The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

Bluefreak

I want to make a spec with titanium frame with either crizal or zeiss len.
Crizal with Prevencia and anti fatigue(possible?).
Zeiss len not sure.

Nearest shop is either Optical 88 or Spectacles Hut.
If not is those market optical shop.:(
Which shop is should I go to?

Seannie

considering the exchange rates now. it's not too bad right?
gave up on branded frames already, haha.
considering owndays because their prices for hi index lens is cheap. only top up $100 to 1.74 one.

always thought that traditional slot eye check is not so accurate cos sometimes eyes tired or smth or mind play trick.

Sgd is more resilient than Myr, will slowly strengthen more in years to come. 1-2 years time will be 1SGD = MYR2.70. In a few years time, 1:3

Things are cheap for a reason, usually its inferior quality, old stocks clearance, mass production to bring down costs, use of lower material quality etc. Things are ex also for a reason, superior quality, better QC, warranty, branding or advertising costs etc. But its always better to invest in better quality products with established branding to ensure lasting usage and minimum hassle. For example, u look at brands with long history like kdk fan, they are established since 1909 and are fans specialist; their fans never spoil even after 20 years.

Long established brand like zeiss produces better quality lenses. Where do u think owndays get their Cheap lenses from?

Do not go for eye checks when your eyes are tired. U are going to waste yur $.

lance88

I just went JB to get my specs. My degree is 300, astig 50, axis 170. Gotten an oakley transistor titanium @ 810rm and crizal transition 1.59 AS airwear (w/ crizal forte UV) at 560rm after discounted. Total damage 1370rm. I know its a bit too late to say even if its being carrot-ed. Is this price actually okay? So maybe my future purchase would be better.

The shop optician say she can quote better discount with crizal, but zeiss only 10% off, I never ask her about Hoya cos didnt see much talks abt hoya with transition. Still a bit confused after reading some the old thread and part2 between Hoya, Crizal and Zeiss.

By airwear I remembered i was told that its made in polycarbonate material. Harder to crack. Any bros got bad experience with this material? Is it heavier too?

lance88

Lance, bro airwear if crack can get warranty replacement dun worry. But price is too high haha.
Bumdssa bro, auto refractors will never be as accurate as manual refraction.

Sent from GAGT Android App

Oh, but so far my lenses nv broke before. always the frame like accidentally sat on it. maybe cos they are 1.5-1.6 index

price too high? in ringgit leh. what is average price in your opinion? I was told the frame comes with international warranty, so i guess it isnt imports. i did some research in local sg shop too. their offers are usually 150$SGD more. local but import frames (such frames warranty are usually covered by optical shop only) are abt the same costs.

whats refractors?? Auto, manual????? sry, noob here.

jervin88

Oh, but so far my lenses nv broke before. always the frame like accidentally sat on it. maybe cos they are 1.5-1.6 index

price too high? in ringgit leh. what is average price in your opinion? I was told the frame comes with international warranty, so i guess it isnt imports. i did some research in local sg shop too. their offers are usually 150$SGD more. local but import frames (such frames warranty are usually covered by optical shop only) are abt the same costs.

whats refractors?? Auto, manual????? sry, noob here.

i believe in malaysian products as well haha. so i wouldnt worry about getting fake goods there, although there are more. hahaha. maybe because im getting regular price. i guess your pricing should be not too far off! :D just enjoy your new pair or glasses now, dont overworry!!

autorefractors are the machine which check eye degree haha. not every shop uses them, because in the end manual will still be needed to give an accurate degree. i guess owndays only uses auto refractor because of time contraints, as it is fast, and accurate to a certain extent.

etzy89

Are there any optical shops that sell sunglasses without degree, but yet they are able to invoice it as "prescription sunglasses"?

CICHLIDEVILS

any shop to recommend for good discount on SPIVVY spec?
I manage to get 30% discount for model SP-1162.
Who can give a better deal??

Seannie

any shop to recommend for good discount on SPIVVY spec?
I manage to get 30% discount for model SP-1162.
Who can give a better deal??

Bro i have a brand new spivvy. If u interested i can sell to u at Half price. Just wanted to recover some monies and dont want it to go to waste as its v hd frame no scratches as just worn it 2-3 times but found that the frame doesnt suit me.

CICHLIDEVILS

Bro i have a brand new spivvy. If u interested i can sell to u at Half price. Just wanted to recover some monies and dont want it to go to waste as its v hd frame no scratches as just worn it 2-3 times but found that the frame doesnt suit me.

Hi....pls send me the picture of the frame...when u bought it? Under warranty? How much u intend to sell? ...msg 86889997...we discuss...cheers

lance88

Any shops local or JB can make on the spot, i.e. can collect within 24 hours max?

My work involves staring at a few TVs, 12 monitor screens for 15 hours daily.

Getting one with transition lenses. Please advise price range. Brandless is okay.

if its indoor.. get a dura coating instead of transition. unless u are getting transition with dura coating but that is gonna cost

jervin88

Seowgao, bro since u doing alot of computer work. Do zeiss digital lenses or essilor prevencia. Duravision coating is good but it doesnt focus on reducing glare. Duravision is just a coating to make the lens super tough. Just an advice. Transitions is lens that turn dark which u would need if u stay indoor most of the time!

oohmygod

Anyone tried Zeiss digital lenses or office lens?

Does it helps and what the price of the lens?

jervin88

So anywhere near Bishan, AMK to make this type of spec? Would be cheaper in JB to do so?

You guys think if I need transition as I go boating 2, 3 times a month, around 6 hours each under sun? I worry for my eyes and degree is ~ 500.

i think it you go 2 3 times a month and sunglass will need a prescriptive lens. maybe you can do transitions. if not you can get another pair or polarised sunglasses because the waters give a lot of glare:S haha.
there are many optical shops around your area, just ask for the lenses and i'm sure they will help you!!

jervin88

Haha thats my guess. Go check it out for final price. I not too sure:S wish u luck!!

leongheng70

Hi recently got quote the following configuration, lenses only essilor brand, the optical shop quote me S$550, but checking with many optical shop all is rd S$1120, so my questions is am i getting the authentic essilor lenses ? should i proceed to make the lenses there.

- Progressive
- Transition

Anyone can advice.

Thanks

All in a Day

Hi recently got quote the following configuration, lenses only essilor brand, the optical shop quote me S$550, but checking with many optical shop all is rd S$1120, so my questions is am i getting the authentic essilor lenses ? should i proceed to make the lenses there.

- Progressive
- Transition

Anyone can advice.

Thanks

Without even asking more, i'll go by the golden rule "if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is."

Love to be proven wrong here though!

therat

- Progressive
- Transition

Anyone can advice.

Thanks

what is your degree?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.