently bring in the nose pads. Applying light pressure and steady movements, as jerky movements are a recipe for broken glasses, they can then be contoured to fit the topography of the nose. If the two previous options don’t work for you, there’s no need to toss those glasses.

Have no fear, we have another tried and true quick fix. Frames that are too tight can also cause slipping. To remedy this scenario, the hinge joints that connect to the temples need to be filed so that the temples are at a 120 degree angle. The ends of the temples can then be flared back in to contour to the back of the head.

PROBLEM 2: CROOKED FRAMES
Crooked frames are reminiscent of a mad scientist. But there are ways to get your frames straight once more. Crooked glasses often occur when the temples aren’t parallel to each other, your ears are at different levels (don’t worry this is normal), or the right side of the frame is not in alignment with the left side of the frame. If you place your glasses upside down on a flat table you can see if the alignment has gone awry.

Solution: One way to set your spectacles straight is to gently bend the hinge in a downward or upward motion, depending on the type of misalignment. Do this slowly to avoid damaging your frames. Heating the bridge makes the glasses much easier to work with. Once the bridge is malleable, the offending side of the frame needs to be rotated to match the other side. Symmetry once more!

PROBLEM 3: PINCHING FRAMES
Nothing is worse than tight fitting glasses that pinch and dig into the skull. If this is the case, breathe a sigh of relief because you may have found the source of your recent headaches. When the frame chosen is too small, the bend behind the ears starts before the earlobe or the temples are not contoured, which is why they dig into the head.

Solution: As we discussed before, the hinge joints may need to be filed so that the temples are at 120 degrees. The ends of temples are then flared back in again to fit the sides of the head. If the temples are either too short or too long, the heating method is sometimes used to readjust the position of the temples. The bridge width on frames with nose pads are often easier to fix. You can loosen the nose pads for optimal comfort. If you have the chronic issue with all frames feeling tight, consider a pair of glasses with spring hinges.

PROBLEM 4: OFF-CENTERED LENSES
Off-centered lenses can leave you wondering if someone slipped something into your morning coffee. Your vision and depth perception will be skewed, which can cause headaches and discomfort. When lenses are off-center you aren’t able to see through the optical center of your lenses. This can be disorienting and create less than perfect vision. Off-centered lenses occur when the lenses are edged incorrectly or the measurements aren’t taken properly. The optician not only has to measure the horizontal position of the distance between the pupils, but should also inquire as to how the client intends to use the glasses. They must then institute this knowledge as well, when determining the horizontal position.

Solution: Unfortunately, the only remedy to this problem is to have new lenses made. This is a good time to check out your warranty.

PROBLEM 5: OVER OR UNDERSIZED EYEWEAR
And last but not least, the bane of glasses wearers everywhere: Over or undersized eyewear. If a frame is sold to a client that is too small or too large, this is typically because the measurements are off or the frames just don’t fit the anatomy of the face. This can cause several of the problems we’ve discussed in this tutorial, such as the temples digging into the skull and sliding frames.

Solution: For comfort and superhero vision, it’s best to have new eyeglasses made or at least have the lenses edged down and placed into a smaller frame. You can even have the lenses inserted into a frame with a larger bridge and temple extensions to increase the overall width. Plus, properly sized eyewear is flattering and there is nothing like a spectacular pair of spectacles. While these solutions can help you fix your glasses, the best solution is finding that perfect pair of glasses the first time. Well crafted, quality glasses look and feel fantastic. Relying on professionals to take proper measurements and help you find frames suited to your face will eliminate many of the common issues associated with eyewear.

Vulpix

qVkMqih.jpg

Bought from Pearl Optics. Some Japanese brand frame with Carl Zeiss Photofusion lens.

tecnica

Which shop in Queensway is good ah? I wanna make specs preferably with zeiss photofusion lenses..

tecnica

qVkMqih.jpg

Bought from Pearl Optics. Some Japanese brand frame with Carl Zeiss Photofusion lens.
Is pearl optics any good? Cos near my house so quite convenient for me..

Those cz lens how much ah?

Vulpix

Is pearl optics any good? Cos near my house so quite convenient for me..

Those cz lens how much ah?

A lot of recommendations from friends and colleagues, and yep, their service is top notch.

tecnica

A lot of recommendations from friends and colleagues, and yep, their service is top notch.
can sic the photofusion price or not? i think tmr i drop by and ssrr, dun wanna get a shock when they quote me outside the price bracket.. :o

i wonder if they can do adjustment for my specs also.. my ear hurts abit after wearing the specs leh.. :(

you bought from JP outlet or what? wonder got price diff between outlets not..

ahboy82

good news for oliver peoples fans.

seng lee (queensway) now carry a small collection of them. so in total you can find 2 shops in queensway shop centre that carry oliver peoples

tecnica

went to nanyang optics today with my friend as he's a regular there.. made this urband titanium frame with zeiss photofusion... :)

BT131-11.jpg

frame: 300
lens: 400

:s22:

Kirakun83

oic.. Need to make new lens, my current lens got a lots of scratches liao. I trying to figure which lens should I make, the original transition, crizal lens with transition or zeiss lens photofushion. which will u make? btw, is Oakley service centre provide frame repainting service? Coz my frame got some paint flaked already and I like the frame very much.

All in a Day

oic.. Need to make new lens, my current lens got a lots of scratches liao. I trying to figure which lens should I make, the original transition, crizal lens with transition or zeiss lens photofushion. which will u make? btw, is Oakley service centre provide frame repainting service? Coz my frame got some paint flaked already and I like the frame very much.

Seems like zeiss is the new darling on the block.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.