The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

Seannie

Its about profit margins. If optician reject the defective lens and the lab accepts and replace foc then no issue. If lab insists the errors are within acceptable range and refuse to replace foc, the optical shop might have to cover all or part of the replacement costs which will eat into their profits. So some optical shops if they want to protect their margins, might just try to pass on to customers and hope no complaints lor. Honest opticians might fight for customers but nowadays not sure how many will do that.

So honesty and reliability most impt.

GANGSTERKIA

Which lens made in japan then ship over now?

No difference leh. The lens also made in singapore labs. Hoya got lab in sg. Zeiss also have. U think made in japan/germany then shipped over ah? No la..

I prefer to choose lens made in japan (means prescription already done) before shipped over here sg to fit into frame. The accuracy and workmanship will be better than local factories one becos japanese QC better. Can tell from the lens surface and multicoat and clarity of lens etc.

skull1977

Finding a honest optician is most important.

How do we find honest optician? Or even know they are honest? How many of us actually go inside the shop and ask about their optician instead of "do you have this [brand] and/or how much is this [brand] frames/lens with this specs. I think we spend more time searching and bargaining than to ask how qualified is their optician.

Thus, do we look at specs shops as:
1) like a doctor (I.e., the optician) and trust he will give you the right medication to treat you (correct lens) or

2) like a IT show shop where we find bargain and scout for the lowest price for what we want.

Disclaimer, just a discussion ya. I am very sure they are plenty of good, honest, qualified, professional and hard working optician and shops around.

Just that how do we as consumer decide, other than from word of mouth / regulars / etc. Most reputable shops I guess are safe, but we will never know if the lens may be defective but still "forced" to accept it cus we don't know how to check for defects. Of course those not so reputable/not well known have to compete to survive and offer better discounts than reputable shops.

GANGSTERKIA

I agree with 90% of what you said in the above and below post. However Sometimes second opinion would be good and if it really does make a difference, the shop will and should do the necessary changes.

Finding a honest optician is most important. Otherwise if lab delivered your lens to your optician got any errors and optician teh gong or dishonest just pass on the defective lens to you then u pay 30% lesser also no point lor. Becos optician knows you cant verify the defects, for example PD off centre or axis off a bit. We consumers can test meh? Unless u take to another optician to verify but i dont recommend doing that because you might not be able to live with your disappointment.

GANGSTERKIA

I will try to contribute some insights later on when I’m back.

And hey, this is a forum! Don’t need to worry so much. =:p

How do we find honest optician? Or even know they are honest? How many of us actually go inside the shop and ask about their optometrist instead of "do you have this [brand] and/or how much is this [brand] frames/lens with this specs. I think we spend more time searching and bargaining than to ask how qualified is their optometrist.

Thus, do we look at specs shops as:
1) like a doctor (I.e., the optometrist) and trust he will give you the right medication to treat you (correct lens) or

2) like a IT show shop where we find bargain and scout for the lowest price for what we want.

Disclaimer, just a discussion ya. I am very sure they are plenty of good, honest, qualified, professional and hard working optometrist and shops around.

Just that how do we as consumer decide, other than from word of mouth / regulars / etc. Most reputable shops I guess are safe, but we will never know if the lens may be defective but still "forced" to accept it cus we don't know how to identify. Of course those not so reputable have to complete to survive and offer better discounts than reputable shops.

GANGSTERKIA

In-house brand lens?! What Japanese in-house Brand’s are there? I only know of a specific few brand that maybe need to order from japan. Most are from spore, Thailand, msia.

Special in-house brand lens.

The usual brands like zeiss, hoya and essilor i dont think they do that because they all have labs locally right?

skull1977

Special in-house brand lens.

The usual brands like zeiss, hoya and essilor i dont think they do that because they all have labs locally right?

For Hoya, the shops told me they have to send it overseas to get it done. Cus I asked how long it will take to do a progressive.

Seannie

I agree with 90% of what you said in the above and below post. However Sometimes second opinion would be good and if it really does make a difference, the shop will and should do the necessary changes.

I mean i experienced many such dishonesty in the past lar, but i wont go argue with these shops one. Most of time, they try to pass off as no problems, say they checked already the prescription made correctly blah blah blah... but i wont argue lar. They cant earn from customers if they are stringent on the margins of error and labs dont agree how?

Another way is those shops that grind lens inside shop lor. Means order the whole big piece from lab then do themselves. But many shops wont take the risk la because if any errors they have to absorb fully and cant push to the labs. Lol.

Seannie

For Hoya, the shops told me they have to send it overseas to get it done. Cus I asked how long it will take to do a progressive.

Then good la if they send overseas. Mine are single vision so likely made in sg.

Seannie

In-house brand lens?! What Japanese in-house Brand’s are there? I only know of a specific few brand that maybe need to order from japan. Most are from spore, Thailand, msia.

Yalor hoya factories concentrated in thailand, msia and sg. If you know more then can share here also lor.

GANGSTERKIA

On your last point, not true. Based on my experience, all cost usually absorb by them. Though may vary from place to place then..

I mean i experienced many such dishonesty in the past lar, but i wont go argue with these shops one. Most of time, they try to pass off as no problems, say they checked already the prescription made correctly blah blah blah... but i wont argue lar. They cant earn from customers if they are stringent on the margins of error and labs dont agree how?

Another way is those shops that grind lens inside shop lor. Means order the whole big piece from lab then do themselves. But many shops wont take the risk la because if any errors they have to absorb fully and cant push to the labs. Lol.

Seannie

Most reputable shops I guess are safe, but we will never know if the lens may be defective but still "forced" to accept it cus we don't know how to check for defects. Of course those not so reputable/not well known have to compete to survive and offer better discounts than reputable shops.

Wah... if everybody knows how to check for defects, i guess a lot optical shops have to close shop lor. Lol.

Seannie

On your last point, not true. Based on my experience, all cost usually absorb by them. Though may vary from place to place then..

I mean when they do the edging etc la. What if the lens chip or break, error made by the shop itself, the lens manufacturer will also cover meh?

TerryPower

Wah... if everybody knows how to check for defects, i guess a lot optical shops have to close shop lor. Lol.

many people recommend use skill future to learn air-con servicing

can we use skill future to check lens defects? :s13::s13:

Seannie

You haven share which in-house brand you got from japan. Sic here leh so I can learn also haha.

Still waiting for you to share which brand the best leh. My regular optical shop say they dont carry zeiss smartlife lens. Ask me find the selected stores. Walaueh...

Seannie

many people recommend use skill future to learn air-con servicing

can we use skill future to check lens defects? :s13::s13:

Cannot la. Must protect the lens manufacturers and optical shops livelihood leh.

Like that everybody knows how to service aircon, all the aircon technicians out of job liao. We dont want this to happen right?

Seannie

You haven share which in-house brand you got from japan. Sic here leh so I can learn also haha.

Hey boss, nulux V+ is spherical dont suit me. Nulux active is it something like zeiss smartlife? Nulux active is customisable and double aspheric or not? I need something that is all in. For distance, intermediate and near vision. A bit like progressive but not fully. U know what i mean?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.