The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

GANGSTERKIA

They(Jamco) are really nice people who won’t chop your carrot. Have to make an appointment there though. Look for Bryan.

Well if reviews states they are the best and if you are comfortable, go ahead.

I already say my new workplace have but it’s fine. It’s better if you can go to these other shops.

Your new shop have or not? Never share where u go?? Jamco at katong a bit out of the way for me and worried get chop carrot at rich people estate area. Got one eyezone at tpy that one ok or not? See google reviews they are like the best in sg leh.

skull1977

Got one eyezone at tpy that one ok or not? See google reviews they are like the best in sg leh.

I've been to that store twice recently (latest just on Sunday). I think it depends on who attended to you. First time (2 weeks back), I was offered x% discount for lens and y% discount for frames (not really good discount imho). Second time even better - totally 0% discount on the same lens or frames (same brand, different model) 😂. Says those are the best price (i.e., says the listed price of Hoya lens as per brochure is the best price already).

*Shrug*. Guess maybe you need to know ppl there.

Alibeckham

The free upgrade to 1.74 lens in owndays is it can be self requested? My power is about 4.5 - 5.0 and was thinking if they will give me 1.74 index.. currently always doing 1.6 transition lens with owndays, but find it kind of heavy and thick as the frame in owndays are generally the bigger type.. so may want to give up transition and go for cheaper and lighter options.. any advice?

Seannie

I've been to that store twice recently (latest just on Sunday). I think it depends on who attended to you. First time (2 weeks back), I was offered x% discount for lens and y% discount for frames (not really good discount imho). Second time even better - totally 0% discount on the same lens or frames (same brand, different model) 😂. Says those are the best price (i.e., says the listed price of Hoya lens as per brochure is the best price already).

*Shrug*. Guess maybe you need to know ppl there.

Thanks for input. Knn means google review buay zhun one. Can only take for reference.

Yalar listed RRP price is best price for the shop, not for us mah. But if they deliver good service and products then OK lar... but now covid biz also bad i dont blame shops la. Ofcos can earn more they wanna earn la. Maybe the second guy recognised u from your first trip liao. See u return ish thought confirm u wanna order from them. If i were u i will say "hey last time i came u all offeree me this x price leh". Sure lan lan they have to honour back that price else they know lose your biz liao.

Depend how badly u need them and how badly they need your biz la. Lol.

Seannie

No it’s only with an ipad

Ok thanks. I think this smartlife lens too exclusive liao. Must look for those big name shops. Guess i will just skip it liao. Only those big shops with deep pockets can afford buy those expensive precision equipments. And then these testing equipment just like our iphone samsung phones like that every few years must upgrade new machines to keep up with the lenses manufacturers are offering. Knn how many shop owners so deep pockets can keep upgrading their machines. Hard la.

Tolerate until eyes really cannot see near distance then i one time go for progressives. No need think so much and save $. Those digital/office/indoor/computer/anti fatigue/relaxer lens too many packaged until too confusing liao. Like warren buffet says if you dont understand the products, better dont invest in them.

GANGSTERKIA

Just to clarify some doubts, just because lenses are released later than other lenses, doesnt means its the best/exclusive.

Exclusives lenses are lenses that uses certain devices like essilor xclusive(visual office 2), Hoya mystyle V+ needs a personalised survey and measurements, Zeiss Iscription w/ Iprofiler.

But not all of us needs the best products in the market. Simple ones does the job too. Sometimes it's just placebo that if we get the best product, we get the best vision/clarity. Machines and all does help but it doesnt mean someone with machine can prescribe better lenses than shop that doesnt. It all comes with the experience of the practitioner.

If you cant swim, dont blame swimming trunks for being too big.

Please dont get influenced by words we see all around.

E.g. People get recommended to Jamco, First Contact lens etc etc, but do you much recommendation around to Capitol optics, Videre, Spec hut and such?

Small shops sometimes outperform big shops or big name shop.

Keep in mind that this is a forum so one user input doesnt reflect the whole market user inputs.

Cheers everyone!

GANGSTERKIA

Tampines.. Simei.. Pair Ris..

Else.. North-east.. like Punggol.. SK.

Thanks!

Sent from Apollo 13 using GAGT

I believe still towards katong, marine parade area is the better ones i know of.

Lensman@marine parade
Jamco@katong

Take note though, there might be other better optical shops in the market i do not know of, so i am just recommending the ones that i know of which i believe are proficient in their task.

Trans-Am

Does anyone know which shop got sell safety glasses?

Sent from A universe Where pink PWNED everything using GAGT

GANGSTERKIA

Does your computer give a list that states you need a safety glasses?
Also PDS glasses usually requires a letter then it can be made for you.

Does anyone know which shop got sell safety glasses?

Seannie

Just to clarify some doubts, just because lenses are released later than other lenses, doesnt means its the best/exclusive.

Exclusives lenses are lenses that uses certain devices like essilor xclusive(visual office 2), Hoya mystyle V+ needs a personalised survey and measurements, Zeiss Iscription w/ Iprofiler.

But not all of us needs the best products in the market. Simple ones does the job too. Sometimes it's just placebo that if we get the best product, we get the best vision/clarity. Machines and all does help but it doesnt mean someone with machine can prescribe better lenses than shop that doesnt. It all comes with the experience of the practitioner.

If you cant swim, dont blame swimming trunks for being too big.

Please dont get influenced by words we see all around.

E.g. People get recommended to Jamco, First Contact lens etc etc, but do you much recommendation around to Capitol optics, Videre, Spec hut and such?

Small shops sometimes outperform big shops or big name shop.

Keep in mind that this is a forum so one user input doesnt reflect the whole market user inputs.

Cheers everyone!

Thanks boss. Well noted. Boss, you have reinforced my thoughts that no need go for those latest/exclusive lenses liao. From today onwards, i will just go for the medium tier range. I think thats the best bet. Might be a marketing strategy by the lens manufacturer. Meaning they put out premium range at high cost, medium range and low range. They wont expect a lot people to get the premium (due to the high cost) and when consumers look at the 3 tiers, usually they will choose the medium tier which is what the marketing strategy wants to gravitate consumers toward.

Without your insights, i think im still blur and confused. Now my heart can see clearer liao. Can sleep better at night. Last few days very stressed because progressive lenses cost alot. Went to see their brochures. Zeiss individual 2 costs almost $2k+, even hoya mystyle also about that range.

GANGSTERKIA

The free upgrade to 1.74 lens in owndays is it can be self requested? My power is about 4.5 - 5.0 and was thinking if they will give me 1.74 index.. currently always doing 1.6 transition lens with owndays, but find it kind of heavy and thick as the frame in owndays are generally the bigger type.. so may want to give up transition and go for cheaper and lighter options.. any advice?

i guess since it's free you probably can try requesting. Though they mighttt just give you up to 1.67. I'm not too sure about the policy at OD side unfortunately.
If you want cheaper then yes, w/o transition would be for sure. Lighter... choose a smaller frame haha so that the lens wont be too big and thus heavy. Based on -4.50/-5.00 its pretty thick and so, it will be heavy

Trans-Am

Does your computer give a list that states you need a safety glasses?
Also PDS glasses usually requires a letter then it can be made for you.
Sorry, what do you mean?

Safety glasses without degree cannot just buy like that?

GANGSTERKIA

Sorry, what do you mean?

Safety glasses without degree cannot just buy like that?

Oh because i believe certain model of safety glasses can only be prescribed if there is a letter from the company stating the use of it.

I will check back for you tomorrow when i'm back at work.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.