The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

Jenchoo

Hi, do kids power increase every year by about 100 degrees? I heard from a friend that there is such a thing called power control lense by Zeiss. Anyone has used this before can comment whether it is effective in controlling power increase? Thanks.

GANGSTERKIA

** period I seen -1.50-200 increase. Go google hoya DIMS. It’s the best in the market for myopia control.
Zeiss=myokids which is based on progressive lenses or myovision which is based on myopic defocus.
Essilor=myopilux based on progressives, myopilux max-bifocals with prism.

Hoya Dims-best myopic control lenses for now imho.

Or you can look towards the TOP option which is orthokeratology lenses/ortho k.

Hi, do kids power increase every year by about 100 degrees? I heard from a friend that there is such a thing called power control lense by Zeiss. Anyone has used this before can comment whether it is effective in controlling power increase? Thanks.

chongnt

Been using Zeiss Digital lens with +1.25 for few years. It is getting harder to focus on close object. I tried to move the spec further out almost to the end of my nose the view is much better. I plan to get my first progressive lens soon. With digital lens, I don't see blur corridor. Not sure how different is progressive lens though.
For starter with less +, I suppose the distortion in the lens will not be too bad? I am thinking to get entry or mid level progressive lens. Perhaps when the + gets worse, then I will go for higher end progressive lens. Is this the correct way? Any recommendation and what is the price range?

GANGSTERKIA

The signs are there, your laohua/presbyopia increased. +1.25 and for a few years, by pushing your frame further from your face, you are inducing more + power aka giving yourself abit more laohua power.

Progressive you will see more for sure. But that is only natural as your reading power increased will lead to more distortion, that’s why basic lenses sometimes doesn’t work well. Opt for better brand lenses for progressives.

I suggesting starting with precision plus Asiana for you rather than pure. Yes you are right, lower + means lesser distortion. Better lenses reduces distortion but cost more.

Been using Zeiss Digital lens with +1.25 for few years. It is getting harder to focus on close object. I tried to move the spec further out almost to the end of my nose the view is much better. I plan to get my first progressive lens soon. With digital lens, I don't see blur corridor. Not sure how different is progressive lens though.
For starter with less +, I suppose the distortion in the lens will not be too bad? I am thinking to get entry or mid level progressive lens. Perhaps when the + gets worse, then I will go for higher end progressive lens. Is this the correct way? Any recommendation and what is the price range?

chongnt

Wait, you mean the digital lens is causing your vision to deteriorate?

I mean to say my reading power has increased.

The signs are there, your laohua/presbyopia increased. +1.25 and for a few years, by pushing your frame further from your face, you are inducing more + power aka giving yourself abit more laohua power.

Progressive you will see more for sure. But that is only natural as your reading power increased will lead to more distortion, that’s why basic lenses sometimes doesn’t work well. Opt for better brand lenses for progressives.

I suggesting starting with precision plus Asiana for you rather than pure. Yes you are right, lower + means lesser distortion. Better lenses reduces distortion but cost more.

Thanks for your explanation. Is your suggestion Progressive Lens Precision Plus? Didn't see the word Asiana here.
https://www.zeiss.com.sg/vision-car...ucts/spectacle-lenses/progressive-lenses.html

Alibeckham

i guess since it's free you probably can try requesting. Though they mighttt just give you up to 1.67. I'm not too sure about the policy at OD side unfortunately.
If you want cheaper then yes, w/o transition would be for sure. Lighter... choose a smaller frame haha so that the lens wont be too big and thus heavy. Based on -4.50/-5.00 its pretty thick and so, it will be heavy

Did at ownday already. 1.67 is 400 above and 1.74 is 600 above.. did their so call pc420 lens which is supposedly lesser yellowish, but in the end like still can see the yellow hue 🤷.. and yes although 1.67, 500 degrees by the side is still quite thick even with 1.67.. well well.. $298 dollar, guess it economical..

thegardens3b

Did at ownday already. 1.67 is 400 above and 1.74 is 600 above.. did their so call pc420 lens which is supposedly lesser yellowish, but in the end like still can see the yellow hue 🤷.. and yes although 1.67, 500 degrees by the side is still quite thick even with 1.67.. well well.. $298 dollar, guess it economical..

Yup, normal to have the yellowish hue but i find owndays hue a little too obvious compared to other brands..
But you are right.. economical option cant be too particular :s13:

skull1977

Thanks for input. Knn means google review buay zhun one. Can only take for reference.
This is just my experience bro. I not saying the shop is not good. And for those google review, we have to decide to believe or not (same as when we go traveling and rely on certain website to see if certain eateries are good or not or recommended).

I went back to the shop cus it has more model of that particular brand of frames and I was asking on one model that I saw but didn't try previously. But perhaps you were right that the person may have recognised me (but I doubt it). I think that person that attended to me is just more junior and thus, maybe cannot offer more discount or not "familiar" with discounts. I didn't use/tell her "that time Mr. A offered me this discount and now you say no discount" . I just said thank you.

No harm to check it out. Negotiations can come later. We will also never know the services until we try it right? That shop has several branches from what I saw (yes, I also saw those Google reviews before I went back the second time). Sometimes its luck or being there at the right time or place. So don't write off that shop, especially if you are in that area. I found my lens and frames at a shop that i would not normally go in to ask, but since I was in that area, I made it my mission to try all optical shops in that area. Yes, when I was in toa payoh, i actually google'd "optical shops in toa payoh) and I went to ALL the shops there 😂

Ps. who knows..maybe ur better looking straight away offer you 40-50% discount 😁

Which brings me back to a question, when ppl ask for shops to recommend, are they really asking for which shop have best discounts or which shop gives best services. Some people just want best discounts (not so particular on services), and some wants best services (price is not an obstacle), while many probably is in between - good discounts (may not be the best) plus good services.

savior1

Anyone knows roughly how much is the Tokai 1.76 currently? Planning to get but want to check price first...

kachiko

Hi people, I think I'm starting to get presbyopia as I find that I can't focus on reading documents occasionally. I'm thinking of getting a mid-near progressive glasses (office type) and I'm not sure which brand/series is good nor where is a good place to go. I don't need the latest nor the greatest, and I was actually contemplating making it at Zoff since their progressive are at a $58 premium over regular lens, which I felt was fair.

As a soon to be first-timer, I'm concerned with the distortion of "house" brand lens and hence seeking advise here. I stay in Punggol and works near Alexander Hospital. Is there a brand with good performance to cost ratio that I should look for and is there a good optical shop nearby in which anyone can recommend.

I'm actually ok with going Katong to Jenco if there is no other store as legit and professional around my area. (yes, I read some of the posts here, but I'm not sure if they are above budget, which is under $500 with cheap frame)

Thank you in advanced for any advise, and thank you GANGSTERKIA for the contribution you have made so far in this thread.

camoguysg

Hi everyone has anyone made your specs with lenskart? Seems like they are expanding and offering good deals. Mind sharing your review and experience? Thanks.

GANGSTERKIA

Hey!
Do you have any idea on what your prescription is like? For distance. I will get back to you with a reply this evening when I am done with work.

Cheers!

Hi people, I think I'm starting to get presbyopia as I find that I can't focus on reading documents occasionally. I'm thinking of getting a mid-near progressive glasses (office type) and I'm not sure which brand/series is good nor where is a good place to go. I don't need the latest nor the greatest, and I was actually contemplating making it at Zoff since their progressive are at a $58 premium over regular lens, which I felt was fair.

As a soon to be first-timer, I'm concerned with the distortion of "house" brand lens and hence seeking advise here. I stay in Punggol and works near Alexander Hospital. Is there a brand with good performance to cost ratio that I should look for and is there a good optical shop nearby in which anyone can recommend.

I'm actually ok with going Katong to Jenco if there is no other store as legit and professional around my area. (yes, I read some of the posts here, but I'm not sure if they are above budget, which is under $500 with cheap frame)

Thank you in advanced for any advise, and thank you GANGSTERKIA for the contribution you have made so far in this thread.

GANGSTERKIA

Similar to Foptics/owndays/zoff/egg/mujosh.

Pretty cheap frames + lenses package.

Hi everyone has anyone made your specs with lenskart? Seems like they are expanding and offering good deals. Mind sharing your review and experience? Thanks.

kachiko

Hey!
Do you have any idea on what your prescription is like? For distance. I will get back to you with a reply this evening when I am done with work.

Cheers!

Degree wise about 350 (L) and 375 (R), astig should be less than 100 (same for both L and R).

Not looking to penny pinch, but rather looking for a recommendation so that the optician will not push a certain brand /type over what is best for the customer.

Actually I'm not even sure if its eye fatigue or lao hua... The near focus issues doesn't happen all the time. Usually late in the day after several hours working on the laptop. Yes i do take regular breaks, looking at far away buildings few km away for a while. Perhaps just digital/hd lens might even suffice.

Currently wearing zoff's spectacles with their regular house lens for the past 2 years. Lens still looks ok without visible scratches

GANGSTERKIA

May I ask how old are you right now?

Degree wise about 350 (L) and 375 (R), astig should be less than 100 (same for both L and R).

Not looking to penny pinch, but rather looking for a recommendation so that the optician will not push a certain brand /type over what is best for the customer.

Actually I'm not even sure if its eye fatigue or lao hua... The near focus issues doesn't happen all the time. Usually late in the day after several hours working on the laptop. Yes i do take regular breaks, looking at far away buildings few km away for a while. Perhaps just digital/hd lens might even suffice.

Currently wearing zoff's spectacles with their regular house lens for the past 2 years. Lens still looks ok without visible scratches

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.