The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

lowsesbbfa

Quite surprised that they don’t have it anymore.

Correct me if I am wrong, I don’t think their rimless glasses can be done if 30-45 mins yes? Defeats the purpose of the quick quick chop chop sales tactic.
As doing up a rimless glasses does take time and skill, something many new/young opticians/optometrist does not have unfortunately.
The old experience ones might been poached away from them thus over time they have to remove the buying option.

Rimless now not in fashion also mah. Big, Korean style spectacles got monopoly now. Basket.

Seannie

Can recommend me a brand which their spectacle frame is durable?

Durable is subjective. U mean durable from breakage or color fading or corrosion?

If handle with care, frames seldom break, think can last for decades even. If color fades still wearable. If colour fades and expose the steel inside and you afraid of corrosion just buy frames made of titanium only. If you are taking about workmanship then probably frames made in japan may have better quality and last longer before joint breakage appears. The weakest link usually comes from the welded joint parts.

So far i have heard of frames lasting more than 10years. Color do fade over time but still wearable as long its titanium material the metal dont corrode easily.

lowsesbbfa

For first time wearers of rimless specs, which ish better for durability, screw mount or washer mount?

GANGSTERKIA

Actually, there was never mold/algae in the first place.

It’s cause by metal oxidation by your screw. Depending on the material of your screw holding the nose pads, some will oxidise and some no. An example, my Lindberg of 4 years did not oxidise at all too.

Same analogy to the Statue of Liberty, it wasn’t green in the first place, but due to oxidation, it slowly turn greenish.

Zoff is good. The nose pad won’t grow mold

Seannie

For first time wearers of rimless specs, which ish better for durability, screw mount or washer mount?

Over time washer also can get loose and fall off. I ever lost my rimless washer, dropped off by itself. Only knew it when optician told me. From then on i never buy rimless frames anymore. I feel too fragile to hold my lens securely, esp my lens are not thin. U can only go rimless if your prescription is very low. Else please dont consider. Later kena heartbreak.

Seannie

Actually, there was never mold/algae in the first place.

It’s cause by metal oxidation by your screw. Depending on the material of your screw holding the nose pads, some will oxidise and some no. An example, my Lindberg of 4 years did not oxidise at all too.

Same analogy to the Statue of Liberty, it wasn’t green in the first place, but due to oxidation, it slowly turn greenish.

I thought screws can always change de mah. Oxidised liao just replace only lor. Optical shop should have spare parts for free replacement right?

lowsesbbfa

Over time washer also can get loose and fall off. I ever lost my rimless washer, dropped off by itself. Only knew it when optician told me. From then on i never buy rimless frames anymore. I feel too fragile to hold my lens securely, esp my lens are not thin. U can only go rimless if your prescription is very low. Else please dont consider. Later kena heartbreak.

My current specs:
R 250 -150 - 3
L 425 - 050 - 165

Not considered high or low right?

GANGSTERKIA

Ah, it never was a problem for changing at the optical shops. Just troublesome for consumer to drop by to change. Spare parts replacement got, but of course you go to your own optical shop to change if not others might charge you for the service.

I thought screws can always change de mah. Oxidised liao just replace only lor. Optical shop should have spare parts for free replacement right?

GANGSTERKIA

Screw mount also can get loose, and when you tighten it, might cause more stress on lenses and crack. Long term, washer is still the safer option. Washer on other hand, at the very most, the practitioner not experience enough, while swapping washer might scratch the area/mounting point of washer.

GANGSTERKIA

To add on, nowadays, those using the UV glue as a mounting point is much better imho. Lasts for years based on my cx feedback.

An example of such frame would be the Lindberg :D

Screw mount also can get loose, and when you tighten it, might cause more stress on lenses and crack. Long term, washer is still the safer option. Washer on other hand, at the very most, the practitioner not experience enough, while swapping washer might scratch the area/mounting point of washer.

Seannie

Means rimless are the most gaowei lor right? I think opticians also dont like doing rimless for customers tiobo? If get scratched or cracked, will shop compensate? Think its at customer own risks right?

I think rimlon or full-rimmed are still the safest and most conventional.

Seannie

Silhouette out of my budget, let alone lindberg :(

Aiya no free lunch de la. If you want durable and last longer, sure must pay more mah. If not you buy a cheap frame then have to keep replacing frame plus lenses after 2 years will incur you more costs over the longer term. But if you really no budget then bo bian lor. Just dont play with rimless. Alot other non-rimless frames. In fact rimless also not much you can find now.

GANGSTERKIA

The crack and scratch situation is very subjective, duration of wear, mechanism of injury/damage.
Case by case basis, we try our best to minimise customer paying for it.
But if it’s other customer from other shop comes with their own frame to change, that is their own risk. No matter, we again try to be professional and rectify it to the best we can.

Means rimless are the most gaowei lor right? I think opticians also dont like doing rimless for customers tiobo? If get scratched or cracked, will shop compensate? Think its at customer own risks right?

I think rimlon or full-rimmed are still the safest and most conventional.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.